We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to our South African holiday”
Review of Brightwater Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brightwater Lodge
Ranked #23 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful start to our South African holiday”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the first place we stayed in South Africa - and what a great start to our holiday ! We booked the Apartment, because we love to have a balcony, and wow what a view. Our hosts Gerard and Erica could not have been kinder - and Gerard's Gin and Tonics were fabulous. Brightwater Lodge is a few minutes walk from the beach, and there are good restaurants just around the corner in Hout Bay. We stayed for five nights and left relaxed and refreshed. Great place. Great hosts. Great value.

Room Tip: The Apartment has great views of the mountains and an extremely comfortable sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The location of Brightwater Lodge is perfect for accessing the beach without having to use a car. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and everything was just right. Good value for money in Hout Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank caracal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Centrally located within easy access to Cape Town, Table Mountain, Beaches, Airport, etc.
Stayed in self catering apartment that had all the necessary facilities.
Apartment was imaculately clean.
We were comfortable and had the added bonus of privacy, balcony with excellent views, a large lounge, glass panels in the roof that provided fantastic views of the night sky.
Hosts, Erika and Gerard were friendly and engaged in conversation. They were very knowledgable about Cape Town and were keen to provide information about places of interest or places to visit.
Freshly prepared breakfast was served in a sunny corner of the lounge.
Would definitely revisit and recommend to travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SureshL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We found this property and booked online. This was a weekend and I'd had difficulty finding a vacancy in Cape Town after calling around to several places - so we searched for vacancies online and found Brightwater. We stayed 2 nights. The place is really nice and clean; great sitting room downstairs, clean nice furnishings, small fridge in the room. However, I was pestered on several occasions by Gerard about whether we paid, despite the fact that he'd received confirmation that we had paid using an online booking service and that he was due payment from the online service. It was a weekend and the payment had not been posted to his account. He also expressed displeasure that the online booking agents take a percentage for their service. I am still bewildered why he signed up for online booking services when he is clearly not happy with them (though in my mind it is important to note that I would not have found the room without that online service).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Our stay was only for a few hours but the owners have been very nice and helpful and the house is very bright due to many windows and glas walls. We had a cosy, big room and enjoyed the freshly made breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtenay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First visit to Africa and the few days at the beginning of our trip were spent in Hout Bay at Brightwater lodge. Could not have had a better introduction-- friendly , immaculately clean , and informative. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CourtenayBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ommen The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Nice place to be. Very welcome. Room was excellent and room and balcony gave us much privacy. Owners did all they could to make us at home.
Breakfast was very good.
For our next stay in Houtbay we sure will take this place

Eise & Leony Smit The Netherlands


  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#25 of 59 in Hout Bay
107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightwater Lodge

Property: Brightwater Lodge
Address: 9 Brighton Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brightwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightwater Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing