We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER THAN THE FIRST TIME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We revisited Riverside this year and have booked for 2012 already. The new Management of the estate have managed in a very short time to improve things even more. The staff as always are an absolute delight to deal with; nothing is too much trouble. The Tree House is always our choice of accomodation and this time was an enjoyable a choice as last year. The gardens and pools are beautifully maintained and the staff do everything that needs doing without being obtrusive. Maintenance has vastly improved as well and it shows. The reception area is now in the beautiful main house; a very smart move as the first view as you go down the driveway is this house and you are immediately drawn to it. All in all, a wonderful, peaceful place and we cannnot wait to get back. WELL DONE!!!!!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunloverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Shannon,
Thank you very much for your review in 2011. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have even made more changes, refurbished some rooms, all have new mattresses ect. We would like to take this opportunity to let you know that with your next visit to Riverside, you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. We hope to see you soon. Best regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

We held a Board meeting at this wonderful venue. The setting is absolutely amazing and the service was really exceptional. The staff was always friendly and no request was too much.

The food served was excellent and very tasty

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternCapeFundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Western Cape Fundi,
Many Thanks for your review on your conference in 2011. Blessed 2014 to you and your family. I am the new manager and at the time of your conference was not yet affiliated to Riverside. I would like to take this opportunity and invite you again bearing in mind you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply email reservations.
Best regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This unique gem of a guest house is so much more than your regular 4 star establishment. The first thought when we entered the property was "what a stunning place". The huge trees everywhere truly makes you feel like you're entering the garden of Eden.

The main building, named "Lothlorien" (very poetic, I thought!), houses guest rooms and reception. We stayed in the Treehouse, a beautiful wooden cabin surrounded by what feels like a forest, and a real treat was the huge deck and superb private splashpool. Both our rooms were en-suite, and being two girls it was fantastic not to have to fight over a bathroom! The attention to detail makes you realise a lot of love and thought has gone into making the experience of staying here a special one. From the beautiful wine glasses and the Weber barbeque on the deck, to a lovely basket of treats that was waiting for us on arrival.

The gardens are huge and really beautiful. We especially loved the lavender-lined garden paths, and were told by Robert (general manager), that the minty smelling ground covers planted between the garden path tiles were especially selected to make your feet smell nice after you've taken a stroll... And it really does! This would be an amazing venue for a wedding or special event. We had a delicious English breakfast on the restaurant deck, overlooking yet another beautiful garden.

What makes this guest house really special though, is the service. The staff are superb and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Monzi at reception was always smiling and friendly, and ready to help whenever we needed something.

I thoroughly recommend this gem of a guest house to anyone wanting to experience something special, we cannot wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Zephnie,
Many thanks for your awesome review in 2011. This is much appreciated. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have made some changes and acquired brand new Cloud 9 mattresses. All the more reason for you to visit us again, bearing in mind you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply mail Angela at reception. We hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Had a superb stay.Riverside is a hidden gem,the gardens are spectacular,my accomodation was great and the staff were more than accomodating and made me feel most welcome.It's a great place to re-charge one's batteries and I was able to achieve good results with my associates at the pratical conference centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Dealco,
Many Thanks for your review in 2011. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have bettered our wi-fi as well as upgraded mattresses ect. We would like you to do another site visit and should you plan another conference to look at our amazing conference packages. Our return guests qualifies for a discounted rate. look forward in seeing you again. Best regards Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights at the Paddock Lodge Room no.3.
Just beside this room (just separated by a door), there is the breakfast room. Every morning at 6 o'clock the staff started preparing the breakfast. You could here more or less everything what happened in the kitchen, even smell when the coffe was ready. On Sunday evening they had a kitchen party till 10 p.m.
Should you love things like this, go there and ask for this room.
There was a conference on the weekend, so everybody was bussy with them. Do'nt expect to see somebody from the staff. This is a good location for conferences and weddings, but not for individual travellers

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Mr Herbel,
Thank you for your feedback and as you well know we have made the changes on your second visit. Many thanks as well for your review on 22 November 2011 on your return visit. We would like and take this opportunity to wish you and your family a blessed 2014. please take note that we offer our return clients a discounted rate, simply email reservations and refer to trip Advisor. Best regards, Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I'm a Scio Practioner that works in the Vish Hoek nd Hout Bay eare every 7weeks. It's wonderfull to be able to go to Riverside and feel at home. Surounded by beauty. It's peacefull and serene, what I need to do my work. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. I love the feeling of warmth and homeliness.
I love going thre.
Thank you for your wonderfull hospitality.
Adrian

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELINGSCIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Adrian,
Many thanks for the beautiful words in 2010. Although we are already in February 2014 Riverside would like to take the opportunity and wish you and your family a blessed 2014. I am the new General Manager (2 years already) and we have done some awesome changes to the guest house. Should you decide to visit Hout Bay again, you are entitled to a discounted rate when staying at Riverside. Simply mail us and refer to our discussion.
Best Regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Having recently visited Riverside I feel that it is just the perfect venue for a wedding. It’s approx. 20 min out off Cape Town but really feels like another world. The main building is a beautiful white, well maintained Cape Dutch Building. There is a pool and a little pavillion in the beautiful lush garden. The staff are so friendly and helpfull and I would feel very comfortable arranging my wedding at Riverside.
So if you are planning to get married – Riverside Estates is definitly an option....

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank Nora8005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Nora,
Many thanks for your kind words in October 2010. Although 3 and a half years later and well into 2014, we would like to take the opportunity to wish you and your family a blessed 2014. I am sure you are married by now, if not, please come and see how we have brought along changes to make Riverside one of the most beautiful wedding venues. Also on your next visit you are entitled to a discounted rate, simply quote our conversation. Best Regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
158 reviews
2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 60 in Hout Bay
570 reviews
1 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 60 in Hout Bay
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#15 of 60 in Hout Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa (Formerly Riverside Estates)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Boutique Hotel, an elegant Conference, Function and Wedding Venue, an established haven, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town’s jewel – the beautiful valley of Hout bay. Our core values include Eco-sustainability, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment and romance. A place where guests become friends. Experience the magic with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Boutique Hotel Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing