We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town most special hotel”
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband treated me to a night a Tintswalo Atlantic for my 40th birthday. What a magical place! It setting is unbelievably beautiful, right on the waters edge overlooking the Atlantic. One is made to feel so special. The food was unbelievable, the service world class and the whole experience completely uplifting. It's location, although so close to the heart of Cape Town, feels completely remote and one completely relaxes instantly after arrival. What an experience, thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angie_Antrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 but I felt compelled to write a review about Tintswalo Atlantic. It is the most beautiful, magical, serene, incredible place imaginable and we (and you!) will remember it forever. We arrived at sunset, having driven over Chapman's Peak, so that the light bathed Tintswalo in an astonishing shimmering orange/pink hue. The whole team was phenomenal from the minute we arrived and could not do enough. They weren't doing this 'under pressure', there was a genuine desire for us to 'get' Tintswalo just as they do. I challenge anyone to find a more dramatic view from your shower /bathroom. The 'outside coming in/ inside coming out' feel, from the chandeliers hanging from a low hung branch, the rugs on the veranda, the dining room outside, the incredible furnishings inside, all make this surely one of the most incredible places we've stayed. It's a magical experience and you feel transported. We left saying 'we will return' and on this occasion I know we will. Separately it's a pleasure to note that Tintswalo is very accessible for wheelchair users, with wet rooms and level access throughout. Again, ( unlike in some hotels) the booking process for a wheelchair user was greeted positively and with Tintswalo's 'can do' approach.

Room Tip: They all seem gorgeous. We saw two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGML2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Although we did not stay overnight (wish we could've !), we attended a family 80th birthday celebration lunch. On arrival we were greeted & served a super welcome cocktail drink by Melissa, a very friendly General Manager, plus the friendly & efficient staff. The setting is out of this world, right on the water's edge with the most magnificent view of the mountains across the bay and located at the foot of the mountain (Chapman's Peak) with natural vegetation as the backdrop. As per Melissa, a wonderful position to observe the whales and dolphins as they enter the bay.
We enjoyed a superb 4 course meal prepared and presented fit for royalty ! To crown it all, the meal ended with a birthday song by the staff, accompanied by a divine chocolate cake !
For those fortunate enough to spend some time at this stunning venue, there is a swimming pool with a sun deck to relax and enjoy the natural surrounds. For international travelers this is a must do visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This little boutique hotel was magical! The rooms are spacious and very well decorated. The view of the ocean is breath-taking. The staff is friendly and very well trained. Sun-downers were spectacular, with great cocktails prepared by the barman. Breakfast is to die for!! And the only noise is the waves crashing on the rocks right below the room. We will definitely return...soon.

Room Tip: They are all different and all spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NadsSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautifully located on the waters edge below Chapman's peak drive, Atlantic Tintswalo surpassed all our expectations in service, friendliness and exceptional food. The staff made every effort to make our first anniversary as special as our big day. Little notes written in pebbles were left in our room and messages in the butter on the table. The rooms of spectacular opulence . Thank you to the Tintswalo team for making our romantic getaway a memorable one. We definitely will be back soon. Love Jacqui & Parry

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were treated by the highest service and most warm hearted family at Tintswalo Atlantic, We travel quite often and love being treated but this was something out of this world, from the romantic dinners, to the 3 course breakfast, and of course the views and waking up to the sound of the ocean. Surrounded by beauty we did not find a reason to leave the lodge, as there was just so much to be absorbed, the meticulous detail, with so much heart put into everything, Thank you so much Reino and Melissa, Tatum, Tanya and the rest of the family.

This was definitely a Romantic Luxurious Getaway.

All our Love Ronald and Cindy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As home to the most fawned over city-setting of mountain and sea and home to my favourite dining experience to date, superlatives fail to do justice in describing the Cape Town, a destination as gorgeous as it is delicious. This is what makes experience of Tinstwalo Atlantic so noteworthy - that it adds something singularly beautiful in a great abundance of Cape Town's superior aesthetics.

There are many luxurious accommodations from which the drama put on by the crisp, tempestuous Atlantic can be enjoyed, but for me, to date, all of these have been on the wrong side of a road which created a feeling of separation I had not highly regarded until I stayed at the Tintswalo Atlantic. This lodge is right on the rocky and pebbled beach of Hout Bay offering sweeping views of the Sentinel mountains, the bay, the Hout Bay Harbour and the ocean beyond.

The lodge is built with minimum interruption to the Table Mountain National Park - a welcoming tract of rugged unspoilt handsomeness with protected 400 year old Milkwood trees which the lodge is built around to preserve the trees' preeminence in the reserve.

This setting envelops you in the very heart of nature in a way that is hard to describe. It is in this confluence of natures abundance that my stay was orchestrated by excellent, attentive staff, who were genuinely interested in my welfare as a guest.

Each of the 12 suites are influenced by a favourite island of the owners and its an apt theme as Tintswalo Atlantic is incredibly adept at making feel away from it all a short 25 minute drive from the City Centre. It offers the best of both worlds, the feeling of distance from hustle and bustle whilst at the lodge and quick, scenic access to the CBD via Chapman's Peak Drive - making the drive a light and pleasant burden to bear. Whilst not possible on my trip, it emerged as an ideal base to explore Boulders Beach (home of Cape Town's penguin colony), Kalk Bay, Simonstown (a picturesque Naval Town) and all the other delights of the Southern Peninsula route.

It must be said that Cape Town is a delicious destination delighting taste buds through fine dining and hipster tapas bars alike. For Tinstwalo to stamp its indelible mark on this cuisine landscape is a great credit to chef Jeanelle van Staaden. She was able to thrill and delight from an entree of walnut, spinach and feta phyllo pastries coupled with succulent Springboks shanks topped with figs, a goji pear sorbet is a palate cleanser par excellance, the lamb mains exceptional and her malva twist added to my love of this favourite dessert.

The privilege of staying at Tintswalo Atlantic certainly has not been wasted on me and the fond memories will linger for some time to come. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Each one is different, enjoyed the blue hues of the Antigua Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MqondisiGumede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: £450 - £1,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, South African Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing