We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing Place, you need to book or be there Early for a Sunday Aft”

The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi
Ranked #8 of 64 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lookout Deck Hout Bay arguably boasts one of the best views in the Western Cape. Situated on the water's edge in the Hout Bay harbour, the restaurant boasts breathtaking mountain and ocean views.The restaurant has an extensive menu including: premier seafood, freshly caught line fish from the local fisherman, live Cape rock lobster, succulent LM prawns, juicy black tiger prawns, fresh steamed black mussels, as well as the finest cuts of A-grade meat. There's a great selection of appetizing salads, wood-fired pizzas and hearty breakfasts.Japan meets Hout Bay with a new Sushi Bar on the deck. Wasabi greets Sashimi with Maki & California rolls and more on the side!The Oyster Bar continues to draw cheers with Champagne accompanying chucked live oysters.The bar stocks local and international beers, including Amstel, Stella and Castle Lite on tap. The wine list reflects the wine growing regions of the Cape.Enjoy sensational sundowners and cocktails whilst listening to local live music on selected evenings.
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Buzzing Place, you need to book or be there Early for a Sunday Aft”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Food is excellent, staff are friendly, and space is at a premium so you do feel a little hemmed in.
They have a House Band on a Sunday Afternoon which are great and all adds to the atmosphere. You'll not go wrong spending Sunday Afternoon here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MytholmroydDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    266
    92
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome scene to hang out and have a relaxing, quality meal.”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Awesome scene to hang out and have a relaxing, quality meal. It's fast becoming a favourite place for my wife and I to hang out at, even though it's a bit of a drive from Fish Hoek... Food is always top notch, ambience is great, and service is good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Wecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Predictably good”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We make sure that we get there early, as it is usually packed from 7pm onwards, especially on nights when there is live music (Sunday is loud and heaving). The staff are welcoming and friendly. There is a good selection of wine. The catch of the day is our favourite order as it's exactly that - and freshly grilled. We ask for any butter or sauce to be separately served, which is cheerfully done. Rice, chips or salad come with it, as well as vegetables, separately served. The carrots are done South African style, sweetened and slightly spiced with a hint of spice.
This time we shared a delightful creme brûlée for afters; the burnt sugar topping crunched and tasted just right and the inside was creamy, smooth with a fresh vanilla taste. As we leave we are invited to take the best stripey mints from a huge jar - the generous South African touch to end a restaurant meal - ( to sweeten the palate and damage to the wallet?!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You can't get closer to the sea”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

You can see the fish! and looking out over the harbour, sea and mountains is special.

We had vegetarian sushi, prawns and salad along with excellent service.

Relaxed atmosphere with all the ingredients for a great night out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TatianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a really well managed restaurant”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My daughter, her boyfriend and I had lunch at Lookout Deck yesterday. We were served by a charming and efficient lady . . unfortunately i can't remember her name . . but she'll remember us the guy with the red wine and ice, the grilled instead of battered fish and chips :) . The service was excellent . . she brought me an ice top-up (i love my red wine with ice) before it ran out, she offered to do me a grilled fish and chips and swop the chips for a salad. The food was done to perfection. My daughter Emma had Sushi which she said was excellent. The place was clean. A thoroughly pleasant experience all round. I commended the manager and he suggested i go here to tell my story . . so here it is. It was also a beautiful day with the south easter blowing like mad so it was a bonus having the windows on the deck all round so we could appreciate the wonderful views and weather without being blown away. It makes me proud to be a Capetonian . . i just love this city!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRobinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing