We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure about new location but still good reliable Italian”
Review of Trattoria Luigi - CLOSED

Trattoria Luigi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not sure about new location but still good reliable Italian”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A Hout Bay landmark for years now relocated to a dark and quiet corner of Mainstream shopping centre...not a good move but hopefully it's regulars will continue to support

Still good honest Italian fare but it's just that....not the venue for a romantic dinner for two... Hope the new location works out guys I think we will only use now as a takeaway or as last resort... Shame really as the old venue was much more buzzy and appealing

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank springbok1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited this restaurant onthe 2nd of january 2014 and what a pleasant surprise awaited us. We were a party of 17 and was accomodated without a reservation. the reception that we received was nothing short of amazing. the food was good and they offered different portion options which is always good. the atmosphere was relaxed and jovial. The owner was fantastic right down to the impromptu karaoke. all in all a very good italian restaurant with the hospitality to match. Loved it! We will definately be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
367 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have used Luigi's Hout Bay since the late 90's & I am afraid that despite keeping trying it has never been as good as when Luigi himself owned & ran the place.... Luigi's style & attention to detail was Italian through & through. Sorry to say that the present owner, Tony, doesn't have nearly the same style or success & has given up his prime location & moved to a lesser spot in the Mainstream area. This said, we decided to try to support him & give it another try..... we wished we had not bothered.... the service was dire, all the tables around us were complaining about the slowness & standard of service even some of the "old hands" (waitresses) who had been with the original Luigi seemed disinterested. The food was mediocre.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Italian as Italian is”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nice restaurant, nothing special, good pizza's, pasta's could be better and certainly more original. A bit old fashion, but good Italian family restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngridNelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We'd tried to get into the Kitima on our first evening in Hout Bay, not realising how full it often seems. We ended up at Luigi's. We really enjoyed it. It has a nice, cosy atmosphere, the service was a bit slow but okay. The food was good. I had the grilled calamari which were good. The owner starts to sing every now and again, which was very entertaining. For a casual, uncomplicated easy evening out we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ducktrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Luigi also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing