We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flabbergasted! ”
Review of CUBE Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CUBE Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flabbergasted! ”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Having had quite some experience from years of traveling extensively all over the world it was delightful to have had a chance to be flabbergasted like never before. Dirk and Patrick are fun, helpful, perfect hosts, Paulchen and Mila great entertainers. We loved all the tips for dining out and places to go for adventure and pleasure. It's also a great place for meeting other travelers. Definitely come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hercules8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
434
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

What a lucky find - The Cube lives up to everything written about it, very stylish, a lovely property in a great location with views of the mountains and sea. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, fresh and delicious with lovely homemade preserves.
Dirk and Patrick were helpful right from our initial contact, nothing was too much trouble they are fantastic hosts. Dirk suggestions of which wine farms to visit was spot on, an excellent choice.
Issuing guest with local mobile phones is a great idea.
The dogs - Mila and Paul - made it feel home from home. We would definitely go back and highly recommend The Cube to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liestal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in CUBE's for 5 nights and had a wonderful time:
- Dirk and Patrick as great hosts, who really care about making best out of our time
- familiar atmosphere, as there are only 6 rooms
- Greatest breakfast ever received in South Africa (including fresh, crispy bread :-)), eaten at a grand table together with other guests, which is great to share experience and to have fellowship during breakfast
- wonderful rooms, newly renovated
- great relaxing area with pool, chairs and sunbeds
- complimentary mobile phone during stay for in- and out- calls in South africa
- Hout Bay is generally a great spot to explore Cape town, as it is close to many points of interests as well as to the city itself

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Thank you Patrick and Dirk for your warm welcome and help to organise our stay in Cape Town! We felt like home with you, and your place is beautiful!
Hopefully we'll come back some day...
Kind regards, Maria & Philippe

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mkl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Cube at the beginning of Dec 2013. Patrick and Dirk were excellant hosts who made our first stay in South Africa very smooth and stress free. As this was our first time, we were a bit nervous but having their prepaid mobile phone to use help us feel more relaxed when we were travelling around Cape Town. Dirk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful to our needs. Their Guest House is lovely, with excellant decor. We stayed for 3 nights in the Cosmopolitan Suite which was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaPaul21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights, and really nothing to complaint about. The guys even made it possible for us to change rooms so we could move into the beautiful cottage at the pool. Moreover the two seem to read your mind and help you with reservations and tips around Houtbay and Capetown.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My fiance and I stayed 6 nights with Patrick and Dirk and their two wonderful dogs Mila and Paul, as part of a 2-week stay in the Cape Town area. Overall fantastic experience. Everything that's been said thus far can be echoed by us, including the brilliant idea of the guest pre-paid cell phone, which helped out immensely, the dinner recommendations and the super breakfast spread. Thank you to Chester as well for all of his hospitality and assistance. Would definitely stay again, and plan on it!
-Pete & Rachael

Room Tip: Go for the corner suite room. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petecass78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
324 reviews
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
469 reviews
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CUBE Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CUBE Guest House

Property: CUBE Guest House
Address: 20 Luisa Way | 7806 Cape Town, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CUBE Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House is situated in an elevated residential area providing breathtaking views onto the mountain range and the sea. Be served with our fresh and home-made breakfast on one of our terraces or enjoy relaxing moments underneath palmtrees next to the heated swimming pool in our large garden area. Our modern and comfortably furnished house provides an open, amicable atmosphere to guarantee an entirely relaxing stay.Surrounded by green hillsides, Hout Bay is nestled in a valley opening out into a picturesque bay and small fishing port. Thanks to the central location, within a few minutes you can reach the city centre, stunning sandy beaches, beautifully situated golf courses as well as the Cape Town’s Wine Region. Furthermore, Hout Bay is the starting point for the famous corniches Chapman’s Peak Drive, which leads you right to the Cape of Good Hope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your CUBE Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CUBE Guest House Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing