We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hout Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Exceeds Expectations”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This Backpackers is more like a B&B or guesthouse. Very clean and spacious and well priced.
Hout Bay is also a part of Cape town that makes you feel like you're in a different part of the world and you get to see this very view from the backpackers. The location is perfect...you can walk basically anywhere. I'll definitely go back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    27
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
29
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful location, pretty quiet place, just by the beach, not the best place if you're looking for a party but accomodations are great. Make sure to get surfing lessons! Very helping in gathering some information on things to do in Hout Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katana107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Clean and comfortable beds, our own on suite bathroom and secure location! Communal kitchen, fridge, dining area and tv lounge was more than adequate. Small problem, they don't want you to sleep with your window open if you are on the ground floor in case someone breaks in! Perhaps it's time for burglar bars? It can get hot and stuffy.
Very close to the harbor, beach and shops.
Location is fantastic! This is an upmarket back packers.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just returned from a two month stay at the Hout Bay Backpackers. It is an absolutely amazing place to stay. All the staff, under Sarah's gentle leadership, really go the extra mile to make you feel special. The spacious rooms and common areas are always kept clean and tidy.
The location is excellent, close to amenities with spectacular views of the mountains and harbour. A great place to relax. Sipping a wine, sitting on the balcony watching the mountains change colour at sunset - superb! Very easy to get around from, with buses and taxis at hand.
In addition to Sarah and the wonderful staff I met many wonderful people of all ages, doing a variety of things, studying, volunteering, yatching etc. many new friends. Can't wait to go back again! Thanks Sarah, Clinton, Becky, Ruth and Molly miss you all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed at Hout Bay backpackers with My family in one of the private rooms. We had a very pleasant stay while working as volunteers in Hout Bay. Very clean and tidy rooms, friendly staff and a view to die for! Lots of things to do and very easy to get around. Don't miss the Bay Market on Fridays with live music and great local food! We give Hout Bay our warmest recommendations, give it a try and can almost guarantee that you will not regret it!

Room Tip: The Family Room is spacious and very nice. Big clean bathroom with shower and tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhulthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Amazing place to stay and it feels just like home. Sarah, Becky and Molly (the german shepard) are always around to help out and make things as comfortable as possible. The view from the dorm room is spectacular!!! I couldn't ask for more so i'll definitely be back soon. Thanks Sarah!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank walktheearth312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had an amazing ten days at the backpackers. The room and bathroom were enormous and spotless with loads of cupboards. The views from the deck are stunning. Central for everything. Hosts could not be more helpful and pleasant.All in all a great experience. We would recommend Hout Bay Backpackers to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in the private en suite on the middle floor,on the corner facing the harbour. Brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowgirl5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Backpackers

Property: Hout Bay Backpackers
Address: Corner of Harbour and, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hout Bay Backpacker Lodge is situated a stone's throw away from Hout Bay Beach with uninterrupted views of beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. The Lodge is quiet and comfortable, just 20 minutes from Cape Town and on the public transport route. Our hostel suits budget travelers wanting to experience Hout Bay (restaurants, harbour, beach, Seal Island, World of Birds, etc), discerning backpackers requiring a base from which to hike Table Mountain National Park, bike Chapman's Peak, surf Llandudno and travelers interested in township tours and meeting volunteers working on community development projects.The dormitories all have en-suite bathrooms, sleeping a maximum of 6 people per dorm, we also have 4 en suite private rooms and the communal lounge area has DSTV and a large fireplace. Knowledgable staff are on hand to advise and assist in planning a vast range of activities for you, including: surfing, fishing, diving, sailing, hiking trails, top restaurants, wine and township tours, pubs and if that's not enough, there's loads of live entertainment!Loc al volunteer and language courses are also available. Dune's Lodge, Hout Bayis a 3 star lodge run together with Hout Bay Backpackers and comprises of 4 luxury en-suite rooms with DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms lead out on to a private wooden deck with views of Hout Bay beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Backpackers South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing