We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding was FANTASTIC”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Wedding was FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked out the entire resort for our wedding in October over 2 nights. Every detail was perfect. We had a cocktail party the first night and the wedding the following day. Ryno, the manager was great and Tania, well she did a superb job making sure that all went as planned. Food…well some of the best meals we have ever experienced. Absolute magic comes out of the kitchen. All the staff were fantastic right to the housekeepers who took note of who was at breakfast and they would tidy your suite so that on return afterwards the room was all refreshed.The venue is like no other in the world.
We had guests from all parts of the globe attend and they were all wowed by the resort and everything it had to offer. We will return!

Room Tip: All of the suites are named after Islands, We stayed in the 2 bedroom presidential suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    13
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
69
285
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stays at the Tintswalo Atlantic in late November 2013. Not only the scenery is unbeatable - sitting in the Table Mountain National Park directly at the shore of the Atlantic - but also the people there are really, really friendly and making the whole stay very personal. We had awesome food, great wine, nice conversations and were really sad when we finally had to leave this small paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and look fantastic. With only 10 rooms, each one has a personal touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I planned a quick 2 day trip to Capetown while in South Africa and stayed at this luxury lodge. To stay at this location on the beach as a last minute decision turned into the most spectacular experience of my time in South Africa. Sleeping to the surf outside my patio door and having top notch customer service treatment made the two day stay very memorable. I will plan my next safari with a stay at Tintswalo Safari Lodge as this was such a total delight to my senses. Hats off to the staff who made me feel so welcome. Each room is uniquely designed and decorated according to an island after which it is named. The food and service was spectacular. I will definitely plan to stay there again if in Capetown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently decided to treat my husband to this fantastic get away for his birthday.

There were a few problems with booking but we got there eventually.

Unfortunately the day of my husband’s birthday was a terribly rainy, cold and miserable day. As we actually live in Cape Town and can self-drive to Tintswalo, I tried to change our reservation to another day with hopefully better weather. The lady I spoke to said no go, but my mother always taught me if you don’t ask you don’t get! So off we went to what I will describe as the most beautiful place we have ever been to.

Talk about being RIGHT on the ocean. The views (even in the rain) were magnificent. I had taken advantage of a package deal for this special day which included a glass of sparkling wine on arrival, high tea, 30 minutes spa experience for each of us, dinner with wine-pairing and breakfast in bed the next day. Needless to say they had me at “sparkling wine on arrival”, but to my great disappointment, there was no sparkling wine in sight when we arrived! But I can’t complain as there was a whole bottle waiting for us when we got to our room along with a roaring fire! Bliss. Our room was just exquisite and our bathroom was just beautiful. The bath was RIGHT by the window and it was like bathing in the sea. What a treat.

Unfortunately there was a mix up over timing with our high tea and our massages so we had to forgo the massages. We chose food over relaxation! Pity that the choice had to made, but some things were just not explained to us very clearly.

Dinner saw no one knowing anything about the wine-pairing that we were promised, but manager Ryno, came to the rescue magnificently by jumping in and performing a perfect wine-pairing dinner. Dinner was a lovely affair, but we couldn’t help thinking how much nicer it would have been if the weather was beautiful and we could be seated under the stars.

We had the best night’s sleep ever – with the waves crashing right outside our window and the world’s most comfortable bed and pillows. We gathered there was not going to be any breakfast in bed as promised, but we did get the newspaper and a few yummy pastries at wake up time before heading off to a HUGE breakfast in the dining room.

All in all we had a lovely time and will have no problem going back again. I was just really disappointed that a bigger fuss was not made of my husband for his birthday. Yes, we received a bottle of bubbly and it was disappointing that we had to miss out on our spa treatments but manager Ryno has promised if we go back we can most definitely still have it! But, it was an outrageously expensive night out with way too much food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownWatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a must if you planning to visit Cape Town. At least stay a night or two. It is pretty expensive but the service location and atmosphere is magical to say the least... However please check the weather for your Time there as it can get really cold and windy at times... I promise even if you stay indoors when it rains, it is still so amazing. The decor, furniture and ambience is beautiful. I had the privilege to stay at the presidential suite ..wow oh wow... Awesome...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were overwhelmed by the level of luxury and the magnificent setting of the hotel. The blue and white decorated bedroom itself was gorgeous with it’s amazing view over the whole of Hout Bay. Stepping onto the balcony was like stepping out over the sea and watching the waves rolling into the beach was food for the soul. Even the smallest details have been thought out ….fresh flowers placed on the towels and bed, beige coloured velvety gowns, aromatic bath oil and crystals, staff offering to light the fire place in the bedroom, etc.

Complements to your chef for the delicious breakfast and dinner and warm greetings and thanks to your team for their warm, friendly and helpful service.

Warm regards
Thea Strauss

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me and my fiance were fortunate enough to stay 2 nights and it has been amongst the best we have seen yet in South Africa! From food, location, service, staff => absolutely perfect! If you ever have the opportunity, make a plan!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., South African Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing