We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredibly tasty and diverse menu experience.”
Review of Cheyne's

Cheyne's
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Incredible Contemporary Asian Cuisine, Cocktails and an impressive selection of wines.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An incredibly tasty and diverse menu experience.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The menu is diverse and delicious, the flavours are just superb and the ambiance was lovely. I struggled to decide what to chose from the great range of options on the menu and the risotto is by far the most tasty and delicious thing I have ever tasted in any country I have lived or visited. The desert with peanut butter ice cream was definitely the most delicious desert I have eaten in South Africa.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceMBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    69
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, service and ambiance”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We love going to Cheyne's and they managed to squeeze the two of us in at the last minute.

The food is served as tapas plates and we find the portions quite generous. We were a little greedy and ordered 6 plates (2 from each category). I thought the squid was delicious and we always enjoy the ribs.

For dessert we had the brioche with peanut butter ice cream. We've had it four times now and will probably order it every time we go. So delicious!

Service is very good and we love being surrounded by pop art - all of which is for sale (even went home with two of the pieces last week).

The only downside on the last visit is that we were next to a particularly noisy table so ended up squeezing in next to each other so that we could have a conversation. But this is not the fault of the restaurant.

Will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Deliciously different”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well the decor does define the food - quirky ! It was a cold night but inside was a lovely fire and a intimate setting . The menu has a different layout to the norm and the descriptions will find you struggling to make a choice . We had crayfish with red dragon sauce; aubergine with tzaziki; spicey calamari and chili beef strips. My description doesn't do the dishes justice but they were delicious and beautifully arranged on slate tiles. Dessert was a delicious brioche with caramel bananas and peanut butter ice cream ! It's not cheap and some of the dishes are tiny but it's well worth it .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Most exciting food.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a treat!
Magnificent innovative food. Quite exceptional. Very generous tapas indeed.Highly recommend and worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful food. So creative and innovative. It was really fun to share several small dishes. Great service. Lovely setting. Probably the best dinner in Cape Town!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara01890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheyne's also viewed

 

Been to Cheyne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing