We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Ranked #19 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The place is beautiful, full of art and spotlessly clean.
The people are so friendly and helpful - they make you feel really welcome.
Hopefully we'll be able to come back and stay again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Woolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
67
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Really lovely guesthouse, extremely friendly and comfortable, thanks so much to Anita & Martin, Janet & Banda for looking after us so well. It was a pleasure to come back here at the end of every day, which is always the mark of a great hotel/guesthouse as far as I'm concerned. Would recommend it without hesitation. Hout Bay is a gorgeous little spot too, we split our Cape Town stay and spent 3 nights here after 3 nights in the city, but you could actually use Hout Bay as a base to explore Cape Town too, it' s about 30 mins drive away. Also extremely convenient for exploring the lower half of the peninsula, the Cape, and the Constantia winelands. A good choice!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Looking for a couple of nights b&b to start our holiday in South Africa. Found Thandekayo which fitted the bill perfectly. Add in delightful surroundings in Hout Bay, attentive service and a guest house full of fabulous art.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWHandMJH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Plus points:
Our room led right onto the secluded swimming pool, staff and owners couldn't be more helpful, very well looked after with a personal touch. Public areas good and balcony pleasant, good breakfast, huge bathroom. good restaurant guide in room. Honesty box for wine beer cokes etc. with a good choice of wine.

Minus points:
Some nice restaurants in Hout bay but nothing else

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrarmere, Benoni, Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We were at Thandekayo over the festive season for 8 days, absolutely wonderful, an unforgettable experience. All popular beaches i.e. Hout Bay, Camps Bay, Lududna, Clifton, Bantry Bay, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, so close together, Chapman Peak and other beaches towards Cape Point, scenery was magnificant, roads were wonderful to drive on, everybody were so friendly and helpful, completely a different world. As for the guesthouse, Martin & Anita, their staff, Banda and Janet, were so friendly and made everything possible to make everybody feel at home especially over Xmas, the breakfasts you could choose from, such a variety to start your day. Will definitely, if possible make it a regularly stay when we go to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our second time to stay here but this time under new ownership. The new owners are just as lovely, helpful, friendly and welcoming as the old ones. due to the ash cloud we had to find last minute accommodation (we had been renting a villa with my famiy but due to prolonged stay we felt we needed some space). we turned up out of the blue just to see if there was any room and they could not have been more helpful. the rooms are still very nice with everything you need, clean spacious and homely, all staff are warm and lovely, the breakfasts are delicious i cannot speak highly enough of this place. Hout bay is a great place to stay when visiting cape town and i would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemetochina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This is a perfect place to stay to come and go as you please and see the sites of Cape Town. The owners and staff welcome you with a warm family atmosphere and you feel you are staying with friends in a open house, not in a hotel. The breakfast is excellent. Local restaurants are not far away for a wide choice of good food. The owners know a local friendly taxi driver you can have for the day to show you all round the Cape peninsular. In the busy season you will have to book him up fast. From arriving to departing the Thandekayo owners and staff make the stay most pleasurable. A well recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boro2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#7 of 59 in Hout Bay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo

Property: Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo
Address: 14 Luisa Way | Noortgedagt, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo is situated in the seaside village of Hout Bay, on the Atlantic seaboard of the Western Cape of South Africa, a scenic twenty-minute drive from Cape Town central. Offering luxury, four star accommodation with five stylish African theme rooms, all en-suite. Thandekayo is positioned on the foothills of the twelfth apostle boasting breathtaking views of the mountains that guard the town and the bay itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Guest House - Thandekayo Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing