We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Val d'Or Guest House
Ranked #18 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have stayed two days at Val d'or and was very pleased from the service and spacious place available for our family for living, playing and enjoying beautiful gardens, swimming pool and scenery around,

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thahne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

We decided to spend two nights at Val d'Or simply by finding in here on TripAdvisor and reading the reviews. What a find!! The good reviews could not have been more accurate--Val d'Or is incredible. STUNNINGLY beautiful--as in "stop-in-your-tracks-to-gasp-and-stare-in-stunned-silence" beautiful. Located in a valley surrounded by mountains and right on the main 'drag' through Franschhoek, you can literally walk to half a dozen wineries, and drive only minutes to dozens more. Also you're only a 5-minute drive from downtown Franschhoek, which is a charming little oasis among the fields and mountains with loads of mostly higher-end window shopping (for us mortals, anyway, who weren't there to buy any art or antiques) and restaurants to tempt any palate or wallet. (We ate in and strongly recommend the Common Room, whose menu of 'little plates' is designed by a Michelin star-winning chef, but whose prices are very common-people friendly. A decadent dinner for three with dessert (though admittedly only one glass of wine each) was less than $75.)

We splurged a bit to rent one of Val d'Or's 2-bed/2-bath self-catering suites and it was more than enough. We were three but the place could easily sleep five (two couples plus someone on the couch). Each room was wonderful with king beds, ample closets, and A/C (much needed as it hit mid-40s Celcius while we were there) and the whole suite was enormous. We further splurged on breakfasts in the dining room, rather than to self-cater, and they were light and delicious. (I live in South Africa and have not had better baked goods anywhere in the country, in three years' time.) The room had a few very tiny 'dings' like some hard-water stains in the (huge!) bathrooms but we couldn't withhold even half a star in the rating for these, as everything else was so amazingly lovely.

Clearly, I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, just as I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lak157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We were part of a family wedding held in the area and our accommodation was booked at Val d'Or for a period of 4 nights. Our party consisted of a number of children and babies as well as adults, young and old, all of whom had travelled from far flung places in the world. This could not have been a better venue for us and the staff went out of their way to make sure our every need was catered for.
Val d'Or is tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable, in a beautiful setting, has wonderful facilities and the service is outstanding. I consider Franschoek very lucky to have to have this establishment in the area. A great thank you to all the management and staff of Val d'Or for making our stay much better than we had hoped

Room Tip: If you are a family with children the Manor House is a house with 4 large en-suite bedrooms, loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We ended our South African holiday with an overnight stop at Val d,Or which we had booked through the internet. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to enjoy beautiful scenery , great facilities and top class service. We stayed in a "Barn Room" which was modern, spacious and very comfortable.
Bob C Stirling

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at Val d'Or as part of a longer trip through the Cape, using a Groupon voucher. It must be said this really is a fantastic place. The setting was beautiful, the facilities outstanding and the service brilliant.

I can happily recommend it to anybody wanting a comfortable, smart and slick place to stay...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We found val d'or on the internet and decided to stay there for a night on our honeymoon.

It looked very nice on the pictures, but having worked in the hotel industry, I know how much those get jazzed up. This place did NOT dissapoint though! We were a little early for check-in times but when we walked in we were greeted friendly and BY NAME! The room was AMAZING! The biggest bed that I have every seen! A plasma big screen TV, my husband nearly wept when he saw it. A bar fridge, balcony and nice lounge outside with a selection of easy reading holiday books. The bathroom is huge and had a nice big bath that completely suited the romantic mood of a honeymoon! The breakfast was great. Everything about the place was amazing, and the sad part is that we only really got to appeiciate it when we checked into our next place the following night. R300 more expensive than val d'or and it had NOthing that we experienced the previous day. Wish we stayed on there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelsbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We spent two nights in this guest house on our trip through SA and it was amazing. All staff is really polite and are willing to walk the extra mile for you.
Breakfast was good with amazing views over the mountains and winelands.
Room was good and all well taken care of.

Swimming pool was really relaxing in a beautifull setting

I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
4.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
734 reviews
2.5 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 65 in Franschhoek
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
4.8 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#11 of 65 in Franschhoek
456 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val d'Or Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val d'Or Guest House

Address: R45 | next to La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £124 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Val d'Or Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Western Cape's magnificent Franschhoek mountains, is a boutique Guest House, Val d'Or Estate. Minutes from the centre of the Cape's culinary capital, lies Val d'Or where the welcome is warm, the tranquility tangible and the ambiance geared to your comfort. Val d'Or Guest House is one of Franschhoek's most luxurious places to stay, offering easy access to all the Winelands' many attractions and an idyllic country setting to shed city stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Val d'Or Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val d`Or Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing