We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcome and relaxing surroundings”
Review of The King's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Place
Ranked #30 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful welcome and relaxing surroundings”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Great accommodation, smartly equipped and sited well in beautiful gardens just short drive from Hout Bay .It's great to wake up to the mountain views, just relax by the pool or enjoy Hout Bay with its beach, restaurants and shops. Nearby is Constantia and further afield (like 30 minutes) is Cape Town or the south to the Cape Peninsular. Couldn't be better.
Ian & Kim have looked after us so well during our visits over the last five years and go out of their way to help us.
Already we are looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Don't pick the Pool Room as we want it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drktlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

A wonderful place to stay, a feeling of being in the countryside, without being far from the city and conveniences of stores or restuarants. Friendly staff, always very helpful. A lovely place to just relax at or to use as a base for siteseeing. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny_sassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

One could not ask for more,extremely clean,comfortable,totally relaxing and Kim and Ian are the perfect hosts. We have stayed here 4 times already and will return.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed at Kings Place for 5 days in March 2011 .We were bowled over by the spotless accomodation .Everything we needed to enjoy a self catering holiday was there and more,lovely spacious kitchen ,comfortable lounge and excellent bedroom area.Plenty of space and storage facilities and the huge swimming pool was really welcome in the hot weather.
We will be back later this year.
All round excellence..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My husband and I have the priviledge of staying at The King's Place for an extended period and we loved the gardens and pool area the most. There was plenty of sunny and shady areas for resting in as well as beautiful surroundings of the Hout Bay mountains. You get the feel of a farm-like holiday as well as an upmarket feel to the decor and cottages.

I would highly reccommend staying here! Beautiful and restful!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherNeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our hosts Ian & Kim - wonderfully warm and friendly. The King's Place is perfecly located in Hout Bay. Close to the famous Mariners Wharf and scenic drive up Chapmans Peak!!! Whether we wanted to relax at home (The Kings Place) or enjoy a sunset picnic up Chapmans...everything was a our fingertips! Fine dining to a quick take away. We enjoyed our strolls along the beach and a vigors walk up Constantia with the King's!!! What an incredible holiday we had!!! Thank you Ian & Kim!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The King's Place is a working home: a commercial nursery with greenhouses bursting with plants; stabling, a show ring and paddocks for horses; chickens; ducks and a Koi carp pond — plus a range of understated luxury accommodation for couples, families or groups. We arrived to find we had been upgraded to Valley House 2, the two bedroom part of a larger house sharing an enormous pool that, for the duration of our stay, we had to ourselves! Our portion had a full-size kitchen that made 'self-catering' a reality with top-quality appliances and two full-size bathrooms, one being en-suite to the main bedroom. Through the glass doors in the lounge is a patio and steps down to the pool and on through the hedge to the rest of the property that we were encouraged to visit. From the garden are views up the valley to Constantia Neck, down to the sea at Hout Bay and across to the township. Manager/owners Heather, Kim and Ian were very friendly and helpful, allowing us to use their computer and arranging for the pool to be tidied at a weekend when we arrived. We found the King's Place to be very conveniently located to access the bars, restaurants and shops at Hout Bay, the wineries and woodlands at Constantia, travel the scenic route round Chapman's Peak to the vast expanse of Noordhoek Beach or join the 'sundowners' and surfers on Llandudno beach — or we just chilled-out round the pool. The lush gardens screened visitors to the other facilities on the property so they never intruded on us and the overall experience was that we were part of the community — or as close as you can be on vacation. We had a really great experience at the King's Place and would recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenoreanderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whittlers Lodge
Whittlers Lodge
#17 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#26 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hout Bay Lodge
Hout Bay Lodge
#25 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thulani River Lodge
Thulani River Lodge
#6 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Place

Property: The King's Place
Address: Valley Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Place is a small holding set on 8 acres of prime agricultural land in the lush seaside valley of Hout Bay, Cape Town. We are surrounded by magnificent gardens with views of the back of Table Mountain, the Constantiaberg and the renowned Chapman's Peak. We have 5 self-catering units: 2 one bedroom cottages, 2 x 2 bedroom, 1 x 5 bedroom and an 8 bedroom house. It is the perfect venue for a couple, a family reunion, a small conference or business group or a family getaway. All accommodation at The King's Place is self-catering. It is a luxurious country experience enhanced by carefully selected furnishings and fabrics. Each place has its own entrance and private BBQ area. There are 2 large swimming pools and for the energetic, there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Place Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing