We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views in a peaceful and magical environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cap Serein Guest House
Ranked #15 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Wonderful place!!! Easy access to all the "must visit" areas near and around CT without having to face the City highways in peak traffic!!!!Thank you for your hospitality! Your spotless Guest House beats any 5-Star Hotel!! Once again a sincere thank you!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank johannesburgSofitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Cap Serine. The room I stayed in was gorgeous; wonderful space, an excellent newly furnished bathroom and a very comfy bed. Petra and Kurt are excellent hosts and ensured that all my needs were met. Breakfast was really nice with an excellent selection on offer. There is both a swimming pool and Jacuzzi on offer to relax in. The view from the guesthouse is stunning, with good company, a nice glass of South African wine provided everything required for a perfect evening! I will definitely be staying again in the future and I would highly recommend to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We spent 8 days at this beautiful guest house which was ideally situated for Hout Bay and Constantia. Our room was really comfortable and we were well looked after during our time here. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobandmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay in South Africa. Due to a booking mistake on our part we found ourselves without reservations during the peak holiday season. Fortunately with much luck on our part we found Cap Serein Guest House in Hout Bay. We were delighted in our stay. The location puts you not only in a beautiful spot but you also can get to all the highlights that one desires be it exploring the beaches, going to the wine country, Table Mountain, downtown Cape Town, etc. Petra was wonderful and gave us excellent advice on where to go and what to do. Don't miss dining at their restaurant in Hout Bay. Wonderful food! We hope to go back for another visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage called Marseille. Loved it. Very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I do not write many reviews on trip advisor , especially critical reviews because most guest houses and hotels are trying to offer the best possible experience for their guests in these difficult financial times. However when we encounter excellence we feel obliged to share our experience .
We recently stayed for 4 nights at Cap Serein and had the privilege to meet Petra who welcomed us to her beautiful guest house. One could spend hours writing in great detail but if one is travelling to Cape Town why not experience for yourselves this stunning guest house with fantastic facilities to suit all guests, and located in the most beautiful part of Cape Town .You will not be disappoined this place is fantastic.
Thank you Petra for your wonderful hospitality.
Lloyd , Trish & Hannah.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnysnaStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Cap Serein is a peaceful, picturesque haven overlooking Hout Bay. Petra and Kurt are delightful hosts, who make you feel very welcome and offer unintrusive help and advice. This is an ideal place from which to enjoy the ambiance of Hout Bay and the superb surrounding countryside all the way down to the tip of the Cape Peninsula; into Cape Town or across to False Bay. The Guest House is an ideal place in which to relax amidst stunning scenery.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnK199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Found Cap Serein thru the information booth in Haut Bay. Very good instructions to find it rather hidden high in the beautiful hills overlooking the bay. Friendly welcome to 4 travel weary Americans. We loved the view, the serenity and privacy. The rooms were immaculate, the showers were large, clean and upscale. The breakfasts were plentiful, varied for most careful eaters, with special baked goodies for those of us who indulge!
We visited Cape Town, Tabletop, the wharf and other sites and never found time to enjoy the pool. But our day trips were conveniently close. If you are a jogger/walker you'll find challenging gorgeous places just outside the gate. Ron & Bev Chandler and guests.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
4.7 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
588 reviews
2 mi away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#24 of 59 in Hout Bay
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
MooiBaai
MooiBaai
#17 of 59 in Hout Bay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Serein Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Serein Guest House

Address: 17 Saddlers Row, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £67 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cap Serein Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on the mountain slopes overlooking the fishing port of Hout Bay, the only noise you’ll encounter here is chirping birds and the occasional splash from the koi ponds. Recently restored in the style of Provence, Cap Serein is about peace, quiet and exceptional cuisine. Each spacious suite and cottage at Cap Serein comes with a Satellite TV, tea/coffee facilities and a private patio. They either overlook the Atlantic, the mountains or the guest house’s gardens. Expect superb breakfasts in our sunroom, with cooked fare and a selection of home-baked pastries. You can also see Kurt’s dinner menu and decide if you’d like to stay in for the evening. We have options for everyone; ranging from three-course meals to a simple snack to end the day. After a dip in the pool, guest can relax on the sun terrace or enjoy a night in our jacuzzi.The shady garden is full of nooks and crannies, with plenty of corners where you can lose yourself in a good book or simply relax under Cape Town's sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cap Serein Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Serein Guest House Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing