We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful retreat”
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #13 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beautiful retreat”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great place, service is nice and staff is very friendly.. Big problem was that our room had no air conditioner! It's like we were
living in the 19th century or something.. Upon check-in when I complained about the AC, I was told that they would arrange some "coolers". A few hours later some one showed up with a cheap stand fan. This really didn't help much until about 3am when it started raining outside and cooled the place down. This is when I finally got some sleep..

That aside, nice place, beautiful views of mountain, feels like a secluded retreat but it's not far from the city at all. Staff is extremely friendly and service is very prompt. Just make sure that you get a room with an AC

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Kalaha, Many thanks for your review and it was a real hot summer last year. Best of wishes for you and your family in 2014. We have acquired portable air coolers for this summer for the standard rooms. Please note that on your visit to Riverside again, you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply mail reservations. Best Regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    69
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
74
99
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were blessed to spend 2 glorious weeks @ Riverside Estates - our original booking was for 10 days only but we just had to linger a little longer! We were hooked as soon as we entered the estate: by the sheer beauty of the gardens, the lovely accommodation of the Tree House and the welcoming management and friendly, efficient staff. Safe and enchanting space for kids to roam, lovely pools, yummy breakfasts! To explore Cape Town, just hop onto the red sightseeing bus which conveniently stops right next to Riverside Estates. The perfect place to either just relax & enjoy the beauty that surrounds you or explore all that Hout Bay and the rest of Cape Town has to offer. Needless to say: we've already made our next reservation @ Riverside Estates! Thank you Robert & team!

Room Tip: Specify your requirements properly when making a reservation. This will help Robert & Lieze to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Helene, Many thanks for your review in 2012 and we wish you and your family a blessed 2014. Please know that on your next visit to Riverside you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Love from all the staff to you and you family. Best regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

After our last, not so very nice experience with Riverside Estates, we came back with friends, after we’ve been informed, that the location of the breakfast room has been changed and the management is new. Yes, we’ve been invited to experience the changes and yes we’ve got a special price. But, nobody insisted or even asked us to write a review . This shows me how professional the owner and management are. Who else gives you the chance to See and judge the improvements directly on spot.
This time we had two rooms at the Lothlorien house. The rooms are large with old beautiful furniture and large bathrooms with shower and jacuzzi tubs. Outside there is a wooden terrace with chairs and table.
The breakfast room has been moved to the main house, closed to the kitchen, where no guest can be disturbed any more. The manager (I’ve forgotten her name) was always somewhere around and you could address any requests.
All in all, good changes that make, from our point of view, Riverside Estates again a recommendable stay at Hout Bay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Mr Herbel,
Many Thanks for your review in 2012. Best of wishes to you and your family for 2014. We have made amazing changes to Riverside in the past 2 years. Please know that on your next visit to Riverside that you entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply email reservations. Best Regards,
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I recently visited Cape town and decided to stay slightly outside the madness of the city and came across Riverside Estates, I have to advise anyone looking for a truly serene and lovely experience to stay here, everything from the food, the service to the decor and architechure here was stunning and 5 star, it is truly a one of a kind resort managed by a few of the loveliest people ive met in my life. It has a warm and homely feeling at the same time as giving you as much peace and quiet as you could wish for.
Two massive thumbs up, thanks riverside and especially liza who took care of me so well!!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning and unique, i chose the guesthouse but if you wanted to stay with a family th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natasharose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Natasha,
Many thanks for your beautiful review in 2011. A blessed 2014 for you and your family. The dogs sends their regards as well. Please know that with your next visit to Riverside, that you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply email Angela at Reception. We hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

all starts with a sunny morning smile around a great breakfast and goes on with the feeling sharing friendship, I will definetely come back! and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Daniel,
Many Thanks for your review in 2011. We will not forget you and the perfumes!! hopefully you are settled into Knysna with your family. A blessed 2014 for you and your family. Please note that on your next visit to Cape Town, Riverside is offering their loyal guests a discounted rate.
Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arrived late on a Friday night and were met by the manager Robert who showed us to our room. It was a peaceful and relaxing weekend. Breakfeast was great, staff very friendly and helpful. We will certainly be back .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Manny, many thanks for your review in 2011. Blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have made some more changes to Riverside and have acquired new mattresses. please note that on your return visit, you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Best Regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We revisited Riverside this year and have booked for 2012 already. The new Management of the estate have managed in a very short time to improve things even more. The staff as always are an absolute delight to deal with; nothing is too much trouble. The Tree House is always our choice of accomodation and this time was an enjoyable a choice as last year. The gardens and pools are beautifully maintained and the staff do everything that needs doing without being obtrusive. Maintenance has vastly improved as well and it shows. The reception area is now in the beautiful main house; a very smart move as the first view as you go down the driveway is this house and you are immediately drawn to it. All in all, a wonderful, peaceful place and we cannnot wait to get back. WELL DONE!!!!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunloverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Shannon,
Thank you very much for your review in 2011. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. We have even made more changes, refurbished some rooms, all have new mattresses ect. We would like to take this opportunity to let you know that with your next visit to Riverside, you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. We hope to see you soon. Best regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Property: Riverside Estates
Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing