We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Oasis Convenient to Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CUBE Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CUBE Guest House
Ranked #1 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis Convenient to Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the CUBE house for two nights after several weeks of traveling through East Africa and it was the perfect place to stay to enjoy Cape Town. The location is tucked between Cape Town and the Cape of Good Hope, allowing easy access to Table Mountain and all of the city's attractions as well as the cute beach towns on the Cape. The house is modern and beautifully decorated, a truly relaxing place to stay and the dog even matches the house!

We stayed in the smallest room, but it was still quite spacious, complete with comfortable bed and duvets. The bathroom had both a shower and soaking tub, which was amazing after weeks roughing it through East Africa.

What really sets the CUBE house apart was the breakfast and attentiveness of the owners and staff. Breakfast was amazing - eggs, fresh bread, cold meats, cheese, fruit, homemade jams, muesli, and yogurt. All this was served in a dining room with beautiful views of the mountains and Hout Bay.

Patrick and Dirk were so helpful in giving suggestions on where to eat and what to do. They really made our stay in Cape Town better than if we had planned everything on our own.

Bottom line: Go to Cape Town and stay at the CUBE house.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intltravler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
431
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Cube in Hout Bay for 5 nights during July 2013. We received a very warm welcome from both the owners and the staff, who couldn't do enough for us. They managed to strike a great balance of being very helpful, whilst also leaving us to our own devices. A feat which is sometimes tricky for guest houses, we certainly never felt like we were imposing in someone elses' home. Pre-arrival, we were emailed to see if we needed any advice/restaurant/activity bookings, and they were more than happy to make our restaurant bookings for us ahead of time, which I would imagine is very necessary in high season!

Each morning we were met with a delicious but not over heavy breakfast, a far cry from some 'greasy fry ups' I have experienced in the past. Our eggs were cooked wonderfully to order and the staff were very friendly and polite, and you were left in peace to enjoy your food and the beautiful views.

The house has been designed to make the most of its wonderful setting with fantastic views - it really is very peaceful and enjoyable to be in.

Each morning Dirk came down to say hi, and see if we needed any advice for the day. He gave us maps and phoned ahead to Table mountain to check whether it was open - he really did help us make the most of our stay.

Great people, great house - you really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPalmer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at the wooden cottage for the first night with my husband when I landed in Cape Town on 7th June. It was a rainy night and the view of the swimming pool from the room was so serene. The next morning woke up to a yummy breakfast prepared by the caretaker, Chester. The view of Hout Bay and the mountains that the guest house offered was pure bliss..It was a romantic start to our fun-filled holiday ahead!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaPKashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This is a really lovely, beautiful, luxurious and excellent value design hotel!

I never stayed in a such elegant and posh hotel ever!
I enjoyed every single moment here. The view from our room was just spectacular, I loved the large windows and the small swimming pool!!!

The cottage is such a piece of design art!!
Great great people, such nice and sweet!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xboxfungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in the Corner Suite for 6 nights in mid May.

The room has awesome views of Table Mountain and Hout Bay. Balcony was a pleasing feature of the room. Bathroom was kitted out to a high spec (and has a bath and separate shower), there's loads of wardrobe space and the bed was large and comfy. Also had Apple TV and I think that there were TV channels, although we didn't bother watching them. Minibar was reasonably priced and the cleaning service was top drawer. Security is first rate and the grounds are spectacular.

Dirk & Patrick are amazing hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and they are very knowledgeable about local restaurants and things to do. Dirk was kind enough to make reservations for us at several restaurants during our stay and they both helped us out with other things in any way that they could.

Breakfast was unbelievably good. Croissants, fresh fruit and yoghurt, cheese, meat, muesli, eggs made to order...the list goes on. Chester is the housekeeper; he is very keen to please and does a great job of looking after you. The dog, Paul, kept us company at breakfast each day and is brilliant to have around.

We booked car hire through CUBE's referral link and got a preferential rate and additional perks (e.g. unlimited mileage and no excess).

Wifi is included and is excellent.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. After reading the reviews on this site we found ourselves almost looking for faults, but couldn't find anything. It really is as good as everyone makes out.

Room Tip: Corner Room has incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoRoflers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

My girlfriend and I were visiting Cape Town for the first time and we've booked 8 nights at the Cube Guest House. Best choice we could have made!! It was marvellous!!

We haven't done any real research on Cape Town and on what to do due to lack of time (Yeah, right). But help was near! Dirk and Patrick (with beautiful dog Paul) are the most helpful hosts you can imagine!
They sorted our desire for delicious food and recommended only the best restaurants in Cape Town. Every morning at the breakfast table, of which i will talk about later, they gave us so many tips how to spent our days. And not only this, they even helped us booking all the tickets.

Their guest house is a very beautiful piece of architecture. It's tasteful, spacious and very clean. Everything is kept to a modern and luxurious standard. It's an oasis of calm and peace. Just perfect for a holiday! The rooms are very comfortable and to a very high standard.

Every morning you couldn't wait to get up because it was breakfast time. Their breakfast is just fantastic. Whatever you wish for, it's there. Eggs whatever way you want 'em, fresh and delicious bread rolls, fresh fruit, coffee the way you wish for and the most amazing homemade marmelades. Out of this world. I never eat marmelade if i'm honest but for those days at the Cube Guest House I had marmelade every single morning. Couldn't get enough of it.

All in all i just can't recommend the Cube Guest House enough! It's the perfect stay. If you still don't know where to book, think no more. You won't regret it, trust me.
We'll definitely go back. If I could give more than five stars, I'd give ten.
We had our best holiday ever thanks to Patrick and Dirk. And Paul.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szymonro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

" We arrived at 2am and were blown away by the warm welcome by Patrick, Dirk and their lovely dog Paul who had stayed up so late to welcome us in person. We reserved the "Cottage" due to its original design and really enjoyed the experience. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was small due to the design of the cottage but very functional. It was a shame we were there in early spring as otherwise you could have used the beautiful garden and pool. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed our first breakfast on the terrace which was already set when we woke up. We couldn't have asked for more - fresh yoghurt, fruits, cold cuts, cheese, bread rolls, eggs and even a wide selection of home made preserves. Dirk and Patrick seemed to be able to read our minds as they usually offered their help in arranging excursions and making thoughtful suggestions before we even knew what exactly we wanted to do. Additionally, the guest house is perfectly located between the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Town making it easy to explore the area in a short period of time. We had a wonderful time and can recommend everybody to stay there. Due to its design it made us feel a little like in a nice Boutique Hotel with very personal and warm service. "

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0kkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
5.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
5.0 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CUBE Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CUBE Guest House

Property: CUBE Guest House
Address: 20 Luisa Way | 7806 Cape Town, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in an elevated residential area providing breathtaking views onto the mountain range and the sea. Be served with our fresh and home-made breakfast on one of our terraces or enjoy relaxing moments underneath palmtrees next to the heated swimming pool in our large garden area. Our modern and comfortably furnished house provides an open, amicable atmosphere to guarantee an entirely relaxing stay.Surrounded by green hillsides, Hout Bay is nestled in a valley opening out into a picturesque bay and small fishing port. Thanks to the central location, within a few minutes you can reach the city centre, stunning sandy beaches, beautifully situated golf courses as well as the Cape Town’s Wine Region. Furthermore, Hout Bay is the starting point for the famous corniches Chapman’s Peak Drive, which leads you right to the Cape of Good Hope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your CUBE Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CUBE Guest House Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing