We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kronendal Heritage Estate
Ranked #15 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've visited this awesome resort for the first time and have been truly impressed by the beauty of the estate and the hospitality of its hosts.
I will certainly come back and stay a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: I would certainly recommend the beautiful Loft Suite. We had our breakfast enjoying the breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Loft did not smell fresh, a bit stale. Bathroom was not crisp and clean with mould in corners of the shower which was hardly having water pressure so you need to run to get wet.
Lampshades were broken, tv had almost no channels and the ones that did work had bad reception. DVD player not working at all, Wifi reception not working and from the main house very poor. Staff was helpfully (to be a little positive) . 5 stars? you must be kidding..........

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stumbled across this place when trying to find accommodation for the Cape Argus week and chose it based on the reviews it has already received. They were not wrong. A fabulous property nested away in the hills above Hout Bay, it is a very sympathetic conversion of a set of traditional estate buildings that both preserves the character of the buildings and yet provides every modern amenity. The suites are wonderful - I initially had a set of rooms at the back of the property but was then transferred to a much superior suite {Uthando} at the front. This was amazing - a huge lounge/dining room with kitchenette + a massive bedroom + bathroom all beautifully appointed. Breakfast was bought to you every morning on the terrace - the highlight was the yoghurt and granola washed down with an enormous pot of coffee. Maggie is a very kind and gracious host and I honestly cannot fault the service and location. It is a little way out of the centre of Hout Bay though walkable during the day. Taxis are readily available for the evening. Superb memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: My initial suite at the back was perfectly fine though the Uthando suite gets the vote from me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived without a reservation and we were greeted perfectly. We stayed in the 'loft' which was beautiful..big living area with a luxury bedroom and bathroom all open plan. We had a huge private sun terrace…all was fab. The same staff served us a lovely breakfast each morning. We were greeted each time we came back by the 2 resident dogs Duke & Diana…the softest natured dogs you could meet. Beautiful pool…2 emu's to feed (no joke). Perfectly located in the middle of Hout Bay.
The owners were always very hospitable and friendly. 10/10

Room Tip: Best view was from our room which had a sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kronendal Heritage Estate. We, a family of five, stayed here for 5 nights in December. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Rooms were clean, large and well decorated. The staff, especially Cecilia, and the owners were very friendly and service was impeccable. Houtbay is a nice place to stay, close to Cape Town and Camps Bay, the latter being more fashionable but less "African" than Houtbay, which has a very nice harbour and beach. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This place is a true escape from stress and big city life... We stayed in the loft-suite with our own big terrass where kind Cecilia served our breakfast. The pool area is absolutely fantastic. The only negative point is that it is pretty far from central Hout Bay/ harbour.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I just stayed here for only two nights on the last days of our vacation. It is absolutely wonderful. We really just stayed on property and didn't go anywhere since we had done everything touristy earlier in the trip. We ordered in food from Home Hero's that will collect food from different restaurants in the area and relaxed in the cottage suite. There are two very nice dogs that walk around the property (Duke and Diana are their names). Cecilia and Beauty are the best. What ever you need they will be there for you. Jacob lives on site and is also the grounds keeper.

I do suggest that you rent a car if you stay here. We did not want to risk driving since the roads are backwards from the US, so we took a taxi everywhere. I found one good taxi driver in Cape Town on my first day and I asked him to be my driver while in town. We used him for everything and he never tried to rip us off (consistent business).

Again if you need a little R&R then this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksul7784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronendal Heritage Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronendal Heritage Estate

Property: Kronendal Heritage Estate
Address: Southern Cross | Valley Road 27, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kronendal Heritage Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem is nestled in the lush vegetation of a romantic park-like garden with breathtaking views of the Cape mountains. At Kronendal Heritage, you can indulge in daydreams next to the pool, smell the passionate fragrances of lavender, hibiscus and frangipani in the lovingly kept garden or watch the local Emus strut around the Country Estate.Each of Kronendal's five luxurious suites are - depending on size - equipped with separate lounge and bedroom and a spacious private terrace, furnished with antiques, original art and carefully selected accessories. Enjoy the untouchable privacy the lush interiors of the roomy suites have to offer. Kronendal Heritage is the perfect place for discerning guests looking for exclusive privacy. It is far enough from the tourist mass attractions to offer complete relaxation, yet near enough to all the local hot spots such as the beach, the Hout Bay harbour, the village with its shops and restaurants, and of course the scenic Chapman's Peak Drive. You won't believe you're only 20 minutes from Cape Town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kronendal Heritage Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronendal Heritage Estate Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing