We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal care and great attention to detail”
Review of Hout Bay Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hout Bay Manor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and a friend stayed at this hotel and she was absolutely delighted and was raving about the hotel and staff. She nagged me to experience the joy of staying there as well. So I gave in and I can as such support her claim of it being one of the best hotels she ever stayed in. This hotel is also rated one of the 100 most beautiful hotels in the world.

So in closing we will be returning customers.

Feel free to view photos on the internet

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Hout Bay Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in Hout Bay manor for two nights with our two kids 10 and 12. We had adjoining rooms which were on the ground floor next to the main lounge area. The rooms were modern, clean, spacious and generally excellent.

The kids were excited about the "heated pool" but it was clearly not heated so they managed a brief frigid dip! The hotel itself is beautifully decorated with an modern African feel. We loved the artwork and the colourful soft furnishings. The kids also loved the treats like marshmallows that were in jars on the tables around the hotel.

the location is also good but we did not like Hout Bay itself. The town did not seem too safe and we ended up eating in the hotel both nights as we did not feel comfortable walking anywhere.

Pure restaurant has absolutely no atmosphere, shame cos the food itself was good but there is something about the place that just does not work for a restaurant, I can imagine it's great for weddings but its not nearly intimate enough to work as a fine dining restaurant.

Over all we very happy with Hout Bay Manor, the hotel was a good base for exploring the Cape and had easy access to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelheapsoftimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed for (sadly) only one night but it was much enjoyed. Beautiful room, great amenities, the staff is very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was adequate and service good. Not a hotel for travellers on a budget, but if you can spend a bit more be sure to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Hout Bay Manor is such an impressive hotel. We loved the Afro-chic decor. The staff was noting short of amazing. My flight back to the States wasn't until 10:30PM, and they let me keep the room with no additional charge. It is conveniently located near Camps Bay, Table Mountain, Chapman's Peak and the waterfront. We were just coming off a safari in Sabi Sands, so our reservation at Hout Bay was very last minute. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised immediately upon arrival and enjoyed every minute of our stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Loved the decor in this hotel.Excellent location, very good for traveling into Cape Town city.
Service in hotel first class. Fantastic local market on a Sunday close to hotel. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The place to rest your soul and eyes. Beautiful place, great attention to detail, very friendly service. Kids love it, too. Walking distance to centre and beach of "Republic of Hout Bay". Nice - if rather pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We were looking for a bit of luxury for a couple of days at the start of a 2 week holiday in S Africa, to recover from the flight. We were a bit frightened by the video on the website - it looked rather over the top, but when we arrived, we were very impressed by the place. We stayed in the Sangoma family apartment, and had a wonderful short stay. We were pampered, our daughters could eat the marshmallows from the glass jars, and the service was great, making us a short notice lunch that we could have in the room when we arrived late.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stocksund_AFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
484 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Manor

Address: Baviaanskloof, off Main Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: £61 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hout Bay Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Manor, built in 1871, is renowned as one of Cape Town’s most graceful landmarks. The recently restored Hout Bay Manor offers 20 individually designed en-suite rooms and a sophisticated fine dining restaurant named ‘Pure.’ Hout Bay Manor, protected by century-old oak trees, was built from stone (600mm thick walls) and in traditional Cape Colonial style by Jacob Trautmann on an unspoiled piece of land, which had previously been part of the Kronendal Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hout Bay Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Manor South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing