We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pakalolo Hout Bay

Pakalolo Hout Bay
Ranked #43 of 64 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Pakalolo is a surfing themed bar / restaurant that attracts all ages. The bar overlooks Hout Bay and the views are absolutely stunning! Mix with locals and holidaymakers, some real characters frequent Pakalolo, the vibe is very friendly. The food is excellent, not fine dining variety, no, rather excellent quality and generous portions and extremely well priced! The staff are brilliant and very attentive. Try to get there for an early evening meal then take in a breathtaking sunset! Mine Host is Stefan Richter, you will find Stefan regularly mixing with his customers and often joining them for a beer or two.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Hout_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    36
    12
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simplified”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went there Monday noon as most other places seemed to be closed for some reason. It has a very tropical atmosphere and I would say it is a great place to relax. Typical bar setting so expect simple foods, nothing extravagant. Simple foods also explain the tastes. For a bar, the drinks are very reasonably priced. Foods I have to admit is slightly more expensive due to what you get for it. Overall, definitely go there for a few drinks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've been in Capetown for almost five months. And Pakalolo became while I was here my best bar and restaurant. It is quite easy as a foreigner to meet locals. Some of them became real friend. The stuff is friendly, the owner a good guy. The beer is fine and the coffee is top. And even the cocktails are very good, which is not very common. At fridays the have always a and playing which was really fun, I even danced now an then.
Thanks guys gonna miss your spot.
Hopefully will back soon!
KEEP GOING LIKE THAT!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best place around Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very good service, food and live music.
A must for everybody visiting South Africa. Even in winter you can sit on the terace and enjoy the ambiance.
We will be back as soon as possible. Keep the beer cold guys-;)

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rasta chill ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Bob Marley is singing in the background and we're sipping on ice cold ales after driving along Chapmans Peak. The pub is at the bottom and parking is ample. Highly recommended to sit and chill during after or before lunch. Quite likely lots of action at night.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Durban460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pakalolo Hout Bay also viewed

Hout Bay, Cape Town
 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Pakalolo Hout Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing