We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Brightwater Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brightwater Lodge
Ranked #22 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Erica is a lovely and helpful host. Everyday she gave us advice which was much appreciated. Not sure if Gerard has the same flair for the role of host!it's a pity the property didn't have sufficient garden to enable guests to soak up the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ieuan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Brightwater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Brightwater lodge, the hosts were very helpful, the location excellent, and the apartment was very clean and tidy. An excellent location for exploring all the fantastic locations from Cape Town to Cape Point.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Russell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This guesthouse was the perfect place to visit Capetown, Table Mountain, Chapman's Peak, Cape Good Hope, World of Birds and other places. The hosts were amazing, friendly, always giving good advice and they were very helpful. The room was nice, clean, comfortable! Breakfast was mmmmm yammy. For short: we could recommend this place to ANYONE!!! It sure was a home away from home!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leen en Francie... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a real b&b where you get to see, talk and share experiences with the owners of the house.
The owners are great travellers and the conversation about travelling could have lasted for ever. Very much enjoyed sitting and chating with them by the fire plce. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms that I saw were quite similar and they arecall good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSER3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the first place we stayed in South Africa - and what a great start to our holiday ! We booked the Apartment, because we love to have a balcony, and wow what a view. Our hosts Gerard and Erica could not have been kinder - and Gerard's Gin and Tonics were fabulous. Brightwater Lodge is a few minutes walk from the beach, and there are good restaurants just around the corner in Hout Bay. We stayed for five nights and left relaxed and refreshed. Great place. Great hosts. Great value.

Room Tip: The Apartment has great views of the mountains and an extremely comfortable sitting room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suesherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The location of Brightwater Lodge is perfect for accessing the beach without having to use a car. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming and everything was just right. Good value for money in Hout Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caracal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Centrally located within easy access to Cape Town, Table Mountain, Beaches, Airport, etc.
Stayed in self catering apartment that had all the necessary facilities.
Apartment was imaculately clean.
We were comfortable and had the added bonus of privacy, balcony with excellent views, a large lounge, glass panels in the roof that provided fantastic views of the night sky.
Hosts, Erika and Gerard were friendly and engaged in conversation. They were very knowledgable about Cape Town and were keen to provide information about places of interest or places to visit.
Freshly prepared breakfast was served in a sunny corner of the lounge.
Would definitely revisit and recommend to travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SureshL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#27 of 59 in Hout Bay
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#26 of 59 in Hout Bay
107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 59 in Hout Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightwater Lodge

Address: 9 Brighton Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £52 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brightwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightwater Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing