We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Shepherds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #13 of 57 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“The Shepherds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We enjoyed our 9 day stay. The staff were friendly and always ready to help. Our accomodation was clean and well appointed. Our ony disappoinment was we couldnt get some of the TV channels we wanted. Breakfast was excellent and the grounds and pool area very relaxing. We will come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr & Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs S,
Many thanks for your review on Riverside. I appreciate your comment on the television channels in the majority of our rooms that only includes 10 channels. We will definitely change the package to satisfy long stays like yours. Please know that with you next visit you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply contact us. Best regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    69
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
74
97
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sylt, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a beautiful place in a pleasant and relaxing ambience in best location. Such a marvellous hospitality from everybody (in particular Monica)!! The best breakfast in South Africa. I really look forward to get back. Best wishes Salam

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Salam,
Many thanks for your kind words. Monica also sends her regards. Please know that you are entitled to a discounted loyalty rate on your next visit to Riverside. We are also improving our breakfast to soon supply the best of our local produce. look forward in seeing you again. Best regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at riverside estates for 3 nights and Robert the manager went out of his way to make this a most enjoyable stay, it was like home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for Robert and he was always available to help with restaurant suggestions and bookings.
the breakfast is fabulous with a choice of hot breakfasts and fresh coffee made to your liking. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and clean. The only negative was the pool was cold, otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Jenny,
Many thanks for your review on our Guest House. We are glad you are safely back in the UK. Please remember on your next visit that you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate.
Best Regards to your partner as well. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

It took us a while to find your place since it was dark. When we arrived we were intrigued by the warm reception, the noble old sphere and architecture and in the morning by the wonderful garden and the spacious pool. I think next time we spend some more time at R.E.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Frank,
Many Thanks for your review above. Hout Bay has no street lights and this makes it difficult to see at night. Luckily we have the huge light box with our name on the street side. It makes us proud to prove to our guests that they are important and to make them feel a home away from home. Please take note on your next visit to Riverside Estates you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply email reservations. We are wishing you and your family a blessed 2014 and look forward in seeing you again.
Best Regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

An overall feeling of a byegone era - warm, welcoming, rich in detail. Set in imaculate gardens with two pools, the Cape-Dutch architecture was enchanting. The staff were friendly and caring. The room was spacious, comfortably decorated and clean with a very comfortable bed. The red open-top tour bus stops outside the gate and the surrounding suburb was enchanting for my morning jog with mountains all around and lovely old trees in abundance. The breakfasts were excellent and the in-house meals we enjoyed as part of our conference were outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Rob,

Many Thanks for your review on our guest house. It was a pleasure hosting the group. The mind mapping method of conferencing is very exciting. We are ready for the next group and cannot wait to see the response after being used to old boring conferences. We are looking forward to your next visit and to meet your wife. All of the best to you and your family.
Regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muizenberg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was the most relaxing experience I had in years. The service was excellent. The staff was most accomodating, friendly and respectful. Its a place that I would recommend to any of my friends and family members who is looking for serenity and just simply wanting to chill. The room/s were beautifully layed out, omplementing the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shamilah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Shamilah, Many Thanks for your beautiful review. There is something about our little paradise nestled between the two mountains and the the ravine that makes it tranquil. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next chilling out session. Please know that you are entitled to a loyalty discount, simply email Angela at reception. Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

There was such a warm welcome in the hotel, I was pleased right away. Tim was giving me some good advice what to do/where to go and I had such a great time and enjoyed each place he recommended a lot - fantastic days.
The whole team was very kind, the breakfast is great, I liked the charme of the old buildings. It's a good place to relax! Unfortunately I had not enough time for enjoying the nice garden with the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Alexis,
Many Thanks for your review on our little paradise. It is our aim to keep guests satisfied and it is so inspiring to us having this feedback. On your next visit you are entitled to a discounted rate and hopefully can fit in 1 or 2 more days to lounge in the sun next to the pool.
Best regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 57 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 57 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 57 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Property: Riverside Estates
Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing