We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hout Bay's Best Kept Secret”
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #12 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I've been to Cape Town before and loved it but this trip was even more unforgettable as we stayed at the Riverside Estate in Hout Bay--just 25 mins from downtown Cape Town. This boutique hotel provides amazing personal attention to the guests, our large group felt so welcome and cared for. They were able to fulfill each and every request we made from taking my mobile phone to be fixed, taking us into the Hout Bay market, bringing us extra blankets and hot water bottles on chilly nights, the list goes on and on. My family have lived internationally for 20 years and we have stayed in all levels of hotels--this one is a stand-out. Can't wait for another opportunity to visit South Africa again, will definitely be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plumvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Lisa,
Many Thanks for your beautiful review. It was great having you and all the other yogis as our guests. The energy still vibrates in the soil - and yogi tea has become a menu item. We will definitely see you and your family on your next visit. Love from the staff.
Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at the Riverside Estate for a retreat in September 2013. The staff, location, facilities and food were outstanding. I could not recommend this place more highly. Easy distance to Hout Bay too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 896andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Andrew,

Many Thanks for your review. It was truly a honour to host the group. The energy is still present and so the cinnamon smell too. We are looking forward to the next school. Also please come and visit when you are in Cape Town again and experience our summer menu. It was lovely meeting you.

Love and regards from our team.

Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Riverside is most definitely one of those places that ensures that you will return. Rob and his staff were great and our group (10 people) were treated like royalty. Thanks guys. See you soon (hopefully)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Charl,

Many thanks for the review. It was great having 10 Rugby supporters visiting. The staff are still talking about all the jokes and fun they had with your group. Be sure that on your next visit you are entitled to 10% discount. Greetings to all of the guys.

Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Riverside. The estate is beautiful and tranquil, the staff are friendly and helpful and the place is well run and organised.

I felt well rested on the day of my departure and would return there any time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Marinda,

It was a pleasure having you at Riverside. In spite of the scary storm you did not even wanted to be moved around to an upper room. You were truly a blessing and tonic to the staff. We look forward in you visiting again.

Many Thanks
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our first time at Riverside was June 2012 for our wedding night. We stayed in the loft and it was such a lovely experience. Angela and Cobus were very helpful and friendly. We decided to stay again this year for a night in celebration of our first wedding anniversary and we will definitely be coming back every year to celebrate. The honeymoon suite was FABULOUS! Cobus was a STAR , breakfast was really tasty and such a warm experience overall. The little touches of lavender in the room is excellent. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so inviting. We cannot wait to come back again!

Room Tip: The loft was rustic and cosy and the Lotherien (I think it's called) was warm, spacious and perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear Lana,

Many Thanks for your review upon your last visit. I am so grateful to know that guests enjoy themselves at our guest house. Cobus and Angela are truly a blessing and find their pleasure in serving guests. Also please know that on your next visit your are entitled to a 10% discount.

Best Regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We enjoyed a lovely little cottage called the 'River'. With our own private patio under the trees and by a stream. We were entertained by the antics of the many squirrels and at night were joined by the owls. Our cottage consisted of an entry, separate bathroom, large bedroom, sitting room for 2 and a galley style kitchen decked out with all the necessities. To get to the dining area we had a lovely walk between the lavender hedges. Breakfast was delicious, in abundant supply and variety. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and welcoming. Riverside Estate is situated away from the hussle and bustle of town but just a short drive in for necessities. If we make it back to South Africa this is one place I'd love to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Rosemary,

Many thanks for your review about Riverside and our staff. This is truly a lovely cottage to stay in and as you say, squirrels at day and the owls at night with the cobbling of the stream. It is great to hear that our guests appreciate all the facilities and that the staff is sincere. We have over the 2 past years built up a wonderful family and all are service orientated. We would love to be your hosts on your next visit to South Africa. Please also take note that there is a 10% discount on repeat guests. We hope you're feet are up and you are unwinding back in Perth.

Best regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have never had such a warm and welcoming experience, and feeling so at home with my stay at Riverside, the garden the bedrooms the dogs all so unique in their own way.

Breakfast is served with such a friendley face(Robert), the smell of the Lavender is perfect for your surroundings.

Will deff come again, this time it will be for more then 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Annie,

Many Thanks for your review. It is wonderful to know that guests enjoy this wonderful serene environment. It will be only our pleasure to have you at Riverside again for more than one night. All our return guests are entitled to a 10% discount and please contact us for all our amazing winter specials for eg, pay for 2 and stay for 3 and many more. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Robert Veldman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.2 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
546 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 59 in Hout Bay
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Montebello
Villa Montebello
#15 of 59 in Hout Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £91 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing