We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great service, lovely food”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, great service, lovely food”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

From a previous small executive meeting that we had there for the day and which was exceptional, I invited a small group of foodie friends and we were delighted
Everything was so beautifully handled, from the spectacular location, a warm reception to the drinks and table service
The food was truly outstanding and each person in our party of nine enjoyed each of the four courses presented
It was a lunch to remember
Aletha Ling

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aletha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    14
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
286
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

From an initial lunch by my wife & I, to being invited for Dinner by Friends, we had no choice but to make this the location for my Cape Town Companies' function. Some people stayed over, some did not, either way...all that attended could not stop tallking about the great location, friendly service due to great staff and overall experience. All I can say is thank you. In as little as my three visits, with various guests...you impressed. Well done & thank you, so much. See you soon.

Room Tip: All rooms great, perfect "getaway" if you are close or not...very relaxed, with style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

It could be THE place in the Cape. The Location is simply divine. We were there for dinner 3 years ago and we then said : never again. But despite our experience, we gave it another try. It was as if we would have been there the next day. Nothing changed to the better. Terrible snacks as pre- starter, bad wine handling, poor welcome . The menu was just from reading not creative and was presented as a "ten times folded before " A4 page. The dinner tasted as a warmed up long advance prepared food and the kitchen was most of the time empty without any activities. prices went down for the menu and wines but they are high enough to expect good quality cuisine. The manager left at 8pm leaving the staff alone with all problems. The Suites are very nice but guests expect more concerning service and food quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Melissa and Ryno made our stay at this beautiful hotel a most memorable one!! The hotel's assistant manager and staff were absolutely outstanding! Nothing was an issue and they somehow knew exactly what was needed when it was needed.

Personal touches were the order of the day and the romantic setting of the hotel is extraordinary. Our room was at the sea edge with breathtaking views over the Atlantic Ocean. Hout Bay formed a stunning backdrop...

A truly remarkable experience which easily beats most other "5 star" hotels and getaway places my wife and I have stayed at; both locally and internationally!

Craig Plowden

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokstad, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Atlantic is something special, The personal touch and out of this world food make for an extremely pleasant stay. We started unwinding the minute we stood on our Balcony overlooking Hout Bay and a meter or two from the waters edge.UNBELIEVABLE!

Room Tip: we used Antigwa room and it was really nice. Pretty close to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Although the photos of Tintswalo are great, nothing can prepare you for the feeling this place gives you. The location is unbelievable, the facilities and extensive decked areas amazing, fantastic food and service and the best part is that it all happens unpretentiously in the back ground allowing you ample space for a deep relax. Caution though, you may be spoilt for life and I don't think that I will ever stay anywhere else when visiting Cape Town !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Titswalo was the best possible choice for a romantic night’s stay , we celebrated our anniversary and were absolutely blown away by the beautiful accommodation and excellent service.
The staff were so friendly and attentive and we enjoyed a wonderful tea on our room balcony , the sweet and savoury treats were delicious, we then had cocktails around the pool overlooking the amazing private beach.
that night we enjoyed sun downers on the deck overlooking the whole of hout bay and had a four course meal in the restaurant , I can honestly say the food was so wonderful the next day we had the complimentary breakfast and were again blown away it’s the service and choices
I would thoroughly recommend staying here it is such a romantic destination for couples and also a wonderful hotel for guests from overseas as it is still central but so private and the views are incredible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
324 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
11.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing