We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already planning our next trip there...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap Serein Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cap Serein Guest House
Ranked #14 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Already planning our next trip there...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thank you Kurt & Petra for a wonderful time in Hout Bay. The room was beautiful and we enjoyed the fireplace and of course the scumptios breakfast (especially the scones).
The B&B is located close to the Cape Town tour bus stop which made is very easy to get around even without a rental car. Kurt & Petra also offer little tours in the Cape Town area, we took one to Stellenbosch and loved it! Highly recommended ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the double room. There was only one bedside lamp and the Wi-Fi in the public areas worked very badly. We tried to connect on 2 mobile phones a laptop and a tablet but the signal was very weak and we had difficulty connecting. There is a possibility to have a meal there. The meal was very good but cost more than in the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchies9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We are Cape Town locals and have frequented a number of hotels and bed and breakfasts. I can say with certainty that Cap Serein was impeccable. The small size allows for privacy, which cluttered B&B cannot offer, and they go the extra mile. A friendly face and welcome any time of the day or night you arrive (they accommodate you). The cottages are superb and well stocked with wine, beer, sodas, mineral water, tea and coffee. Your own private veranda where you cannot hear the other guests. A marvelous breakfast with a delight of fresh baked German scones served by a caring hostess.

We had the great fortune of booking 2 nights before and after our wedding day. Petra was so calm, she welcomed each new arrival be it florist, photographer or family member and showed them to our cottage. She made sure there were extra teacups and drinks for all the ladies and made sure the new guest if male could come in and if everyone was dressed. She was an Angel. So calm and reassuring.

I really wished we could have stayed longer. We opted for staying at Cap Serein rather than our wedding venue and it was the best choice ever. I can't wait to go back and try their restaurant. Note they provide bookings for you if you'd like to eat somewhere else and help with tour information and transfers. Their close location to world of birds and the harbour will also mean you get to experience the beautiful side of Houtbay while dining on the best seafood Cape Town can offer.

If you need to choose a place this is it.

Room Tip: Choose Marseiles if you need a separate dining or entertaining room. But all the cottages are marvel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in Feb and was very happy as we had reservations about visiting SA. Cap serein is very secure and although certain parts in Cape town are avoided, the area where they are seems very calm, quiet and safe.
Petra is a wonderful host with no problems with any amount of questions asked.
Kurt is a great chef and the food was excellent either for breakfast or dinner.
The accommodation was well designed, clean with great fittings and a very homely feel.
You certainly need a car when staying here and no shops / restaurants are walking distance.
All in all this is a very good place to base yourself for a cape town visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Cap Serein is a wonderful serene place in Hout Bay! We loved our stay there. The accomodation was very cosy and the Schramm's set everything up for our little son (cottage was provided with extra covers). For any questions we had, the Schramm's were more than willing to help us.
I can hands down recommend Cap Serein for a stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHMyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Cap Serein for nearly three weeks (we had intended on staying for only 10 days but extended due to the VERY positive experience we had). The accommodation was immaculately clean and very homely, we stayed in the private cottage "Marseille" which we found excellent. It is also very private with its own garden. There is a large kingsize bedroom, double shower en suite and a very spacious living area, nothing about the accommodation can be faulted. We started each day with a healthy and filling breakfast which kept us going until lunch, there was also the option of dinner which we did twice and the food was nothing but outstanding and reasonably priced for the quality that you get! We were made feel so welcome by the owners Petra and Kurt and we really felt that they cared about our stay. They were very approachable and always had time for a chat and most importantly a joke. In addition, Petra was super when it came to helping organise trips (winelands and Robben Island). I would highly recommend Cap Serein to anyone who wants to somewhere really relax, I have been thinking about areas for improvement and I can honestly say there are none that come to mind. If you are reading this and would like to verify this recommendation please feel free to contact me on dublinciaranmc@gmail.com.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This location is just South of Cape Town and North of Cape Point. It is the perfect distance from both and not in the busy city center. We spent our evenings enjoying dinner at various restaurants off the Cape and Ocean. The views were amazing. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and assisted me with daily plans and some must see sites. I lost my iPad on the plane in Germany, which had our itenery, and they (our hosts) went out of their way to assist with building a new one and recommending things to do throughout our trip. They made us feel at home! What more can you ask for? Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

Side note, do to many of the stories and comments on hotels and locations about auto thefts, I was particular about booking a gated and secure parking location. This location is fully gated. I never had a concern for safety while there. That was exactly what I was looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#6 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Serein Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Serein Guest House

Property: Cap Serein Guest House
Address: 17 Saddlers Row, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cap Serein Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on the mountain slopes overlooking the fishing port of Hout Bay, the only noise you’ll encounter here is chirping birds and the occasional splash from the koi ponds. Recently restored in the style of Provence, Cap Serein is about peace, quiet and exceptional cuisine. Each spacious suite and cottage at Cap Serein comes with a Satellite TV, tea/coffee facilities and a private patio. They either overlook the Atlantic, the mountains or the guest house’s gardens. Expect superb breakfasts in our sunroom, with cooked fare and a selection of home-baked pastries. You can also see Kurt’s dinner menu and decide if you’d like to stay in for the evening. We have options for everyone; ranging from three-course meals to a simple snack to end the day. After a dip in the pool, guest can relax on the sun terrace or enjoy a night in our jacuzzi.The shady garden is full of nooks and crannies, with plenty of corners where you can lose yourself in a good book or simply relax under Cape Town's sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cap Serein Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Serein Guest House Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing