We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Brightwater Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brightwater Lodge
Ranked #22 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Our stay was only for a few hours but the owners have been very nice and helpful and the house is very bright due to many windows and glas walls. We had a cosy, big room and enjoyed the freshly made breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
courtenay
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First visit to Africa and the few days at the beginning of our trip were spent in Hout Bay at Brightwater lodge. Could not have had a better introduction-- friendly , immaculately clean , and informative. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CourtenayBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommen The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Nice place to be. Very welcome. Room was excellent and room and balcony gave us much privacy. Owners did all they could to make us at home.
Breakfast was very good.
For our next stay in Houtbay we sure will take this place

Eise & Leony Smit The Netherlands


  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Very nice place to stay during our trip to Houtbay. The owners Erica and Gerard make you feel like you're staying in their private home, with a very cozy atmosphere and a very nice breakfast. The place is close to the harbour, only a few minutes walk.
If you need a dark room to sleep in, be sure they don't give you room no. 1, as it has a big window just beneath the ceiling without curtains! Everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our family booked 4 rooms at the lodge for a one night stay. The rooms were lovely and the reception was very friendly and warm. The owners were able to provide information about sightseeing in and around Hout Bay. We really enjoyed staying there and will do so again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The location, amenities and hospitality are outstanding!! We spent a memorable and most pleasant stay in the Self Catering Apartment. Everything was perfect. Gerard & Erika made us feel like V.I.P's!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Esme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for two nights at Brightwater. It's a great guesthouse - the owners are friendly and everso helpful, the rooms are clean, while the central location is perfect. There are obviously very picturesque alternatives in the Hout Bay area, but if you're looking for a cost effective option you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#26 of 59 in Hout Bay
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Afrique
Villa Afrique
#23 of 59 in Hout Bay
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#31 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightwater Lodge

Property: Brightwater Lodge
Address: 9 Brighton Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brightwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightwater Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing