We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss!”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

No detail was forgotten. The people at Tintswalo Atlantic do everything they can to make you feel spoilt and special. The food is great, the candles everywhere at night transforms the hotel ( and your room) to a fairy landscape and the views of the Atlantic is to die for. A return destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Tintswalo Atlantic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Set in the National Park just south of the toll on Chapman's Peak this gem is metres from the water's edge with views across to Hout Bay. We enjoyed a family celebration here staying 2 nights which is probably the right time. The luxuriously appointed rooms along the sea front are all identical in size but with a different fit out and colour scheme. The Presidential suite is set back. The service was exemplary, our only issue here was our electronic safe failed causing very minor aggravation. With such high expectations, the food disappointed with only a limited menu and ordinary execution. Breakfasts were great though. Just make sure your dinner table doesn't look straight into the kitchen. Notwithstanding the above a terrific place to unwind.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our two night stay after our wedding was an absolute gem. The perfect place for personalised service, luxury appointments and getting away from the city. We loved everything about the hotel and would go back anytime.

Room Tip: The Antigua suite was the closest to the pool and on the end of the row, giving additional points fo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Beautiful small restaurant just outside Haut Bay on Chapmans Peak.
Hard to get into as they only seat about 20 people and if the hotel is full there is very little room left.
However well worth trying as the sunset from their deck is spectacular!
The food is great and with the location is a treat not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

From the time Tintswalo opened it has been on my bucket list, mainly because of it's idealic setting. It lived up to every expectation when we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there. Sitting on the deck watching the waves roll in and suck back into Hout Bay with the Sentinal in the background is about as good as it gets! The decor is stunning, the staff and service perfect and the food delectable. All in all a luxurious experience that left me so proudly South African! Thanks to Ryno and every single staff member for an amazing package.
Lynn and Gavin George

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Gavin and Lynn

Thank you for email and review on tripadvisor on your stay with us at Tintswalo Atlantic. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your special Wedding Aniversary and I am delighted that we as a team met your expectations with food,service,rooms, attention to detail and location of the lodge.
Looking forward to hosting you again!
Regards the Atlantic team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The exotic setting was well matched by the quality of the service and the food.
A little bit of paradise, a beautiful situation, hard to find but well worth the effort.
Booking is strongly advised as this restaurant is very small.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have always wanted to visit this property and I was not disappointed. The location is incredible and the service and food was excellent. I had a very relaxing stay and the afternoon tea on the deck is priceless, watching the sunset! The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Sitting outside the room on the veranda, with a cup of tea overlooking the ocean is magical. A definite MUST visit for any couple and the perfect venue for a small wedding!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deidre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
332 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
11.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: £511 - £1,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing