We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Val d'Or Guest House
Ranked #17 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing views and service”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We spent two nights in this guest house on our trip through SA and it was amazing. All staff is really polite and are willing to walk the extra mile for you.
Breakfast was good with amazing views over the mountains and winelands.
Room was good and all well taken care of.

Swimming pool was really relaxing in a beautifull setting

I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    87
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
76
137
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invergordon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Having spent 4 wonderful nights in one of the "Barn" rooms, can only recommend the Staff for being very friendly, helpful, and cheerful. We had been put into the Barn room as their was a conference going on which took our ordered room in the Manor House, and indeed the Barn room was spacious, well found etc in the bedroom, but the Bathroom was less that wonderful. The sink had a tap which was too small for the sink hole, it was not fastened in, so the tap revolved all over the place when you used it. We got semi warm water the first day of our arrival, but never above blood heat thereafter, despite mentioning that we had no hot water at Reception. Lovely setyting, lovely staff, but Bathroom and hot water in need of a little tender loving care.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbloodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Located in a beautiful setting just a short drive from Franschoek town , we were to arrive very tired and stressed from a totally unsuited hotel located in Franschoek. We met and greeted by the most amazing staff who were amongst the most welcoming and friendly we were to meet during our trip in South Africa. Our room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully firnished with a spacious adjacent lounge and a private patio off our room. The breakfasts were sumptious with a wide choice we enjoyed the freshly baked croissants and pastries. Suzette and her staff were so very helpful making sure that my husbands wheelchair was available for him on arrival to the airport.They were also recoomended a great Italian restraunt which picked us up and droped us back as a courtesy. All in all a great stay would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I can highly recommend Val d'Or after my Wedding there in October. It is a stunning venue with spectacular views and a staff that are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. Val d'Or offers outstanding value for money and I am anxiously anticipating my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTurks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We arrived at Val d'Or off an overnight flight from snowy London already pleasantly surprised by the excellent directions and the proximity of Franschhoek to Cape Town airport. We were quite early but this was no problem and we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. The room was spacious and very clean with doors opening to a balcony on each side. Being in the Manor House we also had access to a shared kitchen including an honesty fridge well stocked with drinks. The grounds and teh setting are amazing and obviously very well cared for. After a lounge by the pool we enjoyed lunch and wine tasting down the road at Rickety Bridge which is also highly recommended for a meal amoungst the vines. The staff were great throughout the stay from arranging a taxi into town for dinner (and back) to cooking hat breakfast to order in the morning. A highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Val d'or estate is a stunning guesthouse - our room was beautiful, breakfast is very good. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, organising our dinner reservations, taxis and wine tasting. It is about 5K from the centre though so you must have a car. highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltzManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset west
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We won a two day stay at Val d Or after entering into a competition at a bridal expo. We decided to use these two days as part of our honeymoon, and it didn't disappoint! It is a lovely guest house set in a beautiful location. It is nice and quiet and definitely would have been better to have stayed a few more days than the two days we had stayed. A great place for anyone thinking of visiting Franschhoek. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyedocSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
5.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.5 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
4.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
7.5 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val d'Or Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val d'Or Guest House

Property: Val d'Or Guest House
Address: R45 | next to La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Val d'Or Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Western Cape's magnificent Franschhoek mountains, is a boutique Guest House, Val d'Or Estate. Minutes from the centre of the Cape's culinary capital, lies Val d'Or where the welcome is warm, the tranquility tangible and the ambiance geared to your comfort. Val d'Or Guest House is one of Franschhoek's most luxurious places to stay, offering easy access to all the Winelands' many attractions and an idyllic country setting to shed city stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Val d'Or Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val d`Or Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing