We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pescarne Mothers day dinner”
Review of Pescarne - CLOSED

Pescarne
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Pescarne... Engineering Food... Where passion for food and service still lives with pride. We consider ourselves a truly South African restaurant with a Spanish / Portuguese / Italian name... And as is suggested...We do both meat and seafood very well with the majority of our signature dishes proudly boasting these combinations. From our wild oysters to the homemade Amarula panacotta and every culinary delight between... Come and enjoy perfectly engineered food with subliminal service from the people who thrive on trying to make your experience a fantastically memorable one.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pescarne Mothers day dinner”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I decided to try this restaurant for dinner as Mothers day lunch was fully booked. I am so happy I did. Possibly the best steak I have had in a very long time. Attentive service, absolutely outstanding food. We enjoyed it so much that we ordered desserts as well - equally good! I will definitely recommend this hidden gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniPringleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best meat in Hout Bay”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It took us some time to go to Pescarne...just because of the name really as we do not like to mix fish and meat. It was recommended by some friends so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed and will come back for extremely good beef. Service was good and attentive and the interior very pleasantly decorated.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“Wonderful Dinner - Excellent service”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We did not plan to go to this restaurant but we were very glad we finally did. Wonderful meat (They do know who to do rare here!! Such a change from Austrian food!) and great fish. Big servings, you will not leave this place hungry and the service is charming, friendly and very caring. I would definitely go back again, and again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic meat & excellent service a must go when in Hout Bay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Herman the chef had worked with Gavin at the Hout Bay Butcher's grill about 10 years ago. Anyone who knows Hout Bay would know that grill was about the best meat you could have in the Cape Town area. Herman has done it again and today you can have excellent fish and even sushi which goes really well if you do a starter of sushi and then a nice steak. I suggest the filet, sirloin or even the tartar that is absolutely amazing. Only little improvement: I would like a bit more "advice" when it comes to wines. Part of the Butcher's gill amusement was that the waitpersons would literally give you a lecture on South African wines - that is somewhat missing at Pescarne. But it is a minor thing, if you know a bit about wines, you can select a good one from the good list yourself!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RanDS232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The web site is fab. The restaurant is tucked away in Hout Bay and from the outside looks top notch. The only thing however to come out of our evening was a charming waitress who really ought to look elsewhere for a job.
The starter was tempura prawn. Tasty but almost cold. It must have been out the oil for a good 5 mins before we were given it.
Mains. My wife had calamari in a variety of spices. It was boring. Rubbery calamari with no discernable coating. Had better in local pubs. I ordered a 500g rib eye steak. I cut into it-it was virtually cold. I could not eat it. I returned it to the kitchen and it then reappeared acceptably hot. By then the chips had gone. I only received fresh chips for the last mouthful of the meal. The steak was fine albeit i ended up eating alone as my wife had long finished. I also ordered mushrooms which were almost cold when they hit the table.
I can only assume the chef had taken the raw meat straight out of a fridge before putting it on the grill. It also came with a coating of what tasted like burnt sesame seeds. Horrid.
Bearing in mind we also ordered an expensive wine the evening was little short of a wipe out.
I also had a "pudding" which was a very watery pannacota albeit with a really tasty sauce of amarula.
This restaurant does not live up to its own hype. I hate posting negative reviews but was left with no choice. Interstingly at the end of the meal i completed an enquiry survey giving my e mail address and phone number. Had somebody bothered to call i would not have posted this review. They didnt.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rumblesLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescarne also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing