We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thulani River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Beautiful lodge with a huge & georgous garden, view on the table mountain. Superb! When hanging out in the garden or in the living room we felt like in paradise. We stayed in the main building in a beautiful terasse room, great comfort and bath tub with view on the garden. Breakfast was absolutley fantastic! The German hosts create an extremely familiar atmosphere and provide great service. We spent our first days in ZA in Hout Bay, which is a good location to discover the Cape and relax at the beach. Moved then on to a hotel downtown in order to experience the feeling of Cape Town city.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kira_Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

At first I'd like to thank for the great hospilality of Claudia and Hartmut our hosts and the owners of Thulani River Lodge.
The houses are on one of the bestlocated properties in the Hout Bay area wit about 8000 square meters and a little river crossing. The view to the mountains surrounding is spectacular espetially at sundown. All the rooms are very special and individual eqipped and we felt absolutely well from the first second. The breakfast is really great and if you have the chance to take part at a dinner you will see and taste which perfect cook Claudia is.
The location is ideal for lot of tours to the Cape region

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite at Thulani Lodge in October 2011 and cannot recommend it enough. The grounds are lush and peaceful and the breakfasts were delicious.

We LOVED the bathroom of the Honeymoon Suite. Our favorite feature was the heated stone floor. The extra large tub is also nice.

The decor of the room is a traditional South African - thatched ceiling, ostrich eggs, colorful wall hangings - set the tone for our vacation.

Our host Hartmut was welcoming and very willing to make suggestions for restaurants, the best routes to travel, shopping, and tourist sites. We didn't see Claudia much but we certainly enjoyed her cooking!

The lodge is quite a drive from the Cape Town airport (~45 min - 1 hour) and can be intimidating if you are driving at night, after a long flight, on the opposite side of the road, on unfamiliar winding country roads (as we did) but luckily we had rented a car and were on a relaxing vacation, so it didn't matter. If you aren't on a tight schedule and are looking for a peaceful getaway, the Thulani Lodge is a great bet.

Room Tip: Choose the Honeymoon Suite if you're a couple. It's worth the extra cost and has a lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The Thulani is a guesthouse amidst a nice lanscaped garden with a small river running across it. While others have complimented the place, I would like to add a note here that the standard room (River Double) where we stayed in, is not that great. For the price that one pays, one should be able to get a much nicer room elsewhere in the area. The River Double rooms are found at the back of the property, with no windows except for the front sliding glass door. As the 2 units are linked together with a self-catering unit in the middle, one can'f really leave the glass door open when one is lying in the room, as you will not have the privacy, with the neighbours being so close to you. And if you have to keep the door closed and draw the drapes, you might find the room hot and stuffy on a warm summer day, as we did.

There is no mini bar nor coffee making facilities in the room. When questioned, the owners said that they provided a great coffee machine in the common sharing pantry area in the main house. However, one needs to consider that it is a long way to walk, from the main house to these standard rooms that are found further down the property. One has to cross over a timber bridge, and this may not be easy for the elderly in the nights.

As we had stayed in a vineyard before driving into Hout Bay, we had purchased some nice wines, so we were quite upset when there was no minibar in our room to chill the wines! After much negotiation, the owner, Helmut agreed to let us store one bottle a day in the common sharing fridge.

Breakfast we very great though. There was a nice variety of good stuff, unlike most B&B where they usually serve you the standard stuff. I would give the breakfast a 5-star rating!! Obviously, Claudia is a great chef, and the daily menu that was displayed indicated that one could dine very well indeed at the guesthouse if one wishes to.

The main house itself is lovely and cosy. At night, you could sit in the lounge area and listen to music from a good sound system. There is also wi-fi in the area. Or you could sit outside by the pool or in the garden. The rooms upstairs the main house should be better than the standard room where we stayed in. The swimming pool is pretty small although the garden would be a nice place to laze around and enjoy a book in the sun.

There were many German elderly guests around. They were a friendly group, so if one is travelling alone, this might be a nice place to have some company.

Location-wise, the guesthouse is situated in a quite remote area, so one should have a car at one's disposal if staying there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We got married at Thulani in October 2010 and it was great choice.

We planned out wedding from Germany, completely via the Internet.
After we had our first contact with Claudia from Thulani, we already had a good feeling.
Via email we explained what we were looking for and how we want our wedding day to be like. She made a first sugestion about the dinner, the ceremony, flowers etc. and there was actually almost nothing we wanted to change...it fitted just 100%.

Thulani was perfect because the have enough rooms (7) , a very big garden and great food.

The serve a 3 course menu every day, Claudia is the Chef and the food was great.
The wedding dinner was just perfect, every course was very good and all our guests liked it very much.

The breakfast is a buffet, a lot of fruits, great bread and rolls, jams, cold cuts, different cheeses and of course as always in South Africa...eggs.

The rooms are all very nice and big enough to have a great stay. The guesthouse and the rooms have very nice interior, a mix of European and African style.

There is a nice terrace where they serve breakfast and just close to the terrace is the pool and the big garden.

We will definately be back at Thulani, not only because it was our wedding place but also because Claudia & Hartmut are very nice hosts, you feel at home straight away.

Thulani is at Hout Bay, a bit outside from Cape Town, very close to Chapmans Peak Drive. Hout Bay is a nice little suburb with a few restaurants and a really nice market on sundays.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorstenEssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkie on Tour
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Difficult to put this into words - the most beautiful lodge in the most beautiful setting. Everything was right about Thulani - the setting, the rooms, great value for money, the food, the advice, and last but not least, the helpfulness of all members of the Thulani team but particularly Hartmut and Claudia who pointed us in the right direction when it came to restaurants, weather, places of interest and they also organised a township visit for us.
We have had some great holidays over the years - this ranks with the best and I will definitely be returning as will the rest of my family.
Thanks to all at Thulani

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaSmurf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We visited Thulani Guest House in Hout Bay for two weeks during the World Cup and we really could not have stayed anywhere better. The Guest House itself is absolutely beautiful and the room are very clean with amazing showers and extremely comfy beds. When we arrived we were greeted by the lovely hosts who run the guest house and showed to our rooms. We couldn't believe our eyes when we were shown where we were staying as it was absolutely perfect. Hartmut and Claudia were terrific hosts and were very helpful in showing us where to go and what to do. Breakfast and evening meals are excellent and they put a lot of effort in to make your stay as special as possible. I really am running out of superlatives to describe what a great place and amazing hosts they were that made our stay so special. We will definately be returning to South Africa in the near future and will not be looking any further then the Thulani Guest House when we do come back!!
Jonathan Maloney and Adele Jackson

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.9 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#7 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#15 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thulani River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thulani River Lodge

Property: Thulani River Lodge
Address: 14 Riverside Terrace | Hout Bay, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thulani River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thulani River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thulani River Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing