We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th Visit”
Review of The King's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Place
Ranked #29 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We've been staying at King's Place for the last five years. Why do we keep coming back? The accommodation is top rate, the location is ideal, the ambiance created wonderful and the hospitality of Kim and Ian most welcoming. Sometimes it is just myself and my wife and other occasions the whole family, eight adults and one grandchild. The accommodation is flexible for almost any party size.
All units are furnished and equipped to a high standard and well serviced. We particularly appreciate the pool being within yards and being able to relax enjoying the great views.
The location is just minutes from the centre of Hout Bay where we enjoy eating out. We've noticed both the number and the quality of the local restaurants improving year on year.
If you have to shop Constatia's centre is close by and Cape Town thirty minutes away. The Cape Peninsular and Wineland are great day trips within easy reach.
Thank you again to Kim & Ian for achieving just the right balance style and hospitality to make our stays so enjoyable.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drktlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

The houses (we took Valley 1, 2, Kings and Pool) are stylish and well equipped. Valley 1 worked very well with large common living area creating an ideal space for all of us to visit and be together. Also a large diningroom table. Houtbay is also a very good location and overall thanks to Ian and his family who takes a personal interest in keeping the Kings Place good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We spent an amazing week here. We're five siblings and their families: 18 people, 3 generations; we live around the world, in Los Angeles, the Cotswolds (UK), Sydney, Randburg (SA), and Polokwane (also SA). The King's Place offered a combination of houses and apartments that were perfect for us: all beautifully decorated and very highly maintained; we had two swimming pools and a tennis court to our disposal, and games and reading materials, and very well-appointed kitchens (each family took a turn to cook). The location is central: we could drive to Cape Town city or to the Indian Ocean for swimming in 30 minutes, and several grocery stores and coffee places were five minutes away. Some people live here for months, and others come back every year; I can understand why.

Room Tip: There are lots of options; look at the website and phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

For our 6 week stay we needed somewhere we could relax and chill and Valley House 1 provided that in spades. Kim, Ian and their staff made us very welcome and were on hand if necessary to advise and help. The accomodation was spacious, clean, secure and well provided with all you would need including plenty of books. The location was ideal for trips to anywhere on the peninsular and it was only 40 minutes to Stellenbosch and surrounding vineyards. The views of mountains and sea are everywhere. Chapman's Peak can be seen from the house and a walk to the top was one of our most frequent walks, together with the contour path to Kirstenbosch. This was our first trip to South Africa and Kim and Ian will be the hosts for our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikejdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at in Valley House 1 for six weeks and had a wonderful time. The house is extremely comfortable and well equipped and is suitable for large parties. It was an excelent base in Cape Town and Hout Bay itself is ideally suited for young children with the activity at the Harbour keeping them entertained for hours. Kim and Ian were most helpful hosts. Thoroughly recommmended.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank djh301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed at Kings Place for our second visit this year.Down in Cape Town for Grandaughters wedding.It was an oasis of tranquility where we could simply relax in beautiful surroundings Accomodation is really excellent ,comfortable and once again spotlessly clean.Kim and Ian again made us very welcome .We will be back again in 2012 ----wouldnt stay anywhere else in Hout Bay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicaKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Experience a real, running farm in CTN - from beautiful horses to ducks and plants, this accommodation offers a great opportunity to explore a different side of Cape Town. There's a beautiful view of mountains and the accommodation is comfortable, clean and neat. Kim and her staff were amazing, going out of there way to assist me wherever possible. This is great accommodation for kids, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyLeeGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kronendal Heritage Estate
Kronendal Heritage Estate
#19 of 59 in Hout Bay
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 59 in Hout Bay
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Place

Address: Valley Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £65 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Place is a small holding set on 8 acres of prime agricultural land in the lush seaside valley of Hout Bay, Cape Town. We are surrounded by magnificent gardens with views of the back of Table Mountain, the Constantiaberg and the renowned Chapman's Peak. We have 5 self-catering units: 2 one bedroom cottages, 2 x 2 bedroom, 1 x 5 bedroom and an 8 bedroom house. It is the perfect venue for a couple, a family reunion, a small conference or business group or a family getaway. All accommodation at The King's Place is self-catering. It is a luxurious country experience enhanced by carefully selected furnishings and fabrics. Each place has its own entrance and private BBQ area. There are 2 large swimming pools and for the energetic, there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Place Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing