We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful spacious room and huge terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #9 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful spacious room and huge terrace”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed in the largest room with seaview, very spacious, huge terrace. The street is a cul de sac so very quiet. The bed is very comfortable. Martin and Sue are truely welcoming, nothing will be too much for them to make your stay a perfect one !
We will be back...
Only improvement would be to have WIFI accessible in every room, it doesnt work in the back rooms, ...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrelyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoutBayHideAway, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Andrelyon will be pleased to know that the problem we had with WiFi reception has now been rectified and all rooms at The Hout Bay Hideaway now have excellent WiFi reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2010

My friend and I spent our last two nights in South Africa here and loved it. It's in a lovely leafy neighborhood and the owners, Sue and Marty, are a very welcoming and interesting couple (I hope Marty's back is not thrown out after he graciously lugged my heavy bag up a flight of stairs!). Our room was beautiful--I love the artwork--and we had a room with doors that opened out onto the upstairs patio, which had a table and chairs, two comfy Adirondack chairs, and a chair swing. Marty and Sue would lay out a delicious breakfast on the patio (yogurt, fruits, bread, jam, cheese, ham, fabulous freshly squeezed orange juice, muesli, eggs, you name it), which was a great way to start the day. Also nice was the bottle of red wine they gave us for our first night. The room was very clean and elegant, bathroom was nice and big and had fluffy bathrobes, and we had a sort of kitcheonette so we could make coffee (provided, along with milk, thank goodness) right when we got up and also could store any food we might want to have in the room. I like smaller, boutique-y kind of places with elegant and cool, but not sterile, design and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzWool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This is a bigish house up a hill behind the bay that has been converted to a guest house. It isn't stately or colonial, but it has been done very well. Everything works, it is clean, and it has been decorated meticulously with a quite effective mix of colonial-style fixtures and furniture, although some things feel more indonesion and even New England than SA! Doesn't matter. It all holds together just fine. We stayed in the appartment that was downstairs at the back of the house. Having a living room suited for the travel cot (which the owners provided).
The owners are English. They were very helpful in everything and knew the area well. I believe they spend half the year here.
Breakfasts were super-abundant. I think that when they whipped the cover off the tray was the first time I ever heard my two year old son say 'wow'! Unfortunately we don't eat much breakfast. But the detail may be appreciated by others.
Hout Bay, by the way, is a great place to stay near Cape Town. The better known bays up the coast are massively overrated and remarkable mainly for being remotely comparable to some med resorts (Camps Bay) and Hong Kong (Clifton). They are closer to Cape Town, of course, if that's important.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Even before we arrived our hosts had organised competitively priced car hire and delivery for us in a hassle free professional manner. A very warm welcome on arrival at this gem of a house that is truly hidden away yet close enough to local restaurants and shops to walk if required and an excellent base for exploration of Cape Town and the wider Cape. Sue and Martin's interior decoration is to be admired with modern and period art and furniture blended together in a most delightful way giving a natural quality feel throughout. Needless to say the rooms are very well thought out even including a hidden kitchenette housing tea and ground coffee (nice touch) and milk in the fridge. There's also a microwave and sink hidden by doors at your will. One can take breakfast in the room, on the terrace overlooking the pool or in the dining kitchen, our favoured option where you can quiz your hosts and other guests on all things SA. The breakfast is as good as you can expect anywhere the quality and range of choice being exceptional. The team work of our hosts at breakfast is also a pleasant experience to observe particularly the subtleties that maintain the very high standards. The place is spotless, the rooms spacious, the bathroom clean with an excellent power shower, you want for nothing. We have travelled extensively throughout the world (60+ countries) and stayed in all types places from basic to the best available. The best places offer a combination of luxury, coupled to high standards due to the 'people factor'. Hout Bay Hideaway have the perfect combination.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOHNandJAYNE0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

As experienced travellers,we are used to the finest.Our "Hideaway" experience turned out to be truely 5 star.The knowlegable,kind and generous Martin and Sue do their utmost to make your stay memorable.The "Hideaway" and our views from the terrace are stunning.Interesting antiques and paintings added a special touch.Egyptian cotton sheets on the enormous beds gave us excellent sleep every night. The enormous breakfast was superbly cooked and presented.We originally booked for 17nights and stayed for 26 (World Cup).So many wineries to visit-and Martin and Sue know every one! We loved South Africa,Cape Town and everything and everybody at the "Hideaway"

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Sue and Martin were fantastic hosts; couldn't do enough for you. Hout Bay Hideaway is a perfectly located guest house for exploring the surrounding areas including the Constantia region, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches and especially taking day trips into Cape Town. We were just sorry we didn't stay longer - 2 days just wasn't enough. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the breakfasts delicious. We would certainly return to this area and most definitely stay with Sue and Martin again at Hout Bay Hideaway. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We loved this peaceful and tranquil place. Sue and Martin are wonderful hosts, the rooms are just georgeous, the garden and pool is nice (although a bit cold), and the location excellent for exploring the Cape Peninsula. Breakfast on our terrace was divine, and so were the views! If you're looking for a true hideaway to unwind from your travels in South Africa go for it. You can't do better.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
148 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Property: The Hout Bay Hideaway
Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hout Bay Hideaway South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing