We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home in Cape Town...”
Review of Malaika Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malaika Lodge
Ranked #40 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed at the Malaika Lodge for the second time in two years last week.

I came back for the perect and personal service by owner Marc, elaborate breakfast, large and comfy beds and lovely modern bathroom, all set in a perfect outdoors location near quit beaches, table mountain, good bars and restaurants and lots of nature.

With less than 30min from the down town Cape Town, the Malaika Lodge truly feels at coming home after a hard day work. Oh, almost forgot, yes I did come here for business, but stayed just a bit longer to enjoy all !

A car is mandatory at this location to benefit from all to see and do in the neihborhood, but Marc arranged this for my business colleague and me. Driving from Houtbay via the trendy CampsBay, Clifton, Sea Point to arrive via Greenpoint in downtown Cape Town is a beautiful ride to enjoy every time though. Lots of restaurants, bars and beaches to enjoy along the way.

Marc, thanks for your hospitality, and see you next year same time, same place !

Regards, Paul

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188590Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

We had a very good time at Malaika Lodge and Mark and Adtrid where perfect hosts. The room was great (specially the bathroom) and our bed was super, it was big!!! Mark and Astrid gave us a welcome feeling and if we needed anything, they advised or helped us. The photo's we saw before we went didn't look so nice, but we where suprised to see the house and the garden. The pool and garden are very nice. We recommend this place and we will return here again when we go to Capetown!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this lodge. We had a fabulous time, we stayed in the Princess suite which has the most beautiful bathroom I have ever seen. Marc the host was very friendly and welcoming, he became my husbands beer buddy for the week. I have never stayed anywhere on holiday where we were made to feel so welcome and completely at home. The facilities are second to none and I have no hesitation in recommending this lodge if you are looking for a peaceful relaxing place to stay, where you will be made to feel right at home. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S.gourlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed with our grandma and two children (2years and 4 month old) in the king suite and the princess suite. The rooms are stunning, specially the bath rooms. The king suite is super spacious. Marc and Astrid are perfect hosts and made us feel at home. They were there when needed and disappeared like the staff in a 5 star restaurant. We enjoyed very much there company and had a lot of beers together.

The lodge has a big swimming pool, always clean and inviting for a swim to cool off. The wooden deck with hammock and couches is surrounded by beautiful plants.

We enjoyed the superb stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudeBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We had a very nice stay at Malaika Lodge,we rented the Cottage which is separate from the main house and has its own private parking space, it also has its own separate little garden which was wonderful for our two dogs who travelled with us. The bedroom is equipped with a wonderful big and comfortable bed, plenty enough clean towels in the bathroom at all times and the sheets always clean and spotless. Marc and Astrid were very willing to assist and answering questions . We could use the big swimming pool in the main garden if we wished. The region is worth exploring with the beautiful Chapmans Peak drive at your doorstep. We recommend to hire a car in South Africa.

 


  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xstitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We had a perfect time at Malaika lodge. All the rooms were well equipped. Especially the bath room with whirl pool was excellent. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and we enjoyed the pool bar... :-) Both hosts were great and helped us in getting the most out of our visit to Cape town. The lodge is located only a short drive from Hout Bay itself and all the other sights in Cape town are well within reach. All in all a perfect stay.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank burck001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The rooms at Malaika are just stunning. Every room has its own character and all have huge, luxury bathrooms which i really enjoyed.The lodge with garden and swimming pool are waiting for you and combined with the hospitality of the owners, a stay in Malaika is just a super relaxed experience in one of Africa´s most beautiful regions. Marc and Astrid (the owners) really make you feel welcome and quite often join the guest for a drink in the afternoon at the bar near the pool in their beautiful garden.
I travel a lot in the Southern region of Africa but when ever i am around the Cape region I go back to Malaika. Can really recommend it to everybody who wants to enjoy this region!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vroomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
529 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#24 of 59 in Hout Bay
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#26 of 59 in Hout Bay
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaika Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaika Lodge

Address: 8 Karakal Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Malaika Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Malaika Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing