We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Villa Afrique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Afrique
Ranked #22 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wow! What an amazing guest house! What incredible hosts! Thank you so much for your absolutely beautiful guest home and the exceptional hospitality. We just loved the rich comfort of your rooms and commend you on the outstanding attention to detail…… it is all so beautiful and we wanted for nothing. The set-up was perfect for our needs…. Thank you for making the accommodation work for us. Thank you for going the extra mile!
Breakfast was delicious and the homely atmosphere was very much enjoyed and appreciated… it really felt like home away from home.
Thank you so much. We had a very fruitful time away and managed to do quite a bit of planning for next year.
We salute you for your level of excellence!
Dalene

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was the third time that my wife and I visited Villa Afrique and let me immediately say, we will keep on going back. This guesthouse is Five Star and more in all respects - from the moment you enter the front door. We have had the privilege to travel extensively across Europe and must say that we are yet to experience similar luxury, hospitality and quality. Deon and Alma have certainly mastered the art of exceptional hospitality and excellence. it is obvious from the furnishing and decor in the rooms and the breakfast that Alma is a perfectionist. This place is just exceptional The views from the breakfast area are fantastic despite the working harbour. In fact, we found the view of the harbour very romantic, providing the perfect scenario for a beautiful picture against the background of the surrounding mountains. I must say that on 3 visits we are yet to experience the so-called noise from the harbour.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjcmeiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We arrived here as walk ins quite late having found nowhere to stay in Camps Bay or Cape Town due to the opening of Parliament. It was during the end of the summer season and we were getting desperate . However, what a find !
The attention to detail is incredible and the furniture exquisite . Alma was an amazing host and always ready to help with anything to help you enjoy your stay . Furthermore the breakfast was
delicious with a level of service I have not experienced anywhere else in the world.
Unfortunately we could only stay one night due to full occupancy but directly next door is Alma's daughter who has a 4 star b and b which was also excellent in its own right and allows you to use the small pool and garden of Villa Afrique .
Alex and Angharad
South Wales

Room Tip: Great restaurant on the wharf opposite !
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I treated our self's to a weekend at Villa Afrique. We blown away but the service we were treated to. From the very moment we walk in the front door we were warmly welcomed by Alma. Her attention to the smallest detail shows in every aspect of Villa Afrique. Not to mention the wonderful breakfast we enjoyed around the pool. Alma and her husband Deon are always there to answer any questions we had on what to do for the day or where to eat. We enjoyed the privacy we were give and will be staying there again when next in town.

Many thanks Alma and Deon for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Alma into her beautiful home. we have stayed in many places including very expensive hotels, but nothing can compare to the friendliness and attention to detail we found here. Everthing was spotlessly clean and the breakfast and presentation should be what every establishment should strive to achieve. We felt we had been staying in the beautiful home of very good friends. We would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed for the second time in Villa Afrique, because for us it is one of the best B&B's around Cape Town. Alma is a great host and let you feel at home from the first start.
It is situated at a great place near Capa Town, Chapman's Peak and other touristique venues.
When in South Africa again, we certainly come back.
Joke and Roel.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are of high quality/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I am sure that Alma the owner spends half of day checking around if everything is in order, ad the ramains of her day is probably spent in giving advices to her guests and solving their problems.... A place were you feel at home. A beautitiful, charming home. Thanks Alma and Deon

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotbod1, Owner at Villa Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

We, at Villa Afrique would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor.
Your possitive comments are really appreciated and it was a pleasure to have you as a guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#7 of 59 in Hout Bay
196 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Afrique

Address: 29 Sluysken Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £127 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Afrique 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 5 Star Luxury Guest House is situated in Hout Bay, a fishing village in the Western Cape. Villa Afrique offers you panoramic views over the bay, beach, working harbour and surrounding mountains. Spacious well appointed rooms, all sea facing with tea tray, complimentary sherry, safe, towel gowns, hair dryer and crisp percale Egyptian cotton linen. The en-suite bathrooms have underfloor heating and heated towel rails as well as a separate shower and Victorian bath.There are numerous activities available in the area from hiking up the famous Chapmans Peak, cycling, deep sea fishing and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Afrique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Afrique Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing