We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location,Great Accomodation.”
Review of Intaba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Intaba Lodge
Ranked #7 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Location,Great Accomodation.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We recently stayed here for four nights and would highly recommend this lodge as a great base for exploring this region of South Africa.Down town Cape Town and Table Mountain are only 20 mins away,whilst the vineyards of Constantia are even closer.(Valerie is very knowledgeable of where to visit).The other vineyards at Stellenbosch are an easy drive away also.
Pierre and Valerie are great hosts and the Breakfasts are stunning,with fresh fruit everyday and a cooked breakfast prepared to your own preferences.A great start to any day;and if the weather allows eating on the verranda is simply stunning.
We had the Garden room which was a good size,well equipped and very clean.
We would definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Each time I stay at Intaba Lodge, I think that it won't be as good or pleasant as the time before, but each time it is better!
Intaba Lodge is a spacious guest house with a variety of quality spacious rooms, each very comfortable, nicely decorated and furnished, and well appointed. The breakfast is a fantastic start to any day, taken on the veranda, with stunning views that you won't get bored looking at. The breakfast menu is extensive, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast, wonderful free range eggs (you may occasionally see the chickens roaming), bacon, and more.
Intaba Lodge is in a perfect location on a quiet and safe street, with plenty of secure parking, yet is just a couple of minute drive from bustling Hout Bay, where there are numerous great places to eat and things to do. Cape Town is just a short (20 minute) and amazingly scenic drive away, while the Constantia Valley is on your doorstep, with several excellent vineyards as must visits.
I can't say enough good or nice things about Valerie and Pierre-Marie, who own and run Intaba Lodge - they are excellent hosts, and so helpful in every way. This definitely won't be our last visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shutupvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

There are different options of rooms according to requirement and budget, but we recently spent a few days in the Fox View cottage and had a wonderful and restful time. Hout Bay is 20 mins from the centre of Cape Town, near enough for easy access to the sites, but remote enough so you feel as if you're in a little town in the countryside.

The cottage is very well put together, comfortable, and gives all the privacy a honeymoon couple might need. The guest house as a whole is designed in an African safari lodge style which gives it its own unique look.

Hosts were always helpful, and the little doggy was a joy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Intaba lodge is ideally located to visit cape town and its surrounding attractions. We stayed in the 'rock studio' which was very big and had its own fire place which we loved during the evenings. Service is great and we received lots of good tips about what too do and what not too do. Don't forget to book at the Thai restaurant in Hout bay which serves excellent dishes in a very nice old house.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarAndJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and our little daughter, 1 year old spent 4 weeks in the View cottage, a nice well equipped self catering hut apart from the main building. We had a wonderful stay, the lodge was fantastic and our hosts were always, nice, helpful, yes it was famililike, especially our daughter also loved the place very much. Breakfast at the opern veranda was a must to start the day, and coming to "our" lodge in the evening or after a some day trip was always like coming home :-) Valérie & Pierre-Marie, merci!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Intaba Lodge is very well situated on the outskirts of Hout Bay and only a short, easy drive to attractions such as Chapman’s Peak Drive, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Constantia, Camps Bay and, of course, Cape Town itself. We stayed in the Veranda Suite for four nights and found it spacious and well-appointed. The breakfasts were delicious. Valérie and Pierre-Marie made us most welcome and were very helpful in suggesting things to do. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

To advise to families - Green environment and stunning landscape - Real value for money - Easy to drive to Cape Town , botanic Garden.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#15 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thulani River Lodge
Thulani River Lodge
#6 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intaba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intaba Lodge

Property: Intaba Lodge
Address: 25 Park Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intaba Lodge, with its stunning mountain views, is set high above the magnificent Hout Bay valley, looking towards Constantia. This colonial Victorian-style house is set in an extensive lush garden which is home to a host of bird life. Enjoy this natural setting with its rocks and indigenous flora whilst sitting on the spacious veranda or ambling along the garden footpaths. You will find this romantic and serene environment the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Intaba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intaba Lodge Hout Bay, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing