We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to be”
Review of Intaba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Intaba Lodge
Ranked #10 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My wife and I had returned to Central Africa recently and were seeking a place in or around Cape Town for a two-week break. When happened upon the Intaba Lodge we were already excited and we were not disappointed. The View Cottage afforded a fantastic view of the ever-changing vista across Hout Bay and Constantia Nek to the mountains behind. Lovely garden and swimming pool and wonderful hosts who were kindness itself. Its location in Hout Bay provides easy access to everything in the Cape Town area without the hassle and bustle of the big city. We're planning our next visit already.

Room Tip: Self-catering? Go for the View Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

After much reading and research on which part of Cape Town to stay, we narrowed down to Intaba in Hout bay, which is probably one of the best decisions we have made. Nestled on a quiet road with views of the mountains from most parts of the lodge was a great way to begin our year end holiday. Valerie and Pierre Marie were perfect hosts, helpful and discreet. Their recommendations of places to visit, eat etc were bang on and in line with what we wanted from the holiday. Breakfast on the sunny patio overlooking the mountains was relaxing and enjoyable. We were a group of 3 and they gave us a lovely suite with just the right amount of privacy and space. I would most definitely recommend this as an ideal place to explore Cape Town and the surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrrypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We had a fireplace IN OUR ROOM, what a lyxury, a spectacular view from the breakfast veranda and excellent breakfasts. A very accomodating host and a nice dog to play with. The garden was beautiful and inviting for slow walks in contemplation. Great pool and a winter-garden for chilly days. I really recommend this place for shorter or longer stays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The magic of Intaba Lodge operated again ... It was our second stay in this guest house: my fiancee and I had stayed there 3 years ago and both had retained a lovely memory of this delightful magical house perched on the mountain. So much so we decided to go back after our wedding and I must say that we were not disappointed. Breakfasts served on the veranda overlooking the mountains are always unique. This winter, we booked an independent cottage, charming and very comfortable. We specially loved theviews, the huge garden with all the birds ! We have (re) discovered the Cape region marvels from Intaba Lodge and recommend to all this great French address.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Tired of big hotels? Only twenty minutes away from downtown, Intaba Lodge is nestled in a very quiet area of Houtbay with superb views of the rear of Table Mountain. Owned and run by a friendly French couple, Intaba Lodge offers everything you can expect from a luxury retreat : tranquillity, space, privacy, confort and beauty! What makes the difference with a big hotel is that Valerie and Pierre-Marie will make you feel at home! This is why my spouse and I were so delighted with our stay at Intaba Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

What we liked the best about that wonderful place is its feel of space and quiet. The breakfasts on the veranda were really awsome !
We really enjoyed the pool, well established in the lush garden and surrounded by the montains and overlooking the valley.
The room was spacious, very comfortable, very clean and the little patio was very nice to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening...
The hosts were always helpful and discreet.
A place to recommend absolutely !
We will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaOrleans_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

ideally located between Cape town, Cape point and the rest of the region, this lodge very well kept, is perfectly managed by a charming couple.
Lot of advise, different maps of the region are available and lent.
English and french spoken.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patxu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 60 in Hout Bay
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Boutique Hotel
Riverside Boutique Hotel
#12 of 60 in Hout Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#8 of 60 in Hout Bay
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 60 in Hout Bay
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 60 in Hout Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intaba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intaba Lodge

Address: 25 Park Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: £65 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intaba Lodge, with its stunning mountain views, is set high above the magnificent Hout Bay valley, looking towards Constantia. This colonial Victorian-style house is set in an extensive lush garden which is home to a host of bird life. Enjoy this natural setting with its rocks and indigenous flora whilst sitting on the spacious veranda or ambling along the garden footpaths. You will find this romantic and serene environment the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Intaba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intaba Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing