We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the outskirts of Cape Town”
Review of Dreamhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreamhouse
Ranked #4 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place on the outskirts of Cape Town”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First timers to South Africa and the standard of accommodation always amazed us once we got used to seeing Armed response Security, electric fences and infra red beams! The Dreamhouse was above what we had been expecting having come from the Waterfront in Cape Town which we also enjoyed.. We were upgraded on arrival to a room with a view of the Mountains and Houts Bay as well as being welcomed by a young lady by the name of Anna if I remember. Breakfast was outstanding and although we only stayed one night we would certainly return again. Friendly, welcoming and a good standard of accommodation; good value.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a view of Bay and Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1988Graendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    36
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
175
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have got to give them praise for their amazing spread they provided at breakfast - was that much and more! Loved it.

The staff were really welcoming and friendly.

The pool area was lovely to relax around.

BUT

We had a room sort of at the back of the house (not sure of the name of the room) but it was small, over crowded with furniture. The TV was ridiculously small, no lights in the shower. The floor was pretty dirty and even my husband commented on how dirty it felt.

I was only provided with wifi once i asked the staff member for the code but this was completely useless as it only worked once you were in the main house. No wifi in the room, at the pool, etc.

We were not provided any info on the massage's that they provide on site.

The driveway was a nightmare to get in and out of - but I think we were the lucky ones as the rest of the guests had to park on the road. You absolutely have to have a hire car for this location.

We had moved from the holiday in in central cape town to this location and in all honesty - if i had an option to cancel this and move back to the holiday inn - I would have.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

8 days at the dreamhouse. We enjoyed the great view, the excellent breakfast and the warm hospitality from the staff.
The first days we stayed in the serenityroom, and at our arrival it was a bit disappointing: not comform the foto on the website: smaller by placing a sofa instead of the chairs, a strange smell from the bathroom and this room is connected to the lounge, so it can be (in the evening) cause some noise.
The last days we stayed in the red room: much better, although the Wifi didn't work there most of the times.
But the atmosphere was very good, so in general. we did have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

First class greeting, arranged airport transfers, called taxis when we needed, printed off our robben island tickets, excellent breakfast with views. We had 3 nights here in December 2013. No shops within walking distance so had one day exploring cape town/hout bay & one day at the guesthouse as a relaxing break before Xmas. Would pay to bring some snacks/pre made sandwiches if just wanting to spend time here relaxing. Mini bar drinks & snacks well priced. Nice pools & many day beds to relax on around the beautiful gardens. A car would have made our stay easier but that's our problem! We had serenity suite in house number 2 which was great. Smallish TV but nice bed & room to hang/store clothes. Wifi worked excellent including outside on deck/around pool. Daily weather updates with chocolates & drink each night before departure. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Serenity suite great & not as pricey as red room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Dreamhouse has an indisputable great view of the city. The sparkling pool was irresistible. We found the backyard garden to be so peaceful and relaxing. We particularly liked the meticulous service and presentation provided at breakfast by the staff. We found the daily evening weather forecast and chocolate candies to be a sweet touch. However, we were disappointed about the room space, which was too small and did not feel at all private as the room glass door entrance was too close to the pool area. The outdoor corridors and stairs not well lit in the evening - you could easily miss a step and twist your ankle. If not for these aforementioned concerns, this guesthouse would have been our number one choice.

Room Tip: Better to go with a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Superb quiet location just 20 minutes from Cape Town. Our accommodation was very comfortable with great views of Hout Bay and beyond. The breakfast was excellent and well presented in a comfortable dining space either on the patio or inside both with lovely views of the surrounding countryside.
Anne and the Dreamhouse team made our stay quite special. They were very attentive and helpful, including advice and ideas on how to maximise our stay.
I would have no hesitation recommending the Dreamhouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Overpriced. The most expensive stay during our 3 weeks trip in SA and not the best at all. Far from CT and Hout Bay. Had to park in the street. Got a so-called "secluded herb garden" but was asked to let the light at night for other customers... The room was tiny and dark. Kingbed consist in 2 single bed jointed by a sheet. No light in the shower. No ocean view. Asked for a better room : extra charge 400 R/pn. Too expensive. Very disapointing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfo_lax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.9 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
5.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamhouse

Property: Dreamhouse
Address: 53 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreamhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamhouse is positioned high above on the hill in Hout Bay with full view to the bay and surroundings mountains. We provide a relaxed atmosphere with many corners in the garden which are secluded and facilitate for further enjoyment. Start your day with a bountifull breakfast and be ready to go and enjoy what the Cape region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreamhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamhouse Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing