We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Dear Pia, Thanks for your kind words! We look forward to having you and the girls back soon. All the best, Regards Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular view, amazing hospitality, comfortable facilities and awesome privacy! It was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Dear Siehaam,

Thank you for your kind words about Blackwood Log Cabin. We are happy that you are able to rest, rejuvenate and enjoy the nature here. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JC2304
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful cabin, in the most amazing setting”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Wow, what an amazing place! We absolutely enjoyed our short break away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Even in the very heart of Winter, this well equiped cabin, with it's breathtaking views of the mountain and valley, beckons you to the large glass sliding doors that leads onto the sun deck.
The pool, trampoline and hammock will definitely be a hit with our kids in Summer! Colette, you have a beautiful place and I would highly recommend Blackwood log cabin to everyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: My short stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you Janine, we would be very happy to have you back - winter or summer! Kind Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzyp273
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nature”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Our second stay and hopefully not our last. Words cannot describe how much we love staying here. Colette and Warren are perfect hosts, always on hand if you need them but they completely respect your privacy and space. For me the greatest joy is opening the bifold doors every morning and sitting on the deck, drinking a coffee whilst reading, watching the light change and listening to the nature. My boyfriend would say jumping in the pool and kicking back with a cold Windhoek!! It's as close to perfection as we have ever found and we are both well travelled. Now we are home all we talk about is when can we return?! A perfect location to anyone wanting to explore Cape Town and all it's beauty without being slap in the middle of the city bowl. It's only 20 minutes away and yet feels like a different place. Thank you for an amazing time and all the happy memories you have given us.

Liz & Alex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view of course! Oh and the pool!
Liked least: Bed wasn't the best yet had the best nights sleep there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2013
HI Liz,

It was great to have you and Alex again. We are humbled by your comments. We look forward to next year if it works out for you. All our very best, Colette and Warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbrash
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This place is a gem on the mountainside - perfect for trips to Hout Bay, or using it as a base to explore the Cape. The pool is perfect after a hike up Table Mountain, followed by a snooze in the hammock, THEN followed by a relaxing barbeque on the deck. Will absolutely stay there again - it has everything you want in a self-catering cottage, including a great roll top bath where you can look out over the mountains. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2013
Dear Greg,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you went hiking on the mountain. It's breathtaking to look at, but magnificent to hike on. We look forward to your next visit. All our very best, Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godmanchester, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Privicy, and location.
Liked least: loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2012
Dear Rudolph, Hannah and Ellis, Thank you for your kinds words. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. We hope you will visit again soon and manage to stay for a longer period.
All the best for 2013, Kind Regards
Colette and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travelfro...
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 29 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Just back from our third wonderful stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. The only reason I would hesitate to write a glowing review is that it may get so booked up that we cant return! This is the most fantastic location, with friendly helpful owners discretely on hand when needed. Hi Collete and Warren we enjoyed our stay immensely even though the weather was a little cooler than we hoped and we lost wi fi connection but hope you have that sorted now. We need somewhere bigger for our next trip with all the family but unfortunately I think that other houses will seem mundane after Blackwood Log Cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: We love everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
HI David and Ammanda,

Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have you back at Blackwood and we look forward to your next visit when your party is smaller. We have laid the new internet cable (or rather Warren has) and the cabin is fully back on line. We hope you have a fabulous visit at the end of the year. Until next time..... Regards Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing