We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serenity”
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #12 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“serenity”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very relaxing & peaceful enviroment.
Our needs were awesomely taken care of prior to arrival, which impressed us.
The staff were very friendly, helpful & pleasant.
The Cottage was nice, cosey & well arranged.
A must, destination for any family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Bevin,
Many thanks for your review. I have a wonderful staff compliment and a great team. Our aim is to make your experience an unforgettable one. Please know that all our loyal guests are entitled to loyalty discounted rate when you next visit us, simply email Bradley at reservations. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    69
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
74
101
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stuje1
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staff was amazing at Riverside Estates. We were staying in Camps Bay and didn't have a way to get to hout bay and it was pouring rain. They came out to Camps Bay and picked us up and would not even accept money for gas! Then we got upgraded to a much bigger room cause the place was a bit slow (it being the middle of winter). At night, we wanted some food and they ordered delivery from a local restaurant for us and then brought it to us on a nice tray with silverware and everything. The room and estate itself is very nice and is very well decorated in a Victorian style. The only one negative is it is a bit of a long walk to town/harbor, but it is definitely doable or a short cab ride/drive. Overall a wonderful stay and would definitely stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Stuje,
Many thanks for the great review you left on Trip Advisor. We sincerely hope you've enjoyed the short while you were with us. Please take note that all return guests are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply email our reservations. We are looking forward to your next visit to Cape Town and Riverside. Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had the opportunity of staying in Room 3 for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. From the minute we made our reservation with Bradley to wonderful English breakfast, everything was magnificent. The General Manager (Robert) is a great host and made us feel at home. The only constructive feedback that I have is that we were not so impressed with guest amenities in the bathroom, it had a bit of a weird smell, but this is probably only personal preference and will remember to take our own products with our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jeanette,
Many thanks for your review above. Being at riverside all the time we sometimes forget about the smaller details and become "shop blind". Thank you for the honesty about the amenities - without our guests comments we would never know about this. Bradley has already sourced new biodegradable amenities and we will soon change to these. On your next visit please let us know your experience with the new amenities. Also take note that on your next visit you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply email reservations (Bradley). It was lovely meeting you and we will keep you updated with all our winter activities should you have a break and visit.
Best regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, excellent location. Beautiful gardens. Spacious bedrooms, clean linen. Tasteful breakfast and very interesting people visiting the estate. Overall an experience never to forget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Monica,
Many thanks for your review and visiting our special estate. Yes indeed there are weird and wonderful people visiting our little paradise. Please know that on your next visit you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply mail us. Wonderful winter to you.
Regards, Robert veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

On Saturday evening I celebrated my 70th birthday with 37 friends. It was a marvellous evening enjoyed by all many of whom have since commented on what a wonderful venue this was and what great service we got from the entire staff. We also took six rooms for the night, the accommodation was good and the breakfast also enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandragCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sandra,
Many thanks for your kind words. Your birthday party indeed was a blast. All your guests were so appreciative of every little small thing we did. It is guests like you who makes the hospitality group feel it is worth to walk the extra mile. All the staff sends their love and thank you for all your kind input. Best regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The service from the General Manager was excellent, immediate follow up and fast efficient and friendly service. Being in managment team at another hotel myself, my eyes are quite open to a few things I saw a few things that can take attention.
-No Hot water on our honeymoon as they forgot to switch over from solar. We were given a big sorry for this, but policy can make sure this never happends.
-the gardens and grounds can take a face lift and attention to more detail.
-Insufficient lighting at breakfast table (Great breakfast)

Other than that, a very great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dewet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Dewet,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely hope you have enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. After upgrading you to our luxury rooms (only one ones with solar panels) from the standards rooms (which have heat pumps) there was a power failure during the stormy night causing the geysers to not switch on again. Being in the industry yourself you would know that these unfortunate incidents happens and thank you for letting me know early in the morning. Unfortunately the geysers takes about a hour and half to warm up. It was really a pity you had to leave so early - it would have been great showing you the rest of our grounds with all the green initiatives we are busy with. Please know that on your next visit you are entitles to a complimentary night as well as a loyalty discounted rate for the rest of your stay - simple contact me. Best Regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We enjoyed our 9 day stay. The staff were friendly and always ready to help. Our accomodation was clean and well appointed. Our ony disappoinment was we couldnt get some of the TV channels we wanted. Breakfast was excellent and the grounds and pool area very relaxing. We will come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr & Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs S,
Many thanks for your review on Riverside. I appreciate your comment on the television channels in the majority of our rooms that only includes 10 channels. We will definitely change the package to satisfy long stays like yours. Please know that with you next visit you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply contact us. Best regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 59 in Hout Bay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#7 of 59 in Hout Bay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Property: Riverside Estates
Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing