We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Oasis”
Review of Dreamhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreamhouse
Ranked #4 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stalybridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little Oasis”
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed in the Garden Room which is one of the original rooms. It's not modern or contemporary like the other rooms but nevertheless it's a very pretty room with a small lounge and en suite bathroom. It's at the back of the house and has a lovely view. Ivanka owns the property and is a very good host and Helen and her staff look after the guests very well. Breakfasts on the terrace are a highlight and the food and service is as good if not better than a top class hotel. After a busy day sight seeing The Dreamhouse is a great place to escape to - it really is an oasis. Hout Bay is a lot quieter than we expected but it's a good place to base youself if your touring the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StalybridgeJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    36
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
175
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay and great value for money. Ivanka really makes you feel at home and the breakfast was wonderful - the best eggs I have ever tasted!

The pool area is beautiful with an awesome view and honesty bar, which is a really nice touch. Hout bay was disappointing, but it is so close to Cape Town, Camps Bay and Cape Point (you will need a hire car). Great location for seeing the area - don't forget the penguins. Thinking about it, I wish I was back there again. Absolutely Fantastic!

  • Liked — Great view, great welcome, great food
  • Disliked — Steep steps would not be suitable if you have problems with mobility - call them and check!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deano86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Absolutely lovely guesthouse. The owner, Ivanka, made us very welcome and gave us a very personal service. Our rooms were perfect for our needs. We had adjoining rooms - one for our two kids aged 6 and 3, and one for us with a little kitchenette. We also had a little terrace which we used on a couple of evenings when we were too tired to eat out. Location was great for exploring - close to Chapman's Peak en route to Boulders Beach and Cape Point, but also only around 20 mins to Cape Town. Only small downside would be that the pool was very chilly.

  • Liked — Child-friendly, personal service, location, accommodation and great breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Cold pool.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Toelz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2008

We stayed in this guest houte located at the "Little Lions Hill" for 3 nights. The place consists of 2 houses, a just newly built one and an older one. In totla 11 rooms. We saw only the rooms in the new building, which are huge in terms of size with a king size bed, nice bathroom - partially integrated in the rooms and with a great view. Unfortunately the furnitures reminded us strongly to "IKEA" standard.

The breakfast was excellent and served on the terrasse, but unfortunately with almost no shade - which made us sweat even at 08.00 a.m.
The host Ivanka was very helpful and friendly. A wellcome with a bottle of Champagne and as well a nice fare well on the room when we returned was really nice.
In total I would say, a nice place with a friendly host, but the quite high price may be to high in relation to the offered standard of the room.

Sylvia and Udo
Munich

  • Liked — The view and the firendly host - good breakfast
  • Disliked — The almost black furnitures in low quality and breakfast without shade
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TaurusMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.9 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
5.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamhouse

Property: Dreamhouse
Address: 53 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreamhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamhouse is positioned high above on the hill in Hout Bay with full view to the bay and surroundings mountains. We provide a relaxed atmosphere with many corners in the garden which are secluded and facilitate for further enjoyment. Start your day with a bountifull breakfast and be ready to go and enjoy what the Cape region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreamhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamhouse Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing