We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Val d'Or Guest House
Ranked #19 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed here for a few days in January, in the self catering rooms and we were happy here. The rooms were adequate and functional and served it's purpose. I wasn't completely blown away but I still enjoyed my stay :-)
Actually, not a complaint, but more a suggestion: A small microwave in the room would have been nice and would have saved us time. It was a bit cumbersome using the stove the whole time.

Room Tip: If booking into the self catering rooms, there is one that adjoined to a conference room type area t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Val D’or Estates is a well manicured tasteful estate that has an excellent location nestled amongst rows of ripening grapes bound for the nearby wineries. Our reception was warm and cordial, and our room was thoughtfully appointed. The grounds are extremely beautiful with warm vibrant flowers in the foreground that create a perfect contrast to the golden sun setting over the purple hued mountains in the distance. Val D’Ors proximity to nearby Franschhoek makes it an ideal pairing for both food and wine connoisseurs. This was our first time to South Africa and I would unequivocally say we made a perfect choice in lodging.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a nice little guesthouse just before Franschhoek. It has lovely view of the mountains, a stunning, spaceous bathroom and great swimming pool and recreational area. This is great for a quick getaway escaping busy city life and is close to all Franschhoek points of interest. We were served with a nice breakfast selection the next morning. Would recommend for couples or families looking for a break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise_Adendorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

great location in wonderful gardens ... breakfast in comparison to other guesthouses a biot spartan though! Room was a 2 bedroom appartment was clean and well appointed but seemed a bit "'tired '' could have a spruce up ..........beds and lines great !

Room Tip: great idea if you travekl with 2 couples ...nice appartment rooms with lounge and kitchen facility .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The guest house is near to downtown, actually in the same road, and it's a lovely place to spend some days in a couple or with the family.
The rooms are very spacious. There is a big garden and a swimming pool in front of the rooms with a beautiful view. There is a playground for the kids too.
The breakfast is good, just a bit slow. The staff is attencious and frendly. Hospitalitty is good.
There are some wineries near to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Val d'Or in the middle of South African winter - cold enough to see our breath and have the car frosted in the morning. We enjoyed ourselves totally in a very comfortable and relaxing set up. Underfloor heating was extremely welcome. While we braaied on the first evening, it was definitely too cold to repeat it the second night, but the little kitchen is perfectly equipped to cook a feast.
Staff is friendly and welcoming.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesslyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We went to this B&B end December 2011. I know it's already some months ago, but still... every objective review is a good one.

Environment:
------------------
The environment, sights, garden... are beautiful. The establishment is also not directly located at the main road, so it's so peacefull. Sights are overwhelming, but let's be honest... whereever you stay in Franschhoek, sights are probably always top!

Rooms:
-----------
Our room was spacious. Bed was good. Usefull appliances as a dryer, water boiler were present. Also a safe was available (with key, not electronic). The bathroom was again spacious, even very spacious. It was clean, but i advise the owners to invest in the next years as they start to become 'old'. Some cracks, color differences... you can imagine what i mean. Nevertheless no real complaints. If we have to complain about something, then it is the fact that we couldn't find any dustbin in the room to throw papers etc. Maybe we overlooked or it dissappeared for some reason.

Staff:
--------
Friendly staff. If you ask for help, they try to help you. I can't say the staff is one that is 'jumping' for you. On the other hand, they do their best and what can you wish more. The owner seemed to us quite stressed and exactly that is what a guest doesn't want to see (even if she is stressed).

Breakfast:
---------------
To be blunt, this was mediocre. From the 7 establishments we visited during our trip, this one was rated by us in the bottom zone. Service was quite slow, portions were medium, quality of food was not worth the price. We did miss a good cook. Also the choice was limited.

General:
-------------
I find the establishment overrated when comparing it to others in the neighbourhood. Nevertheless it's a nice place. Would i go back? No... we are leaving in a couple months again to South Africa and will not visit Val d'Or. Better is available at the moment in hour opinion.

I hope they take decisions and pull the level back up a bit to be worth a 4 star accomodation. Currently 3 star for us

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdOr_Estate, Owner at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Freshke

Thank you for your review.

To address your comments you had in December 2011;

1.Val d’Or Estate has a new manager, and hopefully she will not be visibly stressed in trying to offer the best experience, in the future.
2.Our breakfasts are value added, as we are a guest house, and not a restaurant. Our Full English Breakfasts are a convenience offered – but we find guests generally prefer to eat in Franschhoek town, since they are in the cuisine capital of South Africa.
3.Our guests are always welcome to make us aware of any complaints, so that we can and will rectify them.

Regards
Archie de Jongh
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
5.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
4.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
3.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
58 reviews
7.5 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val d'Or Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val d'Or Guest House

Address: R45 | next to La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £122 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Val d'Or Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Western Cape's magnificent Franschhoek mountains, is a boutique Guest House, Val d'Or Estate. Minutes from the centre of the Cape's culinary capital, lies Val d'Or where the welcome is warm, the tranquility tangible and the ambiance geared to your comfort. Val d'Or Guest House is one of Franschhoek's most luxurious places to stay, offering easy access to all the Winelands' many attractions and an idyllic country setting to shed city stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Val d'Or Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val d`Or Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing