We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

As home to the most fawned over city-setting of mountain and sea and home to my favourite dining experience to date, superlatives fail to do justice in describing the Cape Town, a destination as gorgeous as it is delicious. This is what makes experience of Tinstwalo Atlantic so noteworthy - that it adds something singularly beautiful in a great abundance of Cape Town's superior aesthetics.

There are many luxurious accommodations from which the drama put on by the crisp, tempestuous Atlantic can be enjoyed, but for me, to date, all of these have been on the wrong side of a road which created a feeling of separation I had not highly regarded until I stayed at the Tintswalo Atlantic. This lodge is right on the rocky and pebbled beach of Hout Bay offering sweeping views of the Sentinel mountains, the bay, the Hout Bay Harbour and the ocean beyond.

The lodge is built with minimum interruption to the Table Mountain National Park - a welcoming tract of rugged unspoilt handsomeness with protected 400 year old Milkwood trees which the lodge is built around to preserve the trees' preeminence in the reserve.

This setting envelops you in the very heart of nature in a way that is hard to describe. It is in this confluence of natures abundance that my stay was orchestrated by excellent, attentive staff, who were genuinely interested in my welfare as a guest.

Each of the 12 suites are influenced by a favourite island of the owners and its an apt theme as Tintswalo Atlantic is incredibly adept at making feel away from it all a short 25 minute drive from the City Centre. It offers the best of both worlds, the feeling of distance from hustle and bustle whilst at the lodge and quick, scenic access to the CBD via Chapman's Peak Drive - making the drive a light and pleasant burden to bear. Whilst not possible on my trip, it emerged as an ideal base to explore Boulders Beach (home of Cape Town's penguin colony), Kalk Bay, Simonstown (a picturesque Naval Town) and all the other delights of the Southern Peninsula route.

It must be said that Cape Town is a delicious destination delighting taste buds through fine dining and hipster tapas bars alike. For Tinstwalo to stamp its indelible mark on this cuisine landscape is a great credit to chef Jeanelle van Staaden. She was able to thrill and delight from an entree of walnut, spinach and feta phyllo pastries coupled with succulent Springboks shanks topped with figs, a goji pear sorbet is a palate cleanser par excellance, the lamb mains exceptional and her malva twist added to my love of this favourite dessert.

The privilege of staying at Tintswalo Atlantic certainly has not been wasted on me and the fond memories will linger for some time to come. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Each one is different, enjoyed the blue hues of the Antigua Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MqondisiGumede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    10
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
247
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were fortunate to spend our honeymoon at Tintswalo - June 2013 - my husband surprised me with an amazing 1st anniversary at the same opulent venue! Service is impeccable - friendly attentive staff - loads of attention to detail. Exquisite views of the Atlantic with waves crashing right on your doorstep. Spacious private rooms with luxurious decor and finishes. Amazing bathrooms. Delicious food - super special breakfast. This romantic gem is pure bliss.

Room Tip: Love the Antigua room with uninterrupted sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having really high expectations exceeded in such an amazing way was a true pleasure.

Two glorious nights, amazing attention to detail, exquisite facilities and staff that make you feel comfortable and spoilt at the same time - apparently this is the norm at Tintswalo.

The location is sublime and the food unforgettable - All I need to do now is find a way to return with my wife to convince her that I'm not over exaggerating the experience I had there on a business trip... the photos make that pretty easy.

Room Tip: All 12 suites are amazing and also uniquely decorated - all of them have spectacular sea views, on s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatorgirl515
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is the most luxurious hotel in which I have ever stayed!!! They are the definition of luxury and service. The views are stunning, the food is elaborate and delicious, and the service makes you feel like royalty!!!

Room Tip: If going in winter ask for fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorgirl515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Please note that I have not stayed in accommodation at this Hotel but would like to review the restaurant for its breakfast menu.
Magnificent setting on the balcony overlooking the ocean and stunning views of the Sentinel mountain peak in Hout Bay. My previous breakfast was three years ago and was excellent. Recently we received a gift voucher for R500.00 for two persons for a breakfast.. A small selection of pastries, then minimal cheeses and a tiny portion of salmon was brought to the table. Omelette was not of a good texture and extremely dry. Service was too relaxed and we had to request a juice after waiting for a considerable time for some attention. Disappointing and totally overpriced and not comparable to Hout Bay Manor Hotel for its breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed Fathers Day lunch at this fabulous destination. A gem, tucked away at the bottom of Chapmans Peak! We were made to feel so welcome by the staff and enjoyed a good lunch overlooking Hout Bay and the Sentinel. Stupendous views! Have not come across anything like this in all our travels. Proudly South African!!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend our anniversary at Tintswalo this week and all I can say is WOW :) It was incredible.. From the minute we arrived to the minute we unfortunately had to leave we were spoiled! The accommodation was just as amazing - we were in the Madura suite with the most amazing views overlooking the sea. Such great attention to detail in the rooms - fire place blazing too. It was one of the most romantic evenings we've had in a long time. Dinner was so special and probably one of the best meals out we've had in a long time. Really top class all the way through. Thank you all so much

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning - they all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
8.6 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing