We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for Cape Town visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Ranked #18 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location for Cape Town visit”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent our last 5 nights at Thandekayo on our recent trip to S.A. The accommodation, hospitality, and location matched the best we encountered. The relaxed atmosphere combined with the excellent service that we received made for a very comfortable stay. The breakfasts were excellent and the rooms are well serviced and clean. The contemporary style was very attractive and Martins work (Martin is a professional photographer) is hung through out the property. Great views from the balcony adjacent to the comfortable lounge. The location is quiet and the property is in a large and secure parcel of land. Many thanks to Martin, Anita, Banda and Janet for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The premier rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
66
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This guest house is in a wonderful location with a friendly owner and staff and a relaxed vibe. Our cosy room was upstairs in a loft area with a lovely deck and a great view. Breakfast was very good. Its close to the world of birds and the fabulous Thai restaurant kitima.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pindle-rolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
845 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed four nights here and felt like being at home. The location is very nice, at beautifull surroundings and not to far away from Capetown. Although there are more posh places and the place could use a little maintenance, we enjoyed our stay, thanks to Jeanet, Banda, Madrin and Anita. Beautifull pictures, Martin is a nice artist. Do not forget to visit his galery at Capetown. Highley recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

It was the first stop of the vacation and yet it turned out to be the highlight of the vacation. Martin was not only super kind to help us prepare iteniarary but also arranged cab etc for us even though we had arrived when there were floods and landslide in Capetown.

the breath taking view from the balcony on first morning after our 15 hour flight, made my wife skip a heartbeat and wake me up in sheer delight With a great tea.

They have the most sumptuous Breakfast we found in SA and Banda was very accomadating to cater to local tastes. he even went ahead and helped us borrow the adapter for electric connections.


The room is decorated with lovely pictures and we were really tempted to visit martin's gallery.The house keeping was good too. The World of birds nearby was a great visit too.

We loved the place so much that we chose to stay an extra day and martin upgraded us to another room without any extra charges.

Thanks guys, we can't imagine cape Town without thandekayo!:)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guptaarpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

After previously checking out Thandekayo on behalf of friends from the UK who were looking for accommodation in Hout Bay, I was so impressed with the ambience and attitude of the staff and management, I decided to stay there myself for the last three weeks of my SA vacation. I have stayed in over 25 Guest Houses in Cape Town over the years and found Thandekayo's light and contemporary decor in sharp contrast with the rather dated design and decor many others have. The owner is a professional photographer and his landscape images adorn the walls of the bedrooms and lounge.
From day one I was treated as a member of the family, not only by the owner Martin and his wife Anita, but also by Banda and Janet, the Malawian husband and wife team that manage the guest facilities. The 5 rooms are named after an indigenous African plant and I stayed in both Protea and Aloe rooms - each perfect for the solo traveller. The guest house is situated in a quiet road, but is a 5 minute drive to all Hout Bay amenities and restaurants.
Cooked breakfast is served to order, and accompanied by a buffet choice including freshly prepared fruit salad, cereals, cheeses, pastries etc. A well stocked honesty bar at reasonable prices, with Cape wines, SA beers and soda's is a nice touch for a drink on the balcony before heading off for dinner. There is also a separate fridge for guest use so one is not compelled to buy drinks from the establishment if they want to supply their own. Clothes washing is offered for a small change. The feel of the facility is secure and homely. Many guest houses are perfunctory - and this is where Thandekayo differs. It surpasses its role as simply an affordable guest house. The personality of Banda, the cleanliness, the breakfast, the relaxed ambience made it stand out compared to others I have stayed in. I would recommend it unconditionally.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JamieLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The two nights at this guest house was really nice! The house had a really cool design and was clean and fresh. The breakfast was superb! The only minus was the location which forced you to go by car. However I would definately go back! //Martina

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martinafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at the Thandekayo guest house for a week during a photography course with Martin. Great experience. Lovely people - Martin and Anita and their kids. The staff - Banda and Janet were very helpful. People say the customer service in Cape Town is not really good. I must say, these people are the best. I was sad when I had to leave but I'm definitely going back there soon :). Already recommending it to everyone I know who wants to visit SA.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Agapanthus room. The view of the mountain and the sea from the balcony is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#7 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#27 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Property: Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Address: 14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo is situated in the seaside village of Hout Bay, on the Atlantic seaboard of the Western Cape of South Africa, a scenic twenty-minute drive from Cape Town central. Offering luxury, four star accommodation with five stylish African theme rooms, all en-suite. Thandekayo is positioned on the foothills of the twelfth apostle boasting breathtaking views of the mountains that guard the town and the bay itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing