We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous views from a wonderful cabin in the woods”
other travellers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
speechiek...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Honeymoon - Mixed Emotions & Experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived late in the evening (as previously discussed) after a 30 hour flight from Canada. We struggled to contact the housekeepers of the unit as the owners were away on vacation. It was approximately 9:30-10 p.m. and everyone had retired for the evening. With the help of our taxi driver, we were able to finally call through to a cell phone number and gain access to the property.

There was a sophisticated alarm system that the housekeepers couldn't explain how to arm. There were no instructions for the television. Worst of all, after a 30 hour flight...there was NO hot water. The cabin was freezing cold. It took hours to gain any warmth from the wood burning fireplace. There was no warm reception. Feeling defeated, we went to bed on the first night of our honeymoon.

We talked to the housekeepers about the water. We were told we would have to wait for the owners to return, as the housekeeper wasn't sure what was wrong. We took cold showers for the majority of our stay. When the owners returned, it had turned out that a dog had chewed through a cord for the electric water heating system that ran on a timer. Even once repaired, we could not both shower with hot water, and only on one occasion did we have enough hot water to take a bath in the beautiful tub. There was no way to turn the shower on without being frozen from water due to the placement of the taps.

When we explained our concerns to the owners, they attempted to fix the problems, but as we always were out early in the morning and coming back late at night, we didn't know if there would be hot water. It was too late to access help. It was so frustrating. There was a beautiful plunge pool, but it was unheated, and the weather wasn't warming the water enough to use it yet.

The cabin itself has probably the most gorgeous accommodations that we have ever experienced. The decor is simple and blends in with the natural landscapes and mountain views. The beds were so comfortable. The views from the tub and hammock are surreal. We had been looking forward to our honeymoon stay for nearly 3 years...Blackwood Log Cabin was one of the main reasons that we came to South Africa.

It is important to know that you cannot access any public transportation from this location. It is approximately 3-4 km to the nearest bus stop. Taxis do come to Hout Bay. It's approximately 200R for a trip to Cape Town Central. The neighbourhood is beautiful with well maintained homes.

The driveway is steep. We rented an automatic car. If you aren't experienced with a standard car it may be challenging.

While we loved the location, the quality of the cabin, the views, and the ambiance, we left feeling very disappointed that our honeymoon accommodations had been so frustrating. I was surprised at the lack of personal service. We read so many reviews about welcome letters, bottles of wine/fruit, and a very personable experience. Unfortunately, we didn't receive any of these things (understandable that these are perks, and not guaranteed).

We also booked the cabin because we wanted to cook some of our own meals. The kitchen is well stocked with pots/pans/cutlery/plates/glassware. We were disappointed to find no cooking oil or basic staples for cooking. It would have been amazing to have some coffee available on arrival. It would also be great to have some laundry detergent and instruction for the washing machine (for foreigners). The cabin was so cold at night that we couldn't dry our clothes.

Another suggestion would be a book for guests which outlines the alarm system, the TV, where to find things, contact numbers, and maybe some local services/suggestions (similar to what you would find in a hotel).

I believe that Blackwood Log Cabin has the potential to be the location of your vacation dreams, but our experience was not what most report. Despite our rocky start, our lack of water and heat, and the owners even learning that we had to cancel the 2nd part of our honeymoon due to a death in the family, we didn't feel that we had much in the way of hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the ambiance, and the serenity
Liked least: lack of hospitality, lack of hot water, and minimal access to staples
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcfb82
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views from a wonderful cabin in the woods”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The views from Blackwood Log Cabin are sensational! Little Lion's Head and Table Mountain are silhouetted at dawn and dusk and lit up handsomely during the day.

The cabin is very secluded and private, up a steep driveway off a small road. It didn't feel at all overlooked - more like a luxury tree-house away from the world. It was surprisingly peaceful and free from light, noise and air pollution. It's really quite an unusual gem and staying there was a brilliant experience. The views from every room bar the shower room are superb, and from the spacious decks/balconies as well. The hammock on the balcony was a delight to relax in. Only once before have I had a bath that had a view to compare to the one at Blackwood Cabin! There's a nice, small pool to dunk in. It was a wrench to leave the cabin each morning and a pleasure to come home! The cabin is a good base for exploring Cape Town and Cape Point by car, and the only downside to the location I can see is that it was a short drive to Hout Bay and the nearest restaurants etc (about 4.5km).

BUT there were a few tiny things that could be improved. These small niggles were:

When I paid the deposit and the outstanding balance on the rental I received no acknowledgement email, despite emailing the owner to confirm the money had been sent. This left me worried I might have been scammed. All was well, but I would have liked more reassurance, and ideally a guaranteed payment system.

The overflow pipe in the bath wasn't connected, meaning that if you overfilled the bath at all the water leaked straight onto the floor. Not a disaster but a nuisance.

The taps in the shower can only be turned on and off while standing in the shower. This means you get soaked by cold water the moment you turn it on and, if you don't happen to hit the perfect temperature first time, you may get drenched in scolding hot water too. The hot water really was SCOLDING and the first time I used the shower I had to use a pole to turn the hot tap down before I could get into the shower - it was WAY too hot to put my arm under the water. This was genuinely hazardous and I think a note of warning at least would be sensible.

The house contained very little in the way of "essentials". Considering it is such a lovely property, it would be perfect if a few more essentials such as cooking oil, washing powder etc were provided in small quantity. Not a big deal at all but it would have been the icing on the cake.

There was a sophisticated alarm system but for peace of mind I would have liked a small safe for valuables.

That said, these were only minor flaws that were easily outweighed by our wonderful experience at the cabin. The owners were very kind and I don't doubt that had we mentioned the plumbing issues they would have sorted them. They gave us some great tips about where to explore on Table Mountain and which routes to climb, and kindly loaned us a good quality map for which I am hugely grateful (their recommendations were excellent).

If I haven't emphasised it enough, the views and the cabin itself were almost magical so despite my minor grumbles above I have no hesitation in saying I would love to go back and I recommend this property to anyone looking for peace and privacy on the edge of Cape Town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Magical setting
Liked least: Plumbing and slow response after paying deposit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Dear Matt,

Thank you for your kind words about Blackwood Log Cabin and your very constructive comments - we don't have a chance to stay in the house and so unless we have feedback, we cannot improve things for our guests. We take all your comments on board and hopefully the next time you stay with us, you will see an improvement in these areas.
All the best until next time
Kind Regards
Warren and Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Absolutely amazing, the cabin was perfect, great kitchen, great bedrooms, the decking area was so lovely to sit on while sipping wine, pool was so relaxing, what a fantastic place to stay. It has been our first holiday abroad with our 8 month old son and I couldn't have asked for better.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
Dear Kate,
Thank for your lovely review - we are really happy that you decided to stay with us. We wish you all the best with your beautiful son and hope to see you again.
All the best, Colette and Warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quiet
Liked least: it rained!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Dear Kimberley,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
I'm so glad that we were able to work things out with the dates and that you could stay with us. - after all, don't we look forward to our holidays all year? We hope to have you back one day and especially with your special little guy Jack! All the best until next time. Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deepika D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed with my parents and my brother and had an amazing time!
We split our time in Cape Town between Blackwood Log Cabin and a sea facing apartment at the V&A waterfront, and can honestly tell you- this place was infinetly better.
Colette was very friendly and made us feel right at home and the house itself is stunning.
The wooden floors and the long deck with the view of the table top mountain looks unreal.
We didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2014
Hello Deepika! How lovely to hear from you! Thank you for you review. I hope you and your family are very well and that your new business is flourishing. We really look forward to having you stay again one day soon. Please send my regards to the rest of the family. All the very best, Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krol44119
NANTES
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place, Gret place, Great place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week there with our 2 boys aged 9 and 14.
Everything has already been said about this perfect lovely place.
The cabin is very comfortable, very nicely decorated. It is located not far from Capetown but I think it is better to rent a car to get around
Everything is done by Colette or Elitar to help you spend a perfect stay
Would have loved to spend more time there !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Dear Carole,

Thank you for your positive review! i am glad you had a wonderful stay with your boys! it sound like you had a really adventurous time. Until next time, all the best! Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Thank you Barry, I'm pleased you had a special time. We look forward to having you back in the future.
All the best, Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing