We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the warm welcome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Ranked #18 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Thank you for the warm welcome!!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Enjoyed it very much!!
Very good location, quiet and yet close to the action...
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
67
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Myself, my partner and my grandmother travelled to Cape Town for Christmas and enjoyed 10 nights at this wonderful Guest House. We were warmly welcomed by the owners Martin and Anita and their lovely staff Banda and Janet. We settled in to our 2 rooms on the lower floor, the rooms are open and airy with the most aesthetically pleasing bathrooms I have seen in a long time, and the cleanliness is second to none absolutely spotless. Every day we were treated to a full english breakfast which was delicious and nothing was too much trouble (and believe me, my grandmother is very demanding!).
The owner's came to see us each morning and talk to us about our plans for the day which is a personal touch that you don't get from a large hotel. Overall I can say we had an amazing stay, and if your looking for beautiful scenery, wonderful service and clean comfortable rooms look no further. The guest house is a credit to the owners and the staff that work there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalfordAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Art Gallery Guest House. We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly hosts. Our room was clean and decorated to a hight quality, with a lovely big bath and separate shower. We had a view across to the mountains, as the Guest House is situated a few minutes drive away from the bay itself, in a quiet area. Breakfast was tasty and served in the lounge area which is decorated with impressive photographs.

The location was great, as we were very close to the start of Chapman's Peak Drive (great scenic picnic spots and the start of a coastal drive to beautiful beaches). Also an easy drive along the coast the other way to Camps Bay, the Cape Town Cable Car and the Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We met friendly people, found a tasteful, artistic and luxurious environment and felt perfectly cared for.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_jeikowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The place is beautiful, full of art and spotlessly clean.
The people are so friendly and helpful - they make you feel really welcome.
Hopefully we'll be able to come back and stay again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Woolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Really lovely guesthouse, extremely friendly and comfortable, thanks so much to Anita & Martin, Janet & Banda for looking after us so well. It was a pleasure to come back here at the end of every day, which is always the mark of a great hotel/guesthouse as far as I'm concerned. Would recommend it without hesitation. Hout Bay is a gorgeous little spot too, we split our Cape Town stay and spent 3 nights here after 3 nights in the city, but you could actually use Hout Bay as a base to explore Cape Town too, it' s about 30 mins drive away. Also extremely convenient for exploring the lower half of the peninsula, the Cape, and the Constantia winelands. A good choice!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Looking for a couple of nights b&b to start our holiday in South Africa. Found Thandekayo which fitted the bill perfectly. Add in delightful surroundings in Hout Bay, attentive service and a guest house full of fabulous art.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWHandMJH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#25 of 59 in Hout Bay
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#7 of 59 in Hout Bay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Property: Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Address: 14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo is situated in the seaside village of Hout Bay, on the Atlantic seaboard of the Western Cape of South Africa, a scenic twenty-minute drive from Cape Town central. Offering luxury, four star accommodation with five stylish African theme rooms, all en-suite. Thandekayo is positioned on the foothills of the twelfth apostle boasting breathtaking views of the mountains that guard the town and the bay itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing