We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling like home in Hout Bay / SA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #7 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a really wonderful time at the Hout Bay Hideaway with Sue and Martin (the owners).
We got a very good breakfast each morning with fresh friuts, croissants and health bread, scrambled eggs, etc - seems to be created with love! Our room on the back of the house had a big terrace round the room and close to the pool in the garden. Once we took a bath in the garden in the bathtub with hot water - it was a great feeling in the dark with all the little light in the trees and in the pool! The view to the ocean you have from all rooms in the top so that you can also see the sunrise when the sky is totally red. Sue and Martin are nice and lovely people which were always helpful, given good tips for our daily trips! We will come back to visit them again on our next trip to SA! We felt like beeing at home

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

What a wonderful atmosphere and setting. I was put in the Bay View room - and so comfortable. The view from the deck is beautiful and a lovely place to sit and have the breakfast which is brought up to the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room spacious. Martin and Sue made one feel welcome the moment you entered the house. They also had good and honest advice on where to go for a good meal, etc. The area is quiet and the garden peaceful. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Bay view room has a wonderful view of Hout Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Martin and Sue have created this welcoming and extremely comfortable setting for their boutique bed and breakfast! The attention to detail is remarkable...first class with a personal touch! We travelled during the cooler time of year and appreciated the warming towel rack, burgundy mohair throw on the duvet and seemingly in floor heating. When entering the room a sprig or two of fresh lavender neatly tied with sissel had been placed on the bed pillows! Loved it!! Breakfast was delivered, at our requested time, and left outside our bdrm door to be eaten at the large table with a gorgeous view of the bay. It was too cold to sit on our large balcony. Coffee making facilities with a small fridge and micro hidden within a double door closet with full length mirrors....have I said enough!? It was a fantastic ending to an already wonderful holiday. Great place to sum it up!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephaniehawksworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Everyone needs respite at the end of an 18 hour flight, especially when there are two young children involved. Our trip from London to Cape Town was typically tiring; thankfully we had the Hideaway waiting for us on our first visit to the Western Cape and Hout Bay.

From start to finish Sue and Martin made sure that the whole Hideaway experience wasn’t just about a roof over our heads, crisp clean sheets, amazing decor or for that matter breakfasts to die for – no, it was about them truly wanting us to enjoy Hout Bay, an ideal stepping stone to Cape Town or the penguins at Boulders via the stunning Chapman’s Peak Drive. As has already been said in other posts, nothing is too much trouble for these talented hosts. Don’t dismiss the sheets, decor or breakfasts though, crikey, they do it all so very well.

I have been lucky enough to stay at some lovely hotels around the world and I challenge any of them to better the experience that Sue and Martin provided us with and for that they have sincere thanks from Tim, Zoe, Ossie and Felix. See you in 2013...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

What a find! We’ve stayed in Cape Town before but on this trip wanted a less formal hotel but with the usual luxuries. From the start Martin & Sue Collins (the live in owners) made us feel so welcome – even to our 14 year old monosyllabic twin sons! The Hideaway has been described before by others so I shan’t bore you with more details other than to say the photos don’t do the ‘magic’ of the place justice. Our room at the front rivalled most if not all of the 4 &5 star establishments we’ve stayed in around the world with elegant understated décor, contemporary bathroom, gorgeous white linen (a posy of fresh lavender on each pillow being typical of the personal touch here) our own private balcony on which we enjoyed (when the weather allowed) fabulous breakfasts and relaxing in the chairs and loungers. Our boys’ room (linked by covered balcony via our bathroom) was of similar standard.
Being autumn the weather was ‘changeable’ and on dull days we enjoyed breakfast in the owners beautiful contemporary kitchen/breakfast room. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Sue & Martin (and their staff) be it ‘more eggs’ for breakfast, ‘are you warm / cool enough’. They even acted as unpaid tour operators arranging our 3 night break on safari mid-way through our 14 day stay + hire cars. Their knowledge of the area is terrific and they always had a excellent recommendation as to where to have lunch or dinner in the many numerous very good (and being South Africa reasonable) restaurants in the Hout Bay Area and beyond.
Our only prior concern was the distance from Hout Bay from the centre of Cape Town but really, with a hire car, this wasn’t a problem and we would strongly recommend this beautiful guest house for anyone’s stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSSEnglishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Hideway, what an apt name, and what a great place. we stayed in the Skylight suite at the rear overlooking the garden and pool with a 2 aspect bacony and very easy access to the beautifully warm pool, a decent size and crystal clear salt water. we frequently sat watching the nectar eaters (birds) perched on the Proteas oblivious to us about 20 feet away
Martin and Sue our hosts were superb, nothing too much trouble and wonderful breakfasts served on the balcony outside our room courtesy of Sue. The Wi fi worked well every where we tried it and the Kitchenette in the room was an absolute godsend for evening snacks if we had had a large breakfast followed by a beautiful lunch (Reccommend "The food Barn" and Chapmans Peak hotel for lunch). Off street secure parking was another bonus and the whole experience exceeded our already high expectations. Thank you again Martin and Sue, we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacrebleu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here for seven nights at the beginning of our holiday (having initially planned on three) and returned again for two nights at the end of our stay. During that time we saw each of the four rooms (including the apartment) and they're all equally inviting & comfortable. The Turkish rugs, the antique furniture, the nicely chosen art make for a stylish and comfortable environment. Indeed everything about the place works exactly the way you might hope were you to run a guesthouse yourself. It's easy and laidback on the surface because behind the scenes real thought and skill have gone into getting it right.

It's nice that your breakfast is served to you on the terrace outside your room & the breakfasts themselves are a treat. The garden and pool are welcoming after you've been out and about all day, and Martin & Sue, the owners have a nice friendly, informative yet professional manner that makes everything gel. We noticed several of the guests there at the same time as us were on their second or third visit.

Location-wise, we hadn't really appreciated just how near everything is & we found the guest house an ideal base from which to explore Cape Town itself, Cape Point, the winelands and so on. In a way I didn't really want to post a review because I don't want to find the Hideaway fully booked the next time we want to return. But that would be selfish ! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Virgyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Amblewood Guest House
Amblewood Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 59 in Hout Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £108 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hout Bay Hideaway South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing