We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tintswalo Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tintswalo Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtead Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The location is stunning about 20 minutes south of Cape Town towards the Cape. This coastal lodge is the only one on Chapman's Peak Drive. Each room is themed - we stayed in Robben, a tribute to Nelson Mandela.. All windows and rooms face directly out to the ocean - great for whale sightings. The service was outstanding; we were made to feel very much at home and nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and the chef took time to describe the menu personally. Haut Bay is a small picturesque town with a good choice of restaurants and quite a few unusual shops and boutiques. A great place to stay for a couple of nights. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashtead53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    10
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
247
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Difficult to do justice to this hotel in a paragraph. Although located about 35 mins from the city core, it is more than worth the drive. Wonderfully appointed rooms are no more than 20 yards from the crashing surf of Hout Bay; the staff is exceptional and attentive without being oppressive, the chefs produce exquisite cuisine ... so much better than staying in V&A.

I have stayed in a number of similar high-end hotels around the world: the Post Ranch Inn in California, the Park Hyatt Moscow, the Chateau Frontenac in Quebec, ryokans in Kyoto, but this topped them all for service, location, ambiance, attention to detail, and cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhniraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

This place just gets it 100% perfect!!
I cannot find any fault with it ... and I am a born and bred Capetonian!!
Enough said!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Looweegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

This is going to be the easiest review I have ever written on Trip Advisor. I am by nature grouchy and difficult as a hotel guest. and usually always find fault with something.....we only stay Trip Advisor 5 star rated properties, From the moment we arrived at Tintswalo Atlantic managers, Melissa and Ryno, were there to open the limo door. The setting and location.......well, pure heaven - right on the opposite site of Hout Bay harbour with only mountains, fynbos and the and a 180 degree uninterrupted view of the ocean to capture your heart.. There are 10 individual suites right on the ocean....the decor of each suite will melt your heart and the cuisine will melt your taste-buds. We had our own personal butler, Barbara, who pampered us for our complete stay. Melissa and Ryno treated us like royalty and pre-empted our EVERY need. All I can say is Tintswalo Atlantic has spoiled us forever. Bravo...bravo !!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WANDERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

My wife and I have just spent a wonderful week at Tintswalo Atlantic Lodge! From the start, we felt a warm and friendly welcome from a truly professional staff. The room where we stayed was gorgeous - so colorful, clean and aesthetic, and
most of all comfortable - with a great view of the ocean with the waves lapping almost up to the balcony of our room. We loved the added touches to the room such as the seashell patterns in the bathroom and the "islands" motif of each
separate room.
The food was gourmet all the way, beautifully set out and served in the long dining area overlooking the waters of Hout Bay. We loved the warm fireplace area where drinks were served each evening as the cooler weather set in. We have traveled far and wide and have yet to find a more aesthetic, friendly and charming hotel or lodge where our every need and comfort was provided. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.
Tony and Peggy

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PVH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

Tintswalo Atlantic is incredibly unique.
It is the most recent addition to the Tintswalo Lodges/Hotels and let me tell you, it is quite the experience.
Located on the tip of South Africa, on famous Chapman's Peak Drive it stands in a secluded spot looking out over the Atlantic and what a view!
The rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff is friendly and helpful and the food is out of this world.
It's one of those places that you go and will always remember as a highlight of your trip.
The location of the lodge allows for complete relaxation or fabulous walks in the hills around Cape Town.
I highly recommend a visit to this special place.
Jan Regan

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the room, the location and the food.
  • Disliked — nothing stood out as undesirable.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
8.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
7.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
11.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Atlantic

Property: Tintswalo Atlantic
Address: Chapmans Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Atlantic 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above a pebbled beach at the foot of Chapman's Peak, and overlooking the Cape's iconic Sentinel mountain, Tintswalo Atlantic sits sheltered by the Table Mountain National Park. As the only hotel permitted to operate within the boundaries of the word-renowned Heritage site, the lodge enjoys the very best of magnificent, panoramic ocean views, as well as access to the natural beauty found along the mountainside's winding hiking trails. With ten beautifully appointed suites and one regal presidential suite - all of which have been freshly re-furbished from floor to ceiling - Tintswalo Atlantic offers the luxuries of a world-class hotel, with personalized service and attention to detail. Managed by a host of dedicated staff, Tintswalo Atlantic offers guests nothing less than true Tintswalo hospitality, from the moment that they arrive at this seaside paradise. Enjoy sundowners on the deck beside the heated pool and share cooking tips with the charming Executive Chef, venture out to the quaint Hout Bay village, or take a drive to the nearby Cape Winelands for an unforgettable wine-tasting adventure. Located just a short, scenic drive from the vibrant city of Cape Town, guests can also embark on a suburban adventure into the heart of one of South Africa's most exciting and eclectic cultures. Having been described as the most dramatic and romantic destination in Southern Africa, Tintswalo Atlantic promises to remain an idyllic location to rejuvenate oneself, away from the stresses and distractions of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tintswalo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Atlantic Hotel Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing