We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the lady smiles... she does not mean it.”
Review of Dreamhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreamhouse
Ranked #4 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
304 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“When the lady smiles... she does not mean it.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We were 8 friends ( age 39 - 65 ), staying for 3nights.
When arriving, the gate was open because of workers on the premises. We asked the workers where the entrance to the house was and they directed us to it. When entering the house the lady of the house was coming down the stairs and asked us in military style how we got in. The expression on her face showed us that my explanation did not please her.
We were shown the way to the house next to the dream house were we would be staying. In 5 minutes ( maximum ), we were shown the rooms and how to work the alarm system. In the house we were staying it was fairly clean and we had a great view. But that does not make up for the rest.
Among 8 friends there was only 1 couple, in the house there was only one room with a bathroom separate from the bedroom. Not everyone likes the tub in their bedroom...
Their was a kitchen in the house, on the refrigerator a note stated that the kitchen was not to be used by the guests! You feel welcome immediately.
It has to be said that the lady of the house gave us some restaurants in Hout bay and called to see if we could see whales in the area ( how come you don't know if you live there ? ), but it felt like something was bothering her. Was our group too big, too noisy, not submissively enough, ...
The first evening we got back around 11 pm and the automatic gate to the house did not close as it should. We sent an text message to the lady of the house to inform her about this. After a few minutes the gate closed and the problem was solved. In the morning though, the lady of the house did not mention ( and surely not thank us ) our vigilance the night before. We barely got a good morning.
By the time we got back the second evening,there was a typed note on the kitchen table ( that we could not use ;-) which stated that all doors should be locked at night and the alarm activated. We were touched by the personal approach of the "dream" house.
The breakfast was abundant and the service by Anna was impeccable. The lady of the house stayed away from our table as much as possible, we can only guess the reason why.
Location: nice view on the bay and Table Mountain, but remember that you are 30 minutes away from the city centre. Try to avoid rush hour or it will take you more.
The morning we left the house, the lady of the house did not even bother to come out of her dream house to say goodbye, thank us or wish us a safe journey.
This is a not a guest's dream house, this is Ivanka's dream house. This is not a guest house, this is a B&B where we were treated like numbers by an arrogant lady of the house. We stayed at 10 guesthouses during our road trip in SA, this was the worst in hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattenpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your very detailed report of the Dreamhouse and it give us a feeling that you had some very big personal issues about your stay with us.
We where missing the fact that on your arrival the Lady of the house and our staff invited you to the main lounge where we showed you around and offered you welcome drinks from Gin Tonic ,Champagne, Wine,Coffee and Beers and provided you with all information about Wi-Fi, Maps, Restaurants etc . Whatever you requested we did not hesitate to do all phone calls and gather information you needed like White Shark diving, Tabel Mountain info, Robben Island tour schedules, Wheather reports and some Whale watching in Hermanus. The Dreamhouse is situated on top of the Mountain and has great views over the sea but Hermanus is 120 km away from us and we are definitely not high enough to see if the Whales are in the Bay of Hermanus and therefore we also did not mind to phone immediately other colleagues in Hermanus to find out if the Whales have been seen to avoid you a long drive for nothing.
The Guesthouse has all it’s 12 rooms on our Website and they can be checked via Visualtours and are very clearly described to avoid any disappointment Since you or your agent chose the more modern rooms with open bathrooms than there is nothing we could have done unless you would let us known at the time that we would if possible depending on availability shown you other rooms that might have been more suitable.
Professionalism, Service, Cleanliness and attention to details are of utmost importance to us and if we missed this standard with you as our guest then we are very sorry for that and will try to improve on our standard.
One thing we must mention that we and specially the Lady of the house is not very amused if an Adult Male Guest is making jokes about a Young Female Staff member in a sexual direction.
Since friendliness is not one of our biggest complaints we are not taking your comment personally and when reading some of your other reports of your trip we wonder if this way of traveling is the right way for you to enjoy and explore South Africa’
We wish you all the best and best regards from Hout Bay
The Dreamhouse Team
Rattenpakker – the name says it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    36
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
175
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at the Dreamhouse at the beginning of October and I can honestly say it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. It is made up of various houses which are surrounded by beautiful gardens, ponds, pools and a view to die for. Every morning I would get up early and stand outside my room and look down the valley towards the sea and to the other side I could see the sun coming up from the mountains… it was 10 minutes of pure bliss.

The rooms are beautiful and have everything you could need including electric blankets and the usuals. Rooms were always cleaned and the turn down service at night was a lovely touch…especially the little chocolates left on the pillow!

There was a main lounge which we were free to use during our stay so we did a few times in the evening and it was lovely. Here we were able to light the wood fire, put on some music and relax looking at the beautiful view of the mountains. The Dreamhouse really is an excellent base to explore Cape Town from as well as other parts of the Western Cape. The drive down to Hout bay is approx. 5 minutes and the drive to the V&A Waterfront is approx. 20 minutes.

What made the Dreamhouse such an amazing place is the people. The owners Ivanka and Louis are so lovely and accommodating. Nothing was ever any trouble for them from providing lifts to the local market, allowing me to use the phone to call home and providing daily weather updates. They always had a smile on their face and work so hard to make the Dreamhouse such a incredible place. The staff are also lovely and very helpful and one night when it was a bit cold, Precious put extra duvets on our bed….its touches like this that make the Dreamhouse stand out.

I would give the Dreamhouse 10 stars on trip advisor as it was truly such an amazing place and I don’t think I would be able to stay in a hotel again. If you are looking for somewhere with outstanding beauty, a warm homely feel, owners and staff who go out of their way to accommodate you and amazing memories then you should defiantly pick the Dreamhouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Kiran L,

Thank you very much for your input. It was so nice to have you here and we are glad that you had such an enjoying, amazing and outstanding stay with us. We always do our best to make the stay in the Dreamhouse as unforgettable as possible.
We do have 12 rooms and most of them have the indescribable view overlooking the Bay, Mountains and the valley of Hout Bay. Every single room is painted in a different color and furnished with love to detail.
We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Warm wishes from Hout Bay,

Ivanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

we chose the Dreamhouse to be the hotel for our wedding ceremony in South Africa and we were overwhelmed by the beauty of that place and especially the warm and very friendly owner Ivanka and Louis!

The guest house is beautifully located on a hillside so one can enjoy the great views of Hout Bay and the surrounding (Table) mountains! Every room is different and has its own charm. We enjoyed the Red Suite very much (best view) and also the cozy and elegant White Suite (direct by the pool and a bath tub with bay view).
On the guest house ground there are a lot of different places and terraces for relaxation and to enjoy the great scenery!

The breakfast is also definitely a highlight! I never had a better breakfast anywhere before!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williwieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear williwieberg,

Thank you so much for the very good review here on tripadvisor.com. It is important for us to get feedback of our guests. It is so nice to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your wedding here in South Africa. The Red Suite is a wonderful room which is located up in the main house where you have the entire view and it consists – like the majority of the guest rooms – of a terrace where you can have a seat and watch the sun rise or sun set. The White Suite is just right next to one of our two salt water pools and close to our Pool Lounge.
We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Ivanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Thank you for a fantastic Cape Town experience......the house is amazing, great views, and the special ingredient that makes this stay special, the people, so welcoming and always there to help.....we loved the this place as it was so personal,they sorted out taxis for us, arranged gluten free food for my wife, even gave us a daily weather report!! Ivanka is a great host, and the staff are amazing, we are already planning a return trip, sooner than later...........

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apate34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Apate34,

We would like to thank you for your very good rated review. It is a great compliment that your stay with us was “Perfect…”. We always go the extra mile for all of our guests and we try to make their stays memorable.
The Dreamhouse is a very good place to enjoy, feel comfortable and have a great time in South Africa. You need 5 minutes by car to get to the centre of Hout Bay and approximately 20 minutes to go to Cape Town. Hout Bay offers a huge variety of very nice restaurants, bars and other places to go and we are always trying to give our guests the best advices possible.
It was great to have you here and we would be glad to welcoming you again “sooner than later”.

Best regards from South Africa,

Ivanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The view is amazing, I wanna go back just to see that view again! The breakfast was nice and the room was big and quiet.
Just don't drive your car down, it's a nightmare to drive your car out of the B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Marjananas,

thank you for your comment here on tripadvisor.com.
Our guesthouse is located almost on the top of a mountain, so there was no chance for us to build a smoother gateway. We offer all of our guests to drive their cars down for them or they can leave them on the main road.
All of our 12 rooms are comfortable and situated in a quite and idyllic surroundings.
We are really hoping to see you again and we will drive the car for you down the gateway next time.

All the best for you and sunny regards from Cape Town,

Ivanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Thank you fot the warm welcome! The view was indeed magnificent ! The best view we had during our 3-week stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Sabien S,

we are so glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you were amazed at the view. “Magnificent” is the right word to describe it.
Most of our guests come to South Africa to go on a round trip. The Western Cape with Hout Bay is an area where you can explore and experience a lot. Hout Bay is near Cape Town, Stellenbosch and the Cape of Good Hope. You can watch penguins in Simon’s Town, do whale- watching in Hermanus or go for a ride on one of the most beautiful coastal highways of the world: The Chapman’s Peak Drive starts in Hout Bay.
We hope you had a great 3- weeks- journey in South Africa and we would love to welcome you back at the Dreamhouse, maybe again as a step on your next tour.

Regards from Hout Bay,

Ivanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at Dreamhouse, Hout Bay this past Saturday night. The view is spectacular and the breakfast is second to none that I have experienced so far. I would highly recommend it as a great place to stay when in Cape Town and particularly if you want to stay in the gorgeous suburb of Hout Bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanka F, Owner at Dreamhouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear MartineCapeTown,

thank you that you had time to write down your impressions of the Dreamhouse and that you praise our breakfast that much.
Every morning we serve our breakfast in the main house and you can enjoy fresh baked rolls, different types of breads, muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold cuts, cheese, jam, cereals, fresh squeezed orange juice and eggs however you like them. The high quality of the food and the individual service are most important for us.
There are also lunch and dinner available on request. Mostly we serve 3 or 4 courses for dinner and a light lunch.
We hope that you will come back to enjoy the spectacular view and breakfast again.

Sunny greetings,

Ivanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.9 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
443 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
5.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamhouse

Property: Dreamhouse
Address: 53 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreamhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamhouse is positioned high above on the hill in Hout Bay with full view to the bay and surroundings mountains. We provide a relaxed atmosphere with many corners in the garden which are secluded and facilitate for further enjoyment. Start your day with a bountifull breakfast and be ready to go and enjoy what the Cape region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dreamhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamhouse Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing