We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The grey one and I had been staying at The Cellars Hohenort where we were able to enjoy the lovely gardens so being close to the sea was a wonderful contrast. This is a true gem of an hotel with just 10 rooms and a Presidential Suite with two bedrooms. The property stands alone on the seashore a short drive from Hout Bay itself and just at the beginning of the scenic drive known as Chapman's Peak. There is a toll entry to the Peak of R30 for cars but if you tell the person in the booth that you are staying at the Hotel, they will issue you with a day pass. If you leave the hotel to go out after 7pm, you will be charged R30 but if you keep your receipts, the hotel will take this off your bill at the end of your stay.

If you arrive by car, you leave your car in the carpark just off the road and the security man will call a vehicle to come up and collect you and your luggage. A steep paved path runs down to the hotel which lies literally on the ocean. The decor is a mixture of seaside bits and pieces coupled with kitch French-style furniture all of which works brilliantly. This is more like a home stay and Reno and his lovely wife Melissa are really wonderful hosts. They cannot do enough to make you feel at home.

Each room is different in design. They are very spacious with a balcony (with 2 chairs and a small table) seemingly suspended over the sea. Inside are comfortable chairs in which to relax and look at the view. The beds are extremely comfortable and there are lovely soft, fluffy towels and robes. The bathrooms are very well-appointed with two basins, a screenless shower and a bath from which you can look out onto the sea below - heaven! There is even a decanter of port in the room should you need a last drink before bedtime. The mini-bar drinks are free and there are in-room tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms also have television and there is good (free) wi-fi throughout the hotel. A new swimming pool and deck has recently been added.

All in all, this is the most wonderful place - one of the best I have stayed in and I have travelled extensively. I would highly recommend it - it's just amazing!

This hotel is a true balm for anyone who wants to re-charge their batteries and so romantic for a honeymoon or just for lovers. The view out over the sea and Hout Bay is spectacular!
Breakfast can be taken either in the dining-room or on the deck outside. A lovely tea is served at around 4pm with an enormous cake, little skewers of meat, potato salad and pastries as well as a variety of teas and juices. The food is good here and last night we were treated to a typical Cape Malay 5-course menu - all excellent. The great thing here is that house wines, soft drinks and some spirits are all included for the duration of your stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are just beautiful with views of the sea but the block farthest from the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lferstendik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    10
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
247
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Tintswalo beginning of December to kick off our honeymoon. It was our first visit to Capetown and we truly loved this place!!

We got the Ithaka room and we consider it as one of the best rooms as it located at the end of the complex next to the pool and has by far the biggest privacy. Rooms are very nicely furnished, they all got a very spacious bathroom each with his own bathtub which offers a stunning view onto the sea. The hotel also offers complimentary WIFI.

The Staff was always very friendly and very helpful - we always felt like at home.

The food was very, very good! We also liked the fact that the chef was always very present.

The sundowner drinks either on the terrace of your room or on the hotel terrace are unbeatable...

We hope to be back soon!!

Thank you for this wonderful stay

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnylandolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I arrived with high expectations and whatever expectations I had were surpassed!

The position must be one of the best in the world. Right on breaking waves, within a nature park, fresh air and Cape Town without the crowds. The sun-sets are stunning from either the rooms or one of the many intimate public spaces. Try the pool deck for the best sun downer in Cape Town!

The decor is charming with the rooms elegantly appointed and comfortable. Different decorating styles for each room ensures a boutique ambience.

The service is ubiquitous, non-intrucive and like many others have mentioned in their reviews... nothing is too much for the hotel staff, from the GM couple to the chefs. Truly stunning! Yet one never gets the impersonal and staid service feel of so many 5 star hotels.

The food scores an 8 overall for me and it is clear that they are working on a better offering. In essence it can be improved but it is by no means poor. From previous reviews I see that the food has been criticised by some reviewers... mostly people not staying at the hotel but just eating there. To my view a bit unfairly harsh. For those I have a message: save up, stay there for a day or two and then review the food experience again!

The days at the hotel are ultimately relaxing and two days feels like for. Overall an aesthetic experience I will easily do again. The hotel is expensive but worthy of every rand I spend there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-taste-bud-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Tintswalo Atlantic is one of the most incredible places we have ever stayed. The staff are welcoming, friendly and nothing is ever a problem or too much for them. The views from the rooms and eating area are breath taking. We sat out on the deck several times and watched a seal playing in the water. It's just one of a kind. We are officially Tintswalo junkies and have one more to try - Tinstwalo Safari. I am blown away at the effort put into Tintswalo and how the staff just show how much they love working there. The food is delicious and you always have something new and refreshing on the menu and the Chefs and waiters have all the knowledge about the food and wines served. We will definitely be back and will remember and rave about Tintswalo for a very long time. Thank you very much for an amazing 3 nights. Best wishes for 2013 and a Merry christmas to all tintswalo staff. Roxy and Wayne

Room Tip: The last room near the pool - ithaca
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Both my husband and I agree that this was one of the most beautiful lodges and locations we've ever stayed in! That is saying a lot since we both have traveled extensively around the world. There is nothing like walking out onto the bedroom balcony with the ocean immediately in front of you - quite an experience! The service, food and friendliness of the staff was nothing short of perfect! We would love to live between Tintswalo Atlantic and Tintswalo Safari if we could. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mandela room and it was lovely. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Having stayed at Tintswalo safari, we were keen to come back and try Tintswalo Atlantic.
The individual attention shown by the staff, the food and the location were JUST PERFECT!
This is a true boutique 5 star experience, nothing was too much, and the excursions arranged were fantastic. there is nothing i have found to compete with the sunset drinks on the terrace watching the water/whales fade from glorious azure to a deep mauve.
The whole experience was unique and the quality of the rooms , each indivual, superb.
We will return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Thanks Pierre and chefs for a great breakfast experience on Sunday ! Great hospitality, 5 star meal and what an amazing setting ! Exceeded expectations. We will be back time and time again :-) Nick, Graeme and Liz White

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickWhite_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
8.6 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing