We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners on holiday in June but no answer in July”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Luigi - CLOSED

Trattoria Luigi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Owners on holiday in June but no answer in July”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Bought a groupon voucher and trying to redeem it. Only answering machine with message that owners are on holiday in June, but I phoned on the 23rd of July! Ridiculous! Phoned again on the 24th - no space to leave messages anymore - memory full. Not the way to treat first time customers. Will ask Groupon for a refund - I will not waste my time with this type of client respect and service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoodfundieIlse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Shocking all round”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We hadnt been to Luigi in Hout Bay for years but seeing as they were offering a groupon we decided to take it up and try it again. No wonder they have groupons. It was shocking. From start to finish. First of all they only had TWO waitresses for a FULL restaurant. It took 15 min. to bring our menu. We had to keep calling her back to ask a question. It took about a half an hour to order because she was so busy with other tables. 60% of the pizzas contain pork so if you happen to be Jewish or a Moslem thats it. About 30% of the pastas contained pork. The groupon says 2 pastas or pizzas up to R198.00. Bull! There is ONLY ONE thing available at over R90 and that is a pizza with bacon so if you dont each bacon or ham your choices are between R50 and R70 so in actual fact you are not getting 50% off because unless you eat that pizza your meal will be about R160.00 and youre paying R100 so its more like 35% off as opposed to 50%. You cant order up to R198 otherwise its just 1 of each. Husband ordered lasagne R80 odd and I ordered the Angel hair pasta with tomatoes and chilli and smoked salmon. After 15 min they came to say they had run out of lasagne - can you believe it at 1330 on a Sunday to run out of lasagne so there was very little choice left. We asked if we could then order 2 x half portions as there was 1 half portion of lasagne left. Waitress said yes. It took 1 and a half hours to get our food. SO they brought the food and as i dipped my fork in and husband was about to dip his in they whipped it away. Wrong order. They brought me ham and him God knows what. So another half an hours wait. Eventually they brought him 1/2 ravioli with mince and creamy tomato sauce and 1/2 lasagne and my full angel hair pasta with supposed smoked salmon. His ravioli was tasteless and swimming in the creamy sauce. His lasagne he said was O.K. and hubby never complains. My salmon pasta was shocking. Called the owner and told him there was no smoked salmon to be found. He then said it was impossible as it was the signature dish of theirs and did nothing about it. There was not ONE piece of smoked salmon. Oh he said it was in the sauce. Well come on - youre ordering pasta with salmon but getting pasta with supposed salmon sauce. My pasta and my husbands ravioli tasted exactly the same. Swimming in a tomato cream sauce and no ingredients. The ravioli for all we know could have been stuffed with pork. Service was SLOW and not once did she apologise for taking so long or ask how the food was. Anyway we finished the food , got our bill, tipped her but not the full 10% as it was not deserving of a service. The restaurant is dark and noisy with lots of children. The only nice thing is that the owner has a nice voice and sang an italian song. WOnt go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank divacape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We went for lunch with a groupon and were a group of six. The pizzas were very nice and the service very good. We didn't experience much atmosphere since there was a lot of people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a wonderful friendly authentic Italian. We had take out pizzas which were so full of flavor and generous toppings. The cost was unbelievably low for such quality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Una46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the old Luigis”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Slow service to start.
Reasonably priced, restaurant a bit too noisy - too many happy birthday songs (every 5 mins)
food was good: lasagne, carbonara both good portions
wine good (Italian Montepulciano) but bought from Woolworths!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodlaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Luigi also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing