We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Malaika Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malaika Lodge
Ranked #41 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We had a perfect time at Malaika lodge. All the rooms were well equipped. Especially the bath room with whirl pool was excellent. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and we enjoyed the pool bar... :-) Both hosts were great and helped us in getting the most out of our visit to Cape town. The lodge is located only a short drive from Hout Bay itself and all the other sights in Cape town are well within reach. All in all a perfect stay.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank burck001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Malaika Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2009

The rooms at Malaika are just stunning. Every room has its own character and all have huge, luxury bathrooms which i really enjoyed.The lodge with garden and swimming pool are waiting for you and combined with the hospitality of the owners, a stay in Malaika is just a super relaxed experience in one of Africa´s most beautiful regions. Marc and Astrid (the owners) really make you feel welcome and quite often join the guest for a drink in the afternoon at the bar near the pool in their beautiful garden.
I travel a lot in the Southern region of Africa but when ever i am around the Cape region I go back to Malaika. Can really recommend it to everybody who wants to enjoy this region!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vroomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

After reading the two previous comments on tripadvisor, we took a chance with Malaika Lodge and booked to stay for 9 nights. We had paid 4 nights deposit before we arrived.

We did not have the best of starts, when we arrived at the dark accommodation (with no signs), on a windy evening we waited in a taxi for 20 minutes before, after ringing the owner on his mobile, he opened the gates and let us in. Marc stated that he was expecting us next month, he did not apologise for the confusion, despite me giving him his emailed confirmation of the dates with the sentence 'See you in October' at the bottom. He left us in the hallway to check his email, clearly not accepting that he had made an error. He did not apologise at any stage, merely saying 'there's always a first time a mistake is made'. He helped us to order a pizza as there are no places to eat nearby and asked how much we paid for a taxi to get from the airport, stating that he could have done it far cheaper, without a hint of irony (we would still have been waiting at the airport for him!).

We were then led to our 'suite', which was through a thin door off his kitchen (we heard every word of his conversation with a guest in the kitchen a midnight). The bed was comfy and the bathroom was nice, with a large tub - but no door or partition between it and the room. The room looked out on to a small yard, there was no view. The bedroom was not clean, Marc turned the empty fridge on when we entered the room, but the bed side lights were not plugged in and the room gave the impression of not being ready for occupancy, despite Marc's assertions to the contrary.

A viscous storm lashed Hout Bay on the first evening, the noise of the building creaking meant that we got no sleep and when we woke there was some damage to the accommodation. What is not obvious from the website is the distance the lodge is from Cape Town and even Hout Bay itself. Marc stated that there was no 'centre' to Hout Bay, but gave us a lift to the Tour bus stop (about 25 minutes walk away), which takes around 1.5 hours to get to Cape Town Centre. There are no restaurants or eateries within walking distance of the accommodation and a car is essential to get anywhere.

We saw other accommodation closer to Cape Town with better facilities and better prices. The whole of the area was affected by the storm, but at other places the owners had cleared up any mess and made efforts to make the places look better - but apparently not at Malaika Lodge. When we returned, the pool was dirty and the whole area looked in general disarray.

Considering the accommodation, the attitude of the owner and the location, we decided to stay elsewhere after the first night and rang Marc (who was not at the accommodation) to explain why. Rather than make suggestions to improve our stay, or to understand the situation, the owner asked for a further 4000 Rand, immediately. I attempted to discuss the issues with him (considering he was not expecting us); he was exceedingly rude and aggressive, making us feel extremely uncomfortable and we left immediately.

We received a further phone call from the owner (which we did not answer) and a text message, suggesting we should have hired a car - but this was too little, too late. I would not recommend staying at this guest house and agree with many of the points made in the other negative review.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easytraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcCapeTown, Owner at Malaika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2009

Unfortunately it is the second time that we had guests that failed to do their homework and failed to arrange their own transportation in Cape Town.

Cape Town is a very beautiful but vast city and not all hotspots are around the corner. It is therefore very advisable to arrange for a rental car in this amazing city or to be prepared to spend a lot of money on taxis and/or public transport. Regardless of where in Cape Town you are staying...
These guests could have known that if they had put a little effort in planning their own holiday.

Indeed, the guests concerned arrived late with bad weather. We tried to make them as comfortable as possible and see to all their needs. We pride ourselves on our high level of service, but unfortunately we cannot guarantee good weather. In this aspect they were unfortunate and together with their reluctance to arrange for a rental car (which we advised them to do), they did not have the best of starts to their holiday.
As a gesture, we offered them food and to drop them off at a hop-on/hop-off bus in the morning.

Already the next day after arrival, they called us advising us about their decision to move to accommodation more in the centre of Cape Town, which they already booked earlier that day. During the phone call, we overheard the taxi was waiting on them...
No suggestion was accepted (they obviously already made other reservations) and they demanded their full deposit back, which we, for obvious reasons, could not accept.
Ultimately, the guests left without paying for their booked accommodation and we decided to waive them the rest amount to prevent putting an extra strain on their holiday.
Despite the impolite way they treated us, we even tried to help them afterwards...

We find it a pity that some people lack the self-reflection to accept their own shortcomings (like failing to plan their holiday properly) and direct their frustration about their self-created situation to someone else in stead of themselves. Unfortunately, in these instances the accommodation will be the first to suffer from their creativeness in pointing fingers, mainly resulting in cunningly fabricated fibs...

We guess we have to live with the fact that some people are like that and hold on to the many, many great and warm reviews we receive from the rest of our guests in person and in our guest book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We enjoyed every moment during our stay at Malaika Lodge! The warm homy atmosphere left us feeling relaxed and welcomed. The hosts, Astrid and Marc, were wonderful in every way and I must say they really spoilt us. The staff of Malaika Lodge are very child friendly.

The lovely set up of the guesthouse between the trees, luscious garden and the beautiful big suites fulfilled our dream holiday.

The views from our suite were amazing. From the bed and even the enormous spa-bath we were able to enjoy the sun-rise over the mountains! The big and sparkling pool was a delight on our rest days with a cozy bar to leave us feeling pampered every time.

The personal service was perfect and the hosts helped us with planning all our needs and wishes.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We started with high expectations after all Cape Town has seen us often and we've stayed in many CT self caterering spots and always been happy. I have never written a negative review but the poor attitude of this owner led me to tell the truth about our experience there.
Whilst I have no objections to staying in a done-over maids room. I do expect little things like a mirror, proper cupboards in bedrooms or a chair to drape clothers on. The double bed was comfy and big but that was it. The second bedroom for the other couple was a passage off which led the only toilet shower room I hesitate to call it a bathroom. the old wood and removed cupboards stood outside their door the entire time. A broken TV was stood in a corner, we were told there was no TV. There was no DVD player or many of the things one expects..
I would propably not have complained if owner had simply listened to us when we told him in was pitch dark at night coming down two flights of stairs to get to our garden cottage with my son lighting a cig lighter for us to see. This went on for a week. How much effort does it take to put up a light bulb. Our own private gate did not work and so we had no secure parking, No apologies given. We had one key to get in for four people, and the four star lodge staff were absent often, as the other young couple with us rang the bell in vain to access the accomodation. Our guests were accosted everytime in the driveway, and asked if they had slept there. We were also told by the owner afterwards if we had our daughter join us at the pool we should ask permission first.
Astrid the other staff/owner was rude and uninterested and needs training. The bar at the pool area was dirty and unkept for our entire stay, with the same unemptied ashtrays.
This place may have had four stars once ( we did not see the rooms in the lodge) but it does not merit them now. I would rate it 2 star.
There was a reason no photos were shown of the garden cottage area. Don't be fooled by the site photos of pool, the rest is grubby and a let down.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank houtbayvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcCapeTown, Owner at Malaika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2009

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I have read your comments about our lodge on the trip advisor website and regret that you did not enjoy your stay at the lodge.

I remember meeting with yourself and your partner on arrival and recall that you had had issues with renting a car because you did not book one in advance in high season.
This clearly upset you and appeared to set the tone for your short stay with us, which is worthy of response from the lodge.

We acknowledged that you were not happy with your original choice of accommodation, which was indicated by you upon your arrival. In our view, this dissatisfaction was also provoked due to the fact that you arrived with 2 extra adults in stead of 2 extra children as was indicated by you in the booking process. We would have never made the cottage available to you if we would have known in advance your group consisted of 4 adults.
Your immediate suggestions for improvements were however mainly of a structural nature (like adding an extra bathroom…) which we obviously could not accommodate in such a short notice.

Your comment and interpretation that there is no outside lighting, no mirrors, no chairs and no secure parking available, is, with respect, out of context and misleading. For instance, there was plenty of secure parking available for you as a guest (even though you did not have a car…). Just not for the many guests you invited without prior notification to us. It should go without saying that the secure parking is meant for the guests of the lodge and not for the people you invite. Furthermore, it should also go without saying that we do need to know up front which people are on our property because of security reasons. And of course there are extra keys available upon request. The only thing you needed to do was ask.

We accepted that you were not happy with your accommodation but would have appreciated you to indicate your grieves during (!) your stay an not upon departure. This would have at least given us the chance to accommodate where possible. Complaining only at the end of your stay obviously left you feeling ‘bad’, while this could have easily been prevented should you have chosen the way of open communication during your stay.

I sincerely hope that the remainder of your stay in Cape Town was enjoyable and your journey home a pleasant one.

Yours truly,

Marc Roodenburg
Malaika Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: son cañas en el medio de la naturaleza
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piolin221044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
480 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#3 of 59 in Hout Bay
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaika Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaika Lodge

Address: 8 Karakal Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Malaika Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Malaika Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing