We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure tranquility”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you seek a luxurious stay on a pristine Atlantic location nestled snugly between mountains and sea, truly away from the hurly burly of the city yet a mere stones throw away from the magical and cosmopolitan Cape Town, then this is the place for you . The food and hospitality are equally impressive and upon leaving, it becomes clear that you've had a unique experience.

Room Tip: As each room is named after an exotic location, be sure to request what is available to ensure you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chillicocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently had sundowner snacks at this spectacular venue. The location is superb but, like so many places in Cape Town that seem to depend on their location for wow factor, the rest was mediocre at an outrageous price. The service was average and the food was very bland and unimaginative

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I really love it when I find something THIS special in my own country! My husband treated us to a short stay at Tintswalo for my birthday and it was indeed a fantastic birthday treat. The location is magnificent and breathtaking. I loved the interior decorating and the fact the every room was done to an individual theme with every possible luxury you can image.

We chose to have all our meals at the hotel and had 3 wonderful meals. Just straight forward good menus, nothing overly spectucular but well excecuted and reallly delicious.

As expected from a 5star establishment like this one, the staff was outstanding! Our 7 yr old son joined us for the stay and althought this is NOT a typical child friendly environment, everyone went out of their way to accomodate him and his "child" food requests.

The ONLY negative comment I have is around the "restaurant" part of the hotel being open to non-guests. We paid quite a bit of money for this exclusive lodge and really did NOT enjoy sharing it with large groups of non-guests taking up tables for breakfast & lunch. To the point where there was almost not room for us and other PAYING guests to enjoy the privilidge! We found it very off putting that these groups of people "took over" the facilities that should idealy be open only to the guests, especially a place this exclusive.

Room Tip: All 12 the rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolizeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Senior management - Tintswalo group.



We have just returned from yet another magnificent long w-end spent at Tintswalo Atlantic.

My wife and I were accompanied by good friends, all well travelled and the overiding consensus was that their experience at Tintswalo Atlantic , as with ours remains unsurpassed.

Ryno and Melissa turn your lodge from outstanding to unforgettable through their kindness , attention to every detail and whim, and their natural grace. This flows through naturally to the rest of the staff.



To all at Tintswalo Atlantic - thank you ! We have already made reservations for next Feb.





Regards



Marq Frances

[--]

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marq F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had lunch here and were very excited to see what the food would be like as had visited the safari lodge on honeymoon and the food was superb. Sadly the food really was not up to scratch for a 350rand set menu. Whilst it didn't taste bad, all elements of both my husband's and my lunch were cooked poorly. Over cooked lamb and quail, undercooked soggy polenta and the torte was a dry cake. Real shame. The venue is stunning with a great outlook but the food sub standard. A real shame as tintswalo at Kruger has amazing food. I hope the owners consider investing in the chef as at the moment the food is ok hotel food but not good restaurant food.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank volio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

From arrival to departure we were treated like royalty. This lodge is built into the beauty of nature, with unsurpassed views from every room. What a treat to relax and unwind whilst listening to the crash of the waves. Indulge in the fantastic menu and wine list, with friendly staff to take care of your every wim, going out of their way to make your stay comfortable and very special. Pure escapism! We will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This lodge down on the water on the way up Chapmans peak overlooks Hout Bay.

The rooms are super with wonderful views right from your bedroom.

Food was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
345 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
11.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: £499 - £1,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing